We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great - just a few kinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost great - just a few kinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed 3 nights starting on last Friday. The hotel and rooms look exactly as nice as they do on the website. Room was spacious and modern with nice amenities such as electonically controlled blinds, TV in bathroom, huge comfy beds, mini walk in robe. Also, in a wonderful location with easy assess to Southbank and the city. But for the prices paid (close to A$400 per night) the toiletries were a tad nondescript (rather cheap looking) and extras such as nightly goodies (such as chocs, etc) or complimentary fruit platter etc was missing. Internet was also not complimentary - $27/day. Valet parking at $20/day took forever for them to get the car from the carpark to the hotel front. Finally, we asked receptionist on our last evening whether we could have a slightly later check out the next morning - 12 pm instead of the hotel's 11 am. She replied rather curtly "Sure you can - its $35 per hour" in rather a cutting fashion. Although we can understand that the hotel may be popular or running full, we thought a little leeway such an hour's extended check out time isn't really so much to ask for considering we had stayed 3 nights already and even if it was not possible, surely it could have been put to us in a much nicer way. So in conclusion - a very nice hotel and facilities but need a little more shine and niceties to make it great one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    198
    52
    25
    12
See reviews for
150
433
58
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Recently spent 5 nights at Crown Towers with my partner. My previous stays here were for one or two nights on business and I have not utilised all the services available at Crown. I was upgraded to a studio room which was very roomy. Room was serviced twice a day and all that we asked for from housekeeping was no trouble and delivered promptly. All experiences with bell desk, concierge, check-in, spa staff etc were positive. We ate a number of the Crown complex restaurants and none disappointed. A very relaxing and luxurious experience for both of us which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Check in staff were highly professional throughout. There are so many things to do without leaving the premises! Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. I was originally booked in a Premier room, which was fantastic. Standard configuration, however the room facilities were immaculate and very modern. After one night, the TV's wouldn't work and they moved me into the only other room type they had available - 2 bedroom suite. I will most certainly say that I have not ever stayed in a room quite like it! Absolute stunning. Stayed for 4 nights - would stay there again in a heartbeat. OH... and you absolutely MUST try the restaurant Nobu. Make sure you make a reservation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Spend 2 nights here on our visit in Melbourne, didnt know the area, or what to choose, so as regular business traveller we went to the safe, which was the crown hotel brand, and it was a good choice. Perhaps is not the best hotel for leisure trips with partner, in the concept of romantic break, but we had more than 25 hotels in our 5 weeks trip, so can judge on the overall experience.

rated for 4 start hotel, is worth that. Room was great, nice views to the river, very close to the entertainment center crossing the river. dont expect romantic experience, its a business hotel but just the rooms and the views can make you feel you are in a nice romantic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were fortunate to be in the concierge level, called the Crystal Club, which provides complimentary full breakfast, afternoon tea, and pre-dinner cocktails. The club lounge is lovely, and provides a great view of the City and the Yarra River. The room was huge, a living room area with couch, 2 chairs, bar, desk and giant flat screen tv. , a sleeping room with chair and another flat screen tv, and a spacious bath with dual sinks, soaking tub, great shower, and another flat screen tv. Staff was great, very helpful, booked a tour for us. There is a casino attached to the hotel, but it was not at all obtrusive. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We have stayed at Crown Towers a number of times over the years and it consistently meets a very high standard. That said, you certainly pay for what you get. On our last 4 night stay which was for a special occasion we chose to pay the extra for the 'crystal club' which offers access to a spectacular lounge where you can have pre dinner drinks and canapes, along with a buffet breakfast.

I think most of the other reviews have covered the nature of the rooms in the hotel and when you book the Crystal Club you still book into whatever standard of room you choose without any additional upgrade. So I will concentrate my comments on the club. The service in the Crystal Club is quite good but not the best I have ever expereinced in a hotel club lounge. The food is not really very good, in fact it is pretty ordinary! There is an afternoon tea included in the price and their cappucino is very nice.

Overall I would reserve paying the extra for a Crystal Club room to an occassion to impress rather than any attempt to find reasonable value for money. Hotel club and accommodation wise there is better value and service to be found in Melbourne's other 5 star hotels but the Crown complex offers its own unique facilities, just remember you have to pay for them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I have now stayed at this hotel 9 times this year, and a lot of other hotels in Melbourne not worth mentioning. As no one does it better than Crown

Once again..... To all the staff....... Thanks for an amazing stay . no one dose service better that Crown , keep up the great work .

From a very fussy traveller.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.