We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I often stay in this Hotel and every time I absolutely love it! Great rooms, great service and beautiful pool and spa. Only place to stay in Melbourne if you like five star luxury!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
I am thrilled that as a regular guest you enjoy coming back to Crown. We pride ourselves on our sincere service and the facilities that we offer our guests – I am pleased that we are meeting your expectations.
We do look forward to your staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    195
    52
    25
    12
See reviews for
150
429
57
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We purchased our room [--]& got a great deal that included valet parking and the best buffet breakfast.
All I could say for the 1st hour was WOW, WOW and WOW!
The swish room had a window seat with amazing veiws and the most comfy hotel bed we have ever slept in and the bathroom, all marble and shiny chandlers and the icing on the cake was the LCD TV over the bath WOW!
We stayed for 5 days and can't wait to go back we could not fault one thing the staff was pleasant and extremly helpful and eveything was so clean and luxurious. I think this was first time i didn't want to go home, I still miss the nightly chocolate on my pillow!
Thanks to all the staff at the Crown Towers for the best hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
I am delighted that you experienced the “Wow” factor at our Hotel. Your comments are very complementary – I will ensure that our staff are thanked and informed of your review.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to us in the not so distant future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My friends and I were so lucky to spend a night in a villa of this hotel. We are Melbourne locals so we weren't really interested in going out or seeing sights, however the hotel is in a fantastic location with everything you would need at it's doorstep. All that we wanted from this short stay was a relaxing time in a luxurious space.
Aside from the villa being spacious, with incredible decor - the pool, sauna and rooftop tennis courts were also great, providing an afternoon of fun in style.
Crown Towers provided us with everything we wanted and more! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you to the author for your review. It’s very nice to hear that we can not only entertain our interstate/international friends, but also our local patrons. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time. I have informed our team in the pool & gym regarding your pleasing comments.
We look forward to seeing you in the future, when you need another relaxing break away.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

When you stay at the Crown Towers in Melbourne is pays to look up. The light fixtures are completely over the top.
I suppose it's expected in a complex that includes a bells and whistles casino and, (although I don't gamble and can't see the attraction unless you're a moth drawn to lots of bright lights), this den of financial iniquity is worth a wander through just to gawk at the gamblers. They're an entertaining and diverse bunch.
But I stayed here for the fact that this is a great hotel in a convenient location. The service is outstanding and the rooms are sleek opulence. It's pricy (go to wotif for the best deals) but then you always get what you pay for and at this hotel you get the best of everything.
Another plus is the food court downstair which has reasonably priced fare from every corner of the globe. If you want something else a bit nice, there's a fistful of shiny restaurants to choose from including Rockpool. Melbourne's Southbank is a short stroll away as is Flinder's Street Station and the National Gallery of Victoria.
Other points worth noting about the towers is it's extensive use of marble and the exploding towers which puff fire a couple of times each night. It's flash and sparkly all the way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you to the author for your review. I am extremely glad that your enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments are very complimentary especially towards the service you received; I look forward to sharing this with our teams.
Thank you also for taking the time to post your photographs of our hotel rooms and amenities!
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Love it here.
you dont really need to go anywhere while you are in Melbourne. The crown has it all. Great rooms, great pool. very very nice
Got a free night with rewards points on visa card.
Will be back

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
Crown does pride itself on being able to provide a large range of options all within the same complex, with a high focus on our customer service and attention to detail.
Once again thank you for your positive review and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Crown in the near future.

Kind Regards
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I took my partner there for his 30th & we had an awesome time, there's so much to do, we never were looking for things to do, love the location, it was fantastic!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cost of suite
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, June 1, 2009
Thank you to the Author for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased that your partners 30th birthday lived up to your expectations. I will pass on your positive comments to our Crystal Club in relations to their canapés and drink service.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Towers in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were lucky enough to be updated to the Presidential Villa at Crown Towers, Melbourne. Occupying a quarter floor on one of the upper levels we had every amenit y you could think of and more - definitely fit for a President. Larger than our three bedroom house.
We were celebrating our marriage and checking into this beautiful villa alleviated any of our earlier stresses in the day.
Staff were also fantastic.
Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, June 1, 2009
Thank you to the Author for your review.
Congratulations on your recent marriage, we are very pleased that you decided to stay at Crown Towers for this very special occasion. We are glad that you enjoyed the upgraded room and we wish you the very best for the future.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Towers on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.