We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room at an amazing venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Getaway
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing room at an amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Staying in a Deluxe Villa was the best hotel room experience I've ever had, it was just amazing. Everything from the super comfy bed to the big bath and shower and ultra soft robes.

It was the first time I've truly enjoyed room service food (coming from one of the many award winning restaurants of the Crown Complex).

The views were also lovely and I found myself just sitting in the window day bed looking out over the city.

The casino is obviously a winner and there are so many great restaurants so it's the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    216
    60
    26
    13
See reviews for
185
490
65
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Another fabulous stay at Crown. Stayed on a very busy night before the Grand Prix which was very entertaining watching all the celebrities arrive. Our room was fabulous on the 25th floor. Nice and quiet with a great view. We woke up to a hot air balloon floating past our window. We had a delicious breakfast at the Conservatory. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

we booked a king room here for our anniversary and i did not disappoint! the room was quite large and with a beautiful view of melbourne city. it has a large bathroom with a tv in the bath tub. the bed was one of the best we have ever slept in. the staff were fantastic and helpful and we will be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently chose to stay at the Crown Towers to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Overall our experience was very positive and we enjoyed our stay with very much. The system for Crystal Club members to check-in could do with being clearer to prevent duplication as we experienced. The premier club suite was excellent in terms of location, content and condition as we would expect of this hotel and price. The Crystal Club experience was overall a positive one especially in relation to pre dinner drinks. Our criticism would be in the seemingly unstructured allocation of the sofa seating area as we were on three occasions advised they were not available to us yet not advised of any equitable system of booking. This made us feel that there was a two tier system operating and was disappointing when these seats remained empty or were occupied by a sole person. When we questioned this with staff, we were informed that they were regular patrons to the Club.

Crystal Club staff all presented professionally and were knowledgable, friendly and took a genuine interest in us as guests. This was best shown by the considerable effort made by staff (particularly Eunice) and chefs to provide a varied selection of halal meat individually prepared to meet our needs. We were advised by the Club Manager that for any future visits we should provide advance notice of our particular requirements to allow them to be better catered for. We should advise in fact we did do so prior to this visit and were, as we now know, incorrectly advised that all meat was halal.

As stated we very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly look to patronise your hotel again for future visits. This was a special occasion visit for us and we were particularly impressed upon return to our room on the first day to find the hotels good wishes for our anniversary accompanied by a bottle of champagne and two glasses. It is often said that the little things make a difference and this certainly made us feel valued guests.

Thank you.

Leza

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The service is impecable, the rooms are large and separated with a walk/dress area,really nice experiance.we will back,i had a fantastic party.Hight quality of service.Bed are so comfy!It is the best accomodation in Melbourne.Super large bathroom.plenty of option on the tv.buffet breakfast is great.What a great choice!Opulent and modern.Good restaurant and a lot of choise.Mat

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My mum came to Melbourne to celebrate her 70th birthday and she was totally taken care of!!! She was treated like a queen and will never forget the experience at Crown Towers. Thank you very much to all the amazing team at Crown but especially to Donna and Eunice who went that extra mile to make Mum feel very special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Like all quality hotels, Crown Towers is not the cheapest option, however it must be one of the best in Melbourne.

My room during a recent business trip was superlative. Brilliant views over the Yarra plus buckets of room in both the bedroom and sitting room. Outstanding bathroom and shower as well.

The only thing I could possibly fault was that although I was on a non-smoking floor, there was a distinct smell of cigarette in the hallway outside my room. When mentioned, the staff didn't seem that interested after they confirmed the smell was not in the room itself.

While I certainly agree this is a pragmatic view for the front desk staff to take, I did perhaps expect a quality establishment such as Crown Towers might dispatch a staff member to investigate.

Nonetheless, a minor point in a quick but very enjoyable stay. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.