We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Reflecting the Grandiose of Victoria's Bygone Railway Heritage.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hotel Reflecting the Grandiose of Victoria's Bygone Railway Heritage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

When I was a boy, this large six storey building was the bastion of the old Victorian Railways, a building that has been a part of Melbourne for a lot longer than I have been around. It was then derelict for many years but was converted to a Hotel and private apartments maybe twenty years ago. It has always been a curiosity at a distance and I had never set foot in it until recently. Where noise is closed out from the hustle and bustle, where long and wide hallways lead to rooms with very very high ceilings and generous room sizes with mezzanine bedrooms and ensuite and comfortable lounge and kitchen on the base level.

Highly recommended for generous size and uniqueness when compared to most hotels I have ever stayed at. We stayed one night with friends for a celebration and we all would have been happy to stay many days longer given the comfort, self catering (if you want it) and spaciousness of the Apartment. Close to the Crown Casino (10 minute walk) and maybe 5 minutes from Southern Cross Railway Station, with trams outside the door. These M Gallery Accor Hotels never cease to amaze me with their quality, uniqueness and in this case, history.

Highly recommended, I marked it down one notch on cleanliness only because of its old world feel, it probably needs a bit of freshening up, but still acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    451
    166
    51
    22
See reviews for
162
499
108
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel needs serious maintence been left to long without basic care. Lifts not operating you have to use one only service lift and you walk through dingy area with your cases. Noisy air conditioning through room when turned off so had to sleep with ear plugs. Toilet not secure at base bathroom door handle not secure mould in shower needs new grouting cracked tiles. Needed to be painted through carpet worn very sad it could be old world beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrijig
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Grand Hotel is a very impressive building and the stay very enjoyable given we had to come into Melbourne. Having to use the service lift detracted from our overall rating for progammed maintenance. Breakfast was rather expensive for what is a basic breakfast dishes. Staff very good and pleasant, room very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel four nights. The rooms were spacious & clean, but the lighting was dim due to high ceilings & no floor or table lamps. Bathroom was modern, water was hot but had low pressure. The bed was very comfortable, the wardrobe small & hotels never have enough coathangers. The kitchen equipment was modern but had only 2 saucepans when we wanted to cook a small meal at night. The staff were courteous & helpful, the room service meals were good quality & delicious. The location is handy to Southern Cross Station, South Melbourne & Southbank. The biggest disappointment was that the impression gained from the outside of the hotel does not follow through into the corridors and rooms. The decor of the rooms & corridors is very tired & needs to be refreshed & brightened.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hotel has a loverly old fashioned charm. It seemed to be straight from the pages of Agatha Christies Bertrams Hotel. The rooms are large and well appointed. The staff from reception to the bar and resturaunt were exceptionally good and very helpful. Although they choice of food was rather limited the quality was excellent. Would have to be one of the best around the world that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I chose this hotel for various reasons for my short holiday away from home. I was really looking forward to the break. However, some small details impacted on my stay and really need to be mentioned.
If you enjoy drinking normal tea, bring your own because you can't get a normal tea bag from this hotel, only herbal, and not everybody likes herbal tea.
If you want to watch DVDS, you need to ask for help as there are no instructions.
You need to be ultra-clear if you don't need housekeeping to clean your room because you are sleeping or they will knock on your door anyway.
If you ring the hotel, you need the patience of a saint as they often don't answer the phone.
Be wary if you watch TV as one of the leads in my room was held on with masking tape.

Overall, the room was what I expected and my stay was OK. I had a cold which made me feel a little worse than normal.

If you plan to stay, please consider my feedback and ask the questions to make sure you don't experience the problems I faced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a pleasant high ceilinged old building with wide corridors and large double room. The building was originally the railways administration building 1865, extended by additional floors to 6 floors. The railways have placed a short cut through the edge of the property to the Flinders street station.
The main lift was out of action due to part unavailability so the service lift was used, the staff were polite about the inconvenience to them. they were helpful and approachable.
The decor is tired, but clean.
The included breakfast was from a menu and presented well, with very good even by Melbourne standards coffee. Dinner was taken at the cafe too one night andI thought it a good meal at a reasonable price.
The room even on the sixth floor was a little noisy (road) although must have been oppressive prior to the double glazing, There is a balcony with table and chairs over the street although it was too cool to test it.
The bathroom was simple and functional with a shower using taps (two!) even i could get the temperature right.
The toilet flushing system could not use the half volume side. The seat was comfortable.
The bedroom had a large comfortable (?king) bed with doonah and slightly bulky pillows. If you are neck challenged, ask for a smaller pillow.
The couch was comfortable, the TV remote alas had flat batteries. being Melbourne there was too many distractions to bother with getting it fixed.
The kitchen had a dishwasher, oven and the bar fridge, an effective kettle and the Aussie tradition of tea bags/instant coffee and herbal bags, to amuse you prior to breakfast or after dinner.
I prefer it to the more glitzy hotels I have stayed centrally, it has more character in a elderly aunt type of way.
I was going to the convention centre daily, a short an pleasant walk, avoiding rain by using the overpass to the world trade centre beside the flinders street police station. Town was a 1 km walk.
I would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.