We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Go To Club 23” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont Go To Club 23”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Crown Tower rooms are the best in Melbourne, albeit a bit expensive in comparison to what other 5 star hotels offer. Crystal Club canapés and drinks are also top notch - something that cant be said for the door staff at Club 23 where patron entry is blatantly discriminated according to age & gender. A group of 4 women who were in front of us dressed in jeans & sleeveless tops, who stated they were not on the guest list, were allowed entry whist my wife and I, who were dressed conservatively better were declined because we were not on the guest list. Despite their rudeness & arrogance, the rest of the Crown staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a Yarra River City View. The city skyline looks great at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    205
    58
    25
    13
See reviews for
165
456
60
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the warm welcome at the kerb, to the friendly check-in (thanks Frankie), the entire stay was a wonderful experience. Most staff I encountered where happy to help….and with a smile! If you needed anything from housekeeping, from ice to an extra robe…one call and it’s at your door!

We were kindly offered an upgrade (at our expense) on check in, which we accepted. Unfortunately, this turned out to be on a smoking floor! If you intend to stay at Crown Towers and don’t smoke or don’t like the smell…make sure you make this quite clear. I have not smelt so much cigarette smoke since before they banned everywhere else. The staff do place ionisers in the corridor to try and combat the smell, but it permeates the room and the furnishings. Even the pillows have a smoke smell.

This complex is huge and has many and varied restaurants (from fast food to top end), coffee shops, food courts, and even a cinema complex….and of course, acres of gaming rooms. We ate at the Conservatory (breakfast), Rockpool (lunch) and then Spice Temple for dinner. All good choices!

Room service is very quick and efficient and the quality and variety of foods available is excellent. The prices are quite high, but that applies to most hotels where room service is offered.

Rooms offer complimentary Wifi, which is useful. Our room had an extensive audio/video input selection, so I could connect my MacBook via a HDMI wall plug into the TV to watch movies, listen to music.

The hotel web site offers “iPod Docking Stations” which they do, but they are the old lighting style. I had to purchase at Lightning to 30 pin adaptor.

We also used the gym and took at 60 minute massage at Crown Space Prive’ (which included access to the hamman, swiss shower and aqua tub!)

This hotel complex is close to all the wonderful and various restaurants along South Bank and a short walk over one of the many Yarra River Bridges to the central city area. You can find most everything you want, from food, wine, pharmacy, etc., within a short walking distance, either within the hotel complex of over the road at Southbank.

If you wanted somewhere special to stay and don’t mind paying a little extra…then I can recommend Crown Towers….even if you don’t gamble!!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a NON SMOKING FLOOR if you book with Crown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is way too expensive for what it offers. The rooms and hotel meet the 5 star standard however the price is over the top - and it doesn't stop at the room booking, they clip the ticket wherever they can, charge for wifi, breakfast....etc etc. - even so far as to charge a 1.3% credit card surcharge on top of an already healthy margin.

Room temp adjusted to 15 degrees and it was way too hot more like 25 degrees, could not lower it any further.

Rooms are nicely decorated, although they are relatively small, heated pool, good fitness center, bed turn down service, fast check in and out, overpriced mini bar, comfortable bed and pillows.

Room Tip: Unless you want to be at the casino's best hotel you should check out other hotels in the city o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Whitepointer,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Crown Towers. I was pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations in terms of the room, the service and the facilities.

Just a note on room size, we do have some of the largest entry level rooms in the city at 46 sqm which is quite spacious relative to others that are available in the market.

Regarding our pricing, although we do charge for breakfast, other services such as wifi are complimentary. The credit card surcharge you encountered is an industry standard in Australia and I believe you will find that the majority of hotels pass this cost along rather than building it into the cost of the room rate.

We are pleased that many aspects of your visit were enjoyable and we do hope to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Could not fault a thing.
Clean, pleasant staff from checkin to house keeping.
Close to the restaurants that I wanted to eat.
Rockpool, Spice Temple, Silks.
Need to stay on floor 15 and above to get a good view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to have a view of Port Phillip Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you want luxury & style then this one is for you. Huge hotel, has everything inside...food courts...casino....pool n spa is jus amazing! spacious rooms, housekeeping gets a thumps up!
awesome view of the mel skyline from the hotel...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a premier suite. Fantastic room, views over city, great bathroom and comfy bed. Buffet breakfast was a bit chaotic but heaps of variety and good food. Lots of dining options as part of casino.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at Crown Towers for 3 days with our 2 teenage sons. Our room was on the 20th floor with a fantastic night view of the city looking towards to Docklands. All the amenities are excellent: the spacious room, comfy beds, large clean bathroom, TV with HD channels, The hotel has a fantastic restaurant of its own. If you want choices you can go to other nearby places to eat like the Crown Casino food court and the 61 great restaurants on the Southbank. Concierge and the Reception are very helpful. There was a minor misunderstanding regarding our room allocation and they sent a bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room as a gesture of apology. The swimming pool is luxurious as well. Not many people use it which is fantastic and it probably explains why the water is not so chlorinated as compared to public pools. Crown Towers has spoiled me. How can I tolerate staying at other hotels with a lower standard than this?

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view. With their high speed elevators getting up and down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.