We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand is grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Grand is grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Loved this beautiful heritage hotel - top central location - sensational beds - fabulous food.

The concierge left a little to be desired - perhaps he was having a bad weekend - but all the other staff were spot on which made up for that... highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    501
    176
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
554
116
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Last year Accor was having a 50% off sale on hotels worldwide, and I always wanted to come back to Melbourne for a getaway, my favourite Australian city away from home, so I took advantage of it and booked the King bed for one night, although for some reason the room that I got did not have the lounge/couch that was shown on the pic, still I liked it and it was no big deal for me. Checked-in, no problems and the building had a very old-feel to it, as it used to be the state railway administration building before it was converted into a hotel. I was on the sixth floor, and had a nice view overlooking the docklands, trains and other hotel rooms. Slept good, the bathroom was good and it had kitchen facilities, although I never used them. There is a big swimming pool, sauna and a gym, although the bench and bar are not high-quality, plus it was unstable if you're bench pressing 50kg or more, it did the job. The hotel is close to a 7-Eleven, trams, Crown Casino, Southern Cross Station and a 15 minute walk to the mall, Bourke and Swanston Streets for other entertainment and dining. All in all, I loved this place, very different to the modern hotels that I am used to staying in, I would recommend this place for everyone, especially couples with Valentines Day coming up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Always love to stay at this Grand old Hotel. With soaring ceilings & a balcony overlooking the Southbank precinct, this building is a national treasure! Fantastic locaton so close to so many City landmarks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First reaction when I stepped into the room was " terrible setup". Most people that stay in a Hotel are travelers with luggage - who wants to walk up 2 flights of stairs carrying their bags to get to the bedroom. You walk in step down 1 step then up 4 steps then another flight of steps to the top floor - all of which are small and pocky. You do not see the first step down as you are looking at the stairs leading up - I tripped over several times and my mother fell and broke her wrist in 3 places - we then spent the next 4 days at the Epworth Hospital - thank you Grand for a stay I will never forget - for all the wrong reasons!.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Grand has been an annual February event for us for nearly 20 years. Over the years it has been great. Last year I wrote a qualified report and this year has been a step down from that.

The meet and greet was again a disappointment and our previous positive experiences of rooms was far from met this time. For the first time we were allocated a 6th floor room. We will seek to avoid this if we return. The sixth floor is less sumptuous in all respects.

The corridors are less grand and our room was tiny, with the sofa jammed against the bed to provide any room between it and the TV. We are used to two storey apartments here and found ourselves in a small single storey room. The shower door did not close and the wall plaster was poorly maintained

The aparent saving grace of having a reasonably sized balcony was undone by having it overlook the curve of the rail viaduct at Flinders Street. The attempt at double glazing could not dampen the screech of metal on metal and rumble as trains negotiated the bend.

The breakfast was good but the experience was spoiled by very significant delay. There was clearly a kitchen problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor. Avoid the rail line and Flinders Street sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.