We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at The Grand Hotel for one night. The building is nice to look at. We stayed in an apartment in the hotel. It was extremely spacious and clean. Only complaint is in regards to the layout of the apartment. The bedrooms, located on the second floor, have no walls on one side, resulting in limited privacy. The hotel's pool and spa is also very good, whilst the staff were friendly. Located reasonably centrally and close to Southern Cross Station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    444
    162
    51
    22
See reviews for
157
487
106
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had been booked into this hotel and circumstances required us to extend our stay in Melbourne during the Gold Cup. At AUD329 per night this was exceptionally poor value for money and apart from the restaurant the service was fairly mediocre and our "Studio Suite" (not as grand as it sounds) was shabby and needed refurbishing. The bathroom was tiny and you could only just sit on the toilet in the gap between it and the wall. The room wasn't cleaned everyday and was only vaccuumed when we complained. No fixed safe in the room and you have to request one if you want one - when I asked about one I was told by 'Bob' the friendly receptionist that they don't advertise safes in their rooms so had no cause for complaint. The housekeeping guy arrived carrying it easily under one arm - just as easy for someone to carry it out again since it wasn't fixed to anything. Nonetheless we were assured our valuables were very safe.

By contrast, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food and service was very good and reasonably priced. So well worth a visit to eat there but not a great place to stay for value and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed at the Grand so that I could attend a conference at Etihad Stadium. The hotel is an easy walk from the stadium, central shopping district and federation square AND the 96 St Kilds tram stops out the front. Apart from it great location the hotel is really nothing very special, yes it a heritage building, and yes has dramatic (although now tired) features and yes it was clean but generally our room was a little tired and many features needed a good dusting. Meals are very expensive as is parking ($35 per day). Cost seemed Ok but on investigation I could have gotten a better deal at other 'up market' hotels which were in the same vacinity. We generally felt that while this hotel was touted as being am MGallery total it is infact really just a Mecure (same family different class).

Room Tip: level 6 with a balcony is quite nice, lots of sun. A room overlooking Spencer street is a must to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We always love staying at this hotel - and this stay was no exception. Diego on reception was fabulous and had us checked in in no time.
Our room was lovely as usual, but I did notice that the steel rods in the ceiling were covered in dust - not a huge issue but very noticeable from the upstairs bedroom and needs to be addressed.
Always a great nigths sleep here with the "My Bed". Love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful old building but rooms are tired and need refurbishment. Reception was business like but apart from one staff member were not welcoming or friendly. Two bedrooms on mezzanine are open so noise can be an issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights in this hotel, for the first time. Location is quite central, close to the Train station, easy to access also by car. Rooms are spacious, but urgently need an overhaul - carpet sticky and spotted, bathroom tiny (can't even open the door fully), the sofa in my room had open seams and the filling came out, and so on...staff is not overly friendly, but I guess I'm spoiled by Asian attitude - but would you be happy, if you start complaining about the Wifi policy and the person simply hangs up? Check out whereas was smooth and I even got a smile. Eventually.
On the good side, it's quite, bed is comfortable. Breakfast in the adjacent cafe is ok, tiny cups of coffee though (avoid Cappucino or Latte macchiato in that case), the scrambled egg with the bread was really good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - A Member of the MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.