We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Grand on a number of occasions. The suites are gorgeous, immaculately maintained, and with wonderfully comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and hospitable, without exception. I had a very sore neck during one stay and they went out of their way to find me a heat pack to help. And everything comes with a smile. We love staying there. It is probably the most service-focused hotel we've stayed in in Melbourne - and we've stayed in many! The room service menu is simple but delicious, and with a rapid delivery, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Teedge_G,
Thank-you for your lovely review. I have highlighted this to the team and they are delighted! I am so glad that you found the room, staff and service to be very accommodating. I was also happy to know that they looked after you with the heat pack when your neck was sore. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    467
    171
    52
    23
See reviews for
167
511
111
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Within walking distance of the Crown casino complex, Melbourne exhibition & convention centre, the City, Docklands & the Railways. A great place to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city for a quiet drink set in old world decor of the Railways Administration Building of times gone by. A quality Restaurant ( RAB ) & great staff make it a pleasure to come back again when ever I visit melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We travel often for work and pleasure - we prefer space and the option to self cater which most hotels just don't offer.
Since finding the Grand Hotel- it's our preferred Melbourne hotel.
Staff are friendly - young Helen in the breakfast room remembers us and knows what coffee we like ( this'd small details make a huge difference)!!!
Many rooms are configured as two story loft style apartments- with sitting area and kitchenette- fantastic.
We opted for the option which gave I'd full breakfast daily which alleviated the need for lunch!
We love the Grand - we'd recommend us it to everyone!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently had a weekend away at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. We are resident of outer melbourne and stayed overnight. We took our push bikes and did lots of riding around the yarra precinct area. Perfect place to stay for this type of weekend. Staff were very helpful in storing our bikes. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Grand Mecure is an excellent establishment. We have stayed at these premises several times now. We were warmly greeted at Reception, and offered an upgrade. That was a lovely surprise. We had friends with us (not staying at GM) and came up to room, and were very impressed, as they love history. It is just a pleasure to stay at GM with it lovely wide corridors, and the feeling of history surrounding the building. Although we were disappointed that breakfast wasn't buffer style anymore. As we love to go leisurely about getting our own breakfast, and selecting the quantities we prefer. Will definitely return as it is easy access to Crown, which we often go to for concerts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.