We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 3 nights while attending the Grand Prix. Our room was very spacious and we loved the high ceilings and large doors as you enter your room, plus the extremely wide corridors. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in at any hotel and with the double glazing windows, it is easy to get a very good nights sleep. At first I was concerned that the trains passed so close to the hotel, but you do not hear them. The furniture in the room is old charm but it suits the character of the building. The only down side would be that the shower is over the bath and with only one lift, there can be a short wait for the lift.
The hotel is well situated to use the trams and we used the free city circle tram which you catch at the corner of Spencer and Flinders Str.
Hotel staff were very helpful in giving us directions and booking taxi's etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    500
    176
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
554
115
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The quality of service from reception is excellent as is the comfort of the beds and quietness of the rooms. I find the location great as it is next to southern cross station (for the skybus) and opposite crown casino and south bank for meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Albert, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My Husband and I came to Melboure to celebrate my last Chemo treatment. we found the Grand to be a very nice Motel the room was a little tired in the bathroom but other than that it was great the bed was very comfortable, and the kitchenette we would use if we had stayed longer . we will be back thanks for the great hospertslity

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am definitely returning to the Grand Hotel. I had often admired this hotel from the outside as it is a really grand structure built in the 1890s. History abounds in this beautiful buildling of enormous proportions. The ceilings are so high that in the room I stayed in a mezzanine floor had been built which housed the bedroom, It has incredibly long hallways which from historic records represent the Flemington straight - it was built on the former racecourse and the decor reflecting the original era of the building is absolutely incredible. There is a rumour that the West Indies cricketers once played cricket up the hallways! The grand staircase is heaven - ask the concierge for a peek ( it is located in the private area of the hotel). Having a love for all things historic I was in my element here and I am planning a weekend back here as soon as I get some time off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was a studio appartment. The layout of the room was very spacious. A very generous kitchen area and bathroom. Unfortunately, other than a desk which I used for working my computer, there was no other table or area suitable for dining. The room was very dusty and had some maintenance problems. I think it had not been used for sometime. I booked this at short notice when my flights had been changed so perhaps I will stay again sometime

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location for an event we were attending at Dockalnds. With the long corridors, we had a 60 meter walk when we got to our floor. Room was ok, but furniture was a little tired. Would have liked a TV in the upstairs bedroom. Air/Con was great - in the bedroom it came thur the floor which was great when the temp outside was 38 degrees. Would have liked an in-room floor option, but if we planned it, would have brought food to serve/cook in our kitchenette. Couch needed some attention, shower was a little low for me. Is great to have a seperate bed area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect location for spending time in city, period hotel with nice ambience and comfortable rooms. Convenient to Southern Cross Railway Station, easy walking distance to Southbank, Docklands and is located within CBD.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.