We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Check in staff were highly professional throughout. There are so many things to do without leaving the premises! Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. I was originally booked in a Premier room, which was fantastic. Standard configuration, however the room facilities were immaculate and very modern. After one night, the TV's wouldn't work and they moved me into the only other room type they had available - 2 bedroom suite. I will most certainly say that I have not ever stayed in a room quite like it! Absolute stunning. Stayed for 4 nights - would stay there again in a heartbeat. OH... and you absolutely MUST try the restaurant Nobu. Make sure you make a reservation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    202
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
153
440
61
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Spend 2 nights here on our visit in Melbourne, didnt know the area, or what to choose, so as regular business traveller we went to the safe, which was the crown hotel brand, and it was a good choice. Perhaps is not the best hotel for leisure trips with partner, in the concept of romantic break, but we had more than 25 hotels in our 5 weeks trip, so can judge on the overall experience.

rated for 4 start hotel, is worth that. Room was great, nice views to the river, very close to the entertainment center crossing the river. dont expect romantic experience, its a business hotel but just the rooms and the views can make you feel you are in a nice romantic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were fortunate to be in the concierge level, called the Crystal Club, which provides complimentary full breakfast, afternoon tea, and pre-dinner cocktails. The club lounge is lovely, and provides a great view of the City and the Yarra River. The room was huge, a living room area with couch, 2 chairs, bar, desk and giant flat screen tv. , a sleeping room with chair and another flat screen tv, and a spacious bath with dual sinks, soaking tub, great shower, and another flat screen tv. Staff was great, very helpful, booked a tour for us. There is a casino attached to the hotel, but it was not at all obtrusive. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We have stayed at Crown Towers a number of times over the years and it consistently meets a very high standard. That said, you certainly pay for what you get. On our last 4 night stay which was for a special occasion we chose to pay the extra for the 'crystal club' which offers access to a spectacular lounge where you can have pre dinner drinks and canapes, along with a buffet breakfast.

I think most of the other reviews have covered the nature of the rooms in the hotel and when you book the Crystal Club you still book into whatever standard of room you choose without any additional upgrade. So I will concentrate my comments on the club. The service in the Crystal Club is quite good but not the best I have ever expereinced in a hotel club lounge. The food is not really very good, in fact it is pretty ordinary! There is an afternoon tea included in the price and their cappucino is very nice.

Overall I would reserve paying the extra for a Crystal Club room to an occassion to impress rather than any attempt to find reasonable value for money. Hotel club and accommodation wise there is better value and service to be found in Melbourne's other 5 star hotels but the Crown complex offers its own unique facilities, just remember you have to pay for them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I have now stayed at this hotel 9 times this year, and a lot of other hotels in Melbourne not worth mentioning. As no one does it better than Crown

Once again..... To all the staff....... Thanks for an amazing stay . no one dose service better that Crown , keep up the great work .

From a very fussy traveller.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. My partner and I were at another hotel in Melbourne for a few nights then stayed at the Crown Towers for our last night which was my birthday to splurge and go all out.

We arrived early and our vehicle and luggage were immediately taken care of. We wandered around the casino and had a couple drinks while we were waiting for our room to be ready, which didn't take too long after 2pm.

We had booked a Premier Suite and when we got our room keys we found our request for a higher floor and city views had been honoured as we were on the 27th floor with a spectacular view of the Melbourne city skyline.

The room itself is AMAZING. You walk into the lounge area which has the minibar, desk/working space, and a huge plasma TV. Then there is a hallway to the bathroom (has it's own tv!), walk-in closet, and bedroom which has yet another plasma TV... the place is huge. Modern chic decor, comfy furniture, huge luxurious bathroom with tons of amenities, large windows (which were a bit dirty but that really is the only thing we could find to criticize about our stay!).

I had a massage treatment at their day spa which was relaxing. The pool area looked wonderful and inviting though we didn't go swimming due to time. The concierge was very helpful with my partner as he wanted to set up balloons/streamers etc in the room while I was at the spa. Every staff member we encountered was kind and professional.

I would love to go back someday. It is expensive but if you can afford to spend a few extra dollars then stay here at least once - it's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

By far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in.
The rooms were amazing, large, clean and lavish.
The bathroom was also incredible.
Dont be put off by the Casino aspect, you wouldnt even know you were there.
Great hotel for a special stay/wedding night etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.