We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful welcoming hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Hervey Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful welcoming hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed this weekend for 4 days, 9th to 13th May 2013. Beautiful imposing building. Very welcoming reception staff who allocated a high floor room with a balcony as requested, room 610 on the top floor. Room was extremely spacious, bed was lovely, view great. Overall a very impressive room. Its only when you nit pick that you notice the bathroom mirror was very old and marked very badly on the back and the curtains although very luxurious, they were dirty.
Had room service one night and it was prompt and very reasonable price wise, food was pretty good too.
On the hole a very good hotel, and we would stay again due to the age of the building and ambiance of the place, hate all the glass and chrome places that most cities are full of.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    441
    162
    51
    22
See reviews for
155
484
106
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

extraodinarily spacious in keeping with the old building. Heating is loud and lighting subdued. Comfortable soft bed. Very surprised about the hotel it is grand and not your usual small modern space conscious room. I really liked by four nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A magnificent old building with loads of history and character. The size of the hallways and our room were impressive, especially the upstairs king bedroom and ensuite. We were given a room upgrade without asking and the free internet, breakfast included and late checkout option of 4 pm were all excellent components to the package we selected [Weekday business]. The hotel is conveniently located to train and tram services, with easy walking to the Aquarium, Crown Casino and Southbank. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the menu on offer at the hotel restaurant was comparable to a number of these.We chose to eat out on both nights, but the breakfast was lovely, especially the eggwhite omelete and the granola, which was loaded with macadamias. Service was slow the first morning but better the second. The cleaning and porter staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The rooms were well maintained and clean but starting to age a little bit, with decor looking a bit tired, some cracked tiles in the bathroom and lighting a bit on the dim side. Unfortunately the main lift was out of order so the service lift had to look after the whole hotel.This led to some long waits and due to our schedule we did not get the chance to get to the pool. Reception staff were courteous and parking on site was a plus, though parking fees were extra at $35:00 per day, which we had not realised until arival. Overall an enjoyable stay and great to soak up the history and atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After several stays under Accor's 50% off SuperSale, I have noticed a pattern...
Service staff (Reception, Conciege etc) noticibly drop their service level/attitude once they see the room rate you are on. You will generally get the poorest room within the category you have booked, and the *attitude* shucks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean, great location (heart of the city/public transport etc.), friendly service, just starting to look a little old school and out dated.... the style does go with the traditional feel of the building. Enjoyed the spa and gym. Food perhaps a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was probably the best-value stay I've had in Australia: I find in general that hotels here are overpriced and not very good. I got a three-for-two deal that meant that my room worked out to A$ 133 per night.

The location was great. It's two or three minutes' walk to Southern Cross Station (there's a fast and regular shuttle bus from there to Tullamarine Airport), and it's about five minutes by tram along Collins Street to get to Swanston Street and the CBD proper.

The building is lovely: it was the old Victorian Railways Administration Building, I think.

Check-in was nice: it's always pleasant to check in sitting down at a desk, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The lift was being repaired when I was there, so you had to go down a corridor to use the service lift; I spoke to one person who'd got in just after they'd been bringing down the garbage, and who said it really smelled horrible, but I had no bad experiences.

The corridors are a bit tired. And they look kind of scary and haunted.

My room was great. It was a studio apartment. It looked South, towards the Crown Casino, and it had a lovely big balcony. The room was large, and the ceiling must have been about 4 metres high. There was a separate kitchen, with a hob, oven and microwave, and pots and pans and everything. There's a Woolworth's inside Southern Cross station, so this was great.

Internet was reasonable, for Australia: S10 for 24 hours (for a maximum of 250MB). You could use the same account to access Wi-Fi in the bar, too, which was useful when I had to do some work after I'd checked out.

My only criticism would be that the bed was a bit weird. It was very soft, and it had a serious dip in the middle. I found it really quite uncomfortable.

But I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in Melbourne if I can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great central location. Short stroll from Southern Cross Station and the Sky Bus from the Airport. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms well appointed, clean, comfortable. Did not use dining facilities as room was self contained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.