We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and beautiful Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and beautiful Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stay here all the time when there is a trade fair as its a short 3 minute walk to the Exhibition Centre.
Rooms are spilt level loft and spacious but are starting the show their age so a renovation would be good to see at some stage as its an expensive hotel to stay at.
The food also very expensive but we tend to eat out and when I have ordered room service it takes along time. This might be due to the fact we only stay when they ahve a full house because of the trade fair.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel the back you will hear alot of trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    466
    171
    52
    23
See reviews for
167
511
111
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of the Grand Hotel is convenient to Southern Cross Station where the Skybus terminal is so very convenient to get to and from the airport. Located on Spencer Street, it is also close to Crown complex. Good location and easy walk to major attractions.

The check-in was done promptly and efficiently. I found the service here to be very good and all were pleasant.

The normal guest lift was out of service so had to use the service lift. It was quite shabby to have to use only one lift which was used by guests as well as staff using it to transport luggage, room service carts and what not. It got quite cramped waiting for the lift as the service area out the back was not large. Usually a constant wait for the one lift. There was a nice touch from the concierge, George, who left a drink voucher and a small box of cookies in the room.

The studio suite itself was of a very large size. It had a full kitchen with electric cooktop, dishwasher, small fridge, and microwave. Also had a sofa and chair as well as small dining table for two. The bedroom was separated by a wall but was still open. The king sized bed itself was extremely comfortable. The let down was the bathroom as it was compact to say the least. It had a shower only and there was enough room for one person to stand in there and that's it. Not much space around sink to store anything there. There was a balcony overlooking Spencer Street which was quite nice. Could get a little noisy at times but it was fine.

I had a drink at the bar and also tried the breakfast. It was a la carte and quite nice. Staff are very pleasant in there. The decor of the hotel is quite old fashioned and could do with a refurbishment. I guess it is In keeping with the old world charm style they have but it is a bit tired.

Overall it was a nice hotel to stay in due to the amount of space within the room. Good location and nice staff. Just let down by inoperable guest lift and decor.

Room Tip: Room 609 seemed bigger than the normal studio suite as it had a wall dividing the bed from the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Grand Hotel Melbourne is superbly situated - basically on the corner of Flinders St and Spencer St. Within walking distance, you have South Wharf, Spencer St shops, CBD, Southbank and the Casino. The fact the trams and trains are so close is another huge bonus.
We stayed in a 1 BR apartment - the living, kitchen and dining areas are downstairs and the bathroom and bedroom upstairs. The apartment was very clean, well serviced and very spacious.
The staff were very helpful and it was just a shame that the guest elevator wasn't working and on some of the days, neither was the spa.
The hotel is,as it says, exceptionally 'Grand' - a beautiful lounge and library area greets guests on arrival.
We look forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and the Location was fantastic. It is right in the centre of Melbourne with many great restaurants within walking distance or via a tram that runs past the front door
The rooms are almost miniature apartments or studios and the finishes are classical and a real period hotel with Character.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the rooms were extremely quiet considering the location, next to the busiest Railway station in Melbourne.
We were able to get Valet parking at a small price compared to many international hotels I have stayed at.
Definitely worth for all Accor Club members or for anyone staying overnight in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As already noted, this hotel is a reflection of Melbournes past and indeed, has a secure and comfortable feel. Nevertheless, it is in need of serious maintenance and the service lift is the only way to get to the upper floors. The rooms are spacious and our studio apartment provided sufficient space but attention to detail is needed - for instance, a television picture that doesn't fit the screen and with no way of adjusting it, a toilet seat which is well beyond it's use by date and curtains which must be fully open or fully closed due to a lack of 'lace'. One can probably take all this as part of the 'ambience' but one has difficulty accepting the lack lustre options for breakfast which cannot be ordered as a collective but must be ordered individually/ Again an example would be 3 pieces of toast for $8.50 which would have happily doubled as hockey pucks, raison toast at $9 and a couple of eggs for $11 upward. A teabag cup of tea is 4.50 as is a small bottle of juice.

I believe that this is simply not good enough for a hotel of this calibre and on this latter subject alone - they really need to bring it together. Customer service was excellent but with the cost of the apartment, car parking costs and those of meals and drinks - by the way, beers were $9 a stubby - one would have to question the value for money and that, in todays age, is what it is all about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A good deal from this Accor old-world style hotel.

We had a 1 bedroom room which was more like a small apartment with full kitchen and the bedroom upstairs on a mezzanine level. A rollaway bed was provided for our 11yo and this was barely noticed in the sizeable area downstairs. There are 2 TVs but they are both pretty small by today's standards.

The hotel is conveniently located next to Southern Cross Station and there are trams outside the front door too, going along Spencer Street or Flinders Street. We were worried that we might hear train noise, but double glazing on the enormous windows meant that the room was completely quiet at night.

The only negatives was that the room really smelt - perhaps the carpets had been cleaned just before we arrived? Windows open and half a can of air freshener were needed to moderate the smell... but once you were in the room for a while, you didn't notice it.

Main bed was very comfortable.

Bathroom was ok, albeit the bath is small and the water in the shower is a bit tricky to get to the right temperature.

We'd stay here for a family trip again, if there are similar deals going.

Room Tip: One Bedroom mezzanine style rooms are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed one night and the location of this hotel was absolutely perfect! Only a few hundred meters from Southern Cross Station and just a short walk across the bridge to Southbank (where we went for dinner and drinks at Crown Casino).

The hotel itself was lovely - we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment. The split level room was huge with a large kitchen that would be perfect if we were staying longer. The hotel could use a bit of refurbishment but overall it was very nice and we would definitely here stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.