We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Wonderfully big rooms with lovely facilitaties. Great location and great staff. I left some money in my room and the cleaning staff ensured it was returned to me. Great water and water pressure but the shower head could have been a little higher. Very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    460
    171
    52
    23
See reviews for
165
506
111
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be a really great hotel but is in need of an update and some creative interior design.
The facade of this building is truly grand but is let down by a tired interior. The first thing you will notice upon entry is the strange reception setup. There are three desks sitting in the entrance and it looks more like a business centre rather than a reception. Then there is the enormous hallways which are magnificent but have been left completely bare and it feels quite strange. It would be easy to put some nice furniture and paintings in and make it interesting.
We stayed in a loft room and this was really good as it is different to any other hotel room you will stay in. On the entry level there is a well equipped kitchenette and dining table then a few steps up you have a lounge/tv area and then at the top of the staircase the bedroom and bathroom. We really liked the room but it is just a bit tired and the furniture and fittings need an update. Our room was toward the front of the building and we didn't experience any problems with noise.
I would recommend this hotel as it is different and is in a very handy position right next to the main rail station provided the rate was competitively below the major chains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My sister booked this hotel for a couple of nights over her wedding weekend, so I had the pleasure of visiting and staying for a night. We had grown up dreaming about staying in this place and had always been overawed by it's vast majestic presence on Spencer Street.


The room we stayed in was pretty good. There was LOADS of space. We had a two bedroom loft apartment with a double and two single beds. The place is apparently famous for their luxurious beds and to be honest, they're not lying! The beds are so soft and fluffy and I was amused to discover that the hotel actually sells the beds too. I actually found my bed to be a little TOO soft and ended up with a bit of a sore back the next morning even though I had a pleasant sleep.

As I said, there is lots of space. The downstairs living area was well appointed however we found that it was a little sparse. This probably has something to do with the sheer size of the room because it had two large couches, a couple of arm chairs and a coffee table and desk... and the place looked empty.

The kitchen was set up really well, with all the mod cons and a very fancy coffee machine that none of us could figure out how to use.

We all agreed that while the place was comfortable, the decor (with the exception of the kitchenette) was dated and could probably do with some sprucing up.

Our suite faced out onto Spencer Street and we had the option of opening our windows! A rarity in this day and age. We were able to open both the sound-proofing windows and the inner original windows and listen to the sounds of the city. We really enjoyed it.

A funny thing, however, as much as we enjoyed our stay, the long, long, LONG hallways were very creepy, especially when you were walking through them at night time. It was rather reminiscent of The Shining... but don't expect any axe-wielding Jack Nicholsons to come at you, just a smile from the staff and a great, comfy night's sleep.

Room Tip: Please note - The fantastic staircase and foyer area which feature in the hotel's advertising an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here over Easter and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. We had an apartment room which was incredibly spacious, with full kitchen facilities if you need them, separate lounge & dining area, wtih the bedroom upstairs. The hotel is in a lovely old building with wide corridors. The 4 night deal we had was very good value. and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
We didn't use any of the hotel's amenities such as pool or gym. As previously mentioned, there is no free wifi internet at the hotel.
It is a little further away from the CBD than we had hoped, but convenient for the Southbank strip of bars and restaurants. We would return if the price remained the same.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.