We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Melbourne Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location of hotel next to Southern Cross Railway is superb. Double glazing ensures rooms are extremely quiet. Service is excellent. TV did not work and it was replaced without fuss. Bathroom fittings need upgrading but value for money on special offer was superb.
Passenger lift needs to be operational as matter of urgency as using Service Elevator is less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    501
    176
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
554
116
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stay. Very central and the staff were very efficient and friendly. Will come again. Car Parking a bit pricey. The lift was not working and we had to use the Service lift but this was not a problem. Did not eat at the Hotel so have no comment on food service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A hotel close to Southern Cross Station and city trams. Very quiet. Apartment handy for self catering if required. No buffet breakfast which other Accor hotels have. Staff attentive. No morning paper delivered to room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I should acknowledge upfront, there was a very expensive glitch in my booking that the hotel did not discover until two days prior to my arrival, despite booking a month in advance, so this did colour my assessment of the value of the accommodation.

All up though:
- Loved the heritage character of the building and particularly the solid walls better rooms ((good accoustic privacy) and high ceilings which gave a lovely sense of added space;
- Very much appreciated the in room small stereo as i love music and very much miss not having my own preferences playing on my own sound system, especially when i am away from home for well over a week, as was the case this trip;
- Very much also appreciated the apartment style in room catering options - being a bit wheat intolerant and never awake and able to function at "breakfast" time, it was so good to whip up my own risotto or muesli for a late breakfast around 11am! Apart from the dietary benefits, it helps enormously to avoid missing the joys of your own home.
- Hotel restaurant and bar service was superb, as was the menu options for both room service and bar menu: loved those mushroom arancini balls!
- and then teh JAZZ on the Friday evening! What a wonderful surprise that was, just when i was so exhausted after a wonderfully successful and efficient day but boy was i glad to get "home" and just when i thought "it doesn't get any better than this" i enter the bar through the first doors and discover such wonderful live musos!

The downsides though, were:
- the very grey drab outlook from my sixth floor apartment - so it must get even more grey and drab on lower floors, especially in winter. Heaven help inner city Melbourne if they keep allowing even more high rise in the city!
- no potted citrus trees on the balconies ...an easy way to add some greenery and connection to nature for guests while also providing a bit more privacy between balconies: recommend two large potted trees per balcony. This would really add some charm to match the internal decor of such a heritage building
- no guest laundry


Still, a verly lovely hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had two wonderful nights at the Grand Hotel and the facilities, location and service were just excellent. I really enjoy staying there and recommend it highly to others. The rooms are very spacious and clean with all the extras. The location was perfect because I came into Southern Cross Station by train and could just walk a block down the street. The staff were ever so obliging and couldn't do enough for me. It is a wonderful place to stay when having a few leisurely days in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Bought a wot if surprise a couple of days before our stay. Great surprise as wanted to give this hotel a try.
From our arrival to departure the service was terrific. The coffees in the bar where just the way we like them.
Room was clean, tidy and spacious. Comfy bed. Close to everything. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are staying in Melbourne, this is THE place to stay. Close to all modes of transport, and all shopping venues. The hotel itself is amanzing. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are comfy. The bed is so soft, yet firm, and comfortable, you'll definitely have a heavenly sleep. The breakfast is good value, also. We have stayed here several times, and will continue to stay here when staying overnight in Melbourne. If you are lucky enough to score an upgrade, the upstairs loft bedroom is dreamy! The hotels long and wide corridors reflect it's history as a Railways Administration building. Even though you are right on the railway lines and tram lines, you hear nothing of the outside noise, as the windows are double glazed, and you are left to the peace and quiet of your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.