We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was a really good hotel. The location is great. The room was fab - double height room with a mezzanine floor for the bed and a great kitchenette and lounge area. Very unique. It was a little bit dated but still in great condition. A very unexpectedly distinctive room. Had room service breakfast both mornings and I think that it was good value for money relative to other room service offers I've experienced. It also came very promptly on both mornings despite short notice of the order. The hotel itself is a lovely grand building and quite striking. There is only one lift though so you can wait a little while for it! Staff were very nice. Restaurant was distinctly average - we were guests of someone else but we felt that the meal was not particularly good - in a city renowned for its food scene this restaurant really fell short - the menu was very interesting but the quality of the meal was not fantastic so didn't really do itself justice. The waiting staff seemed a little inexperienced so a bit inattentive and flustered. Overall though, for a reasonable price, I would definitely stay here again especially for business and probably for leisure. It's not a 'romantic' or intimate/boutiquey hotel - though it wouldnt take much of a revamp to make it so. But it is a great hotel for a weekend break or work trip to Melbourne. We also all experienced some issues with the temperature in our respective rooms - we were either too cold or way too hot. Not a major issue as the thermostat did work but it just needed monitoring!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you too for your comments regarding our restaurant and air conditioning.Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    498
    176
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
552
115
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The room was very clean but the sofa had two badly ripped cushions which I had to ask to have replaced. I felt this should have been done before our arrival.
The room was never made up until after 3.00pm which made it difficult if you had been out all day and wanted to return to the room in the late afternoon to get ready to go out in the evening. On the third day it was not made up until 4pm. Tea/coffee supplies were not replaced on two occasions.
The location of the hotel is excellent close to transport and an easy walk from Southern Cross terminal.
Showers were luke warm and had low pressure.
Staff were friendly and did respond quickly when you asked for assistance. The hotel is a lovely old building but service needs to improve if you wish to retain customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is lovely, although probably in need of an cosmetic update. We found it a tad annoying that we had to walk from the front of the hotel to the back of the hotel (where our room was located) for every excursion. We had difficulty entering the gym - is for hotel guests or just apartments??

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, so the walk was a small price to pay. The location and the history is fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel has lots of history and is very close to restaurants and conference centre.

Rooms vary in size but for short stays basic rooms are good.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

l would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

loved having the kitchen facilities in the room......great for an early morning breakfast when had to hit the road early and also great for a late snack when too tired to go to a restaurant. Rooms were very spacious and extremely quiet even though they were near a railway line. Fantastic location.....close to Convention Centre; Southbank but also close to heart of CBD.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.