We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Retreat
Ranked #3 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Kanzach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We choose this place for our last night of our vacation. What a great choice. Great room overlooking the river. marble everywhere the eye could look. opulent and modern and very stylish. The staff are at your every beckon call. The food was superb....not cheap.....but the quality (and quantity) was eye dropping! especially the chocolate fountain!!!! Last time we stayed at the lagham, which was lovely, but far to oldy worldy and classical for our tastes. Crown is the much more hip and modern option.

Room Tip: Only choose a river view if you plan to spend a lot of time in your room. The higher the better. Our...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    250
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
225
550
68
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved it! Rooms were large with a separate walk in wardrobe/dressing area. Huge bathroom with double basins, shower and a bath with tv. Everything was spotlessly clean. Bed was comfy. Lovely view of the river and city opposite the Melbourne aquarium. Enjoyed breakfast at the Conservatory. There were lots of choices from Asian to traditional and a pancake station where pancakes were freshly made. Delicious. Loved the pool area - biggest indoor pool I have seen in Australia. Staff were lovely. Loved the red coated doormen. Great Service. Fastest valet parking service we have encountered on our travels. Called for our car, went down and there it was! This was our second time staying at the towers and we loved it as much as the first time. Will definitely return. If you like luxury stay at the Towers.

Room Tip: room 918 had river and city views across from the Melbourne aquarium. No noise problems. Right near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a stunning premises - lavish like you'd find on the vegas strip, though for the price of this hotel,you would hope you'd get some decent service, a smile, even a fake conversation. The best service attendants i've met are from more smaller hotels.

From the moment we tried to check in (2pm) we were told the room wasn't ready and we would be notified. An hour later - still nothing. When approached front desk they advised that the rooms are available from 2pm - this was never mentioned initially - we advised we wanted a late check out at the least as its not fair. We got that.

To make this simple, i thought i'd break it all down in a few words.

The room itself - clean, spacious, comfortable and plenty of storage room.
The bathroom - also spacious, TV at the end of the bath which is a good novelty. Water pressure is probably one of - if not the worst out of all hotels (some people are big on this)
dual vanity , both toilet and shower have frosted glass (in case you are sharing with someone else)

Room Service - Club Sandwich with a small side of chips - $28.50 (over priced - but expected and tasted decent)

Pool - Great pool, probably the best i've seen within Australia , plenty of beds and it is massive!

Breakfast - Buffet breakfast , great selection. Service - ordinary , no smiles.

Unfortunately the problem i have with spending top dollar in Melbourne is the robotic and 'no effort' service. Definitely not worth the price tag in terms of service.

**NOTE** part of our package was sparkling wine upon arrival - when we entered the room it wasn't there, minutes later a guest service attendant came to our room and brought us a large bottle of water as compliments. We didn't question it. An hour later, i called for the sparkling and it was brought to us... along with the attendant asking for the bottle of water back as it wasn't for us. - What a joke! It's not like it was a bottle of top shelf scotch that was given to us - it was water.

Even the front desk clerk when queried about the late check in became defensive.

Mind you - i did email reservations more than a week earlier asking for a possible upgrade (not even a reply - if they replied and attached a price to it , i would've considered it).

A perfect reason why i spend my money overseas - I spend it to get proper service. save your $400 plus a night.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room - see how you go. better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 for a work conference and it was fantastic. Great rooms with super large bathrooms, plenty of options on the tv, great service, awesome buffet breakfast and plenty of options to eat at. A nice stroll from the hotel to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Aust
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I don't see why the Towers are rated the 2nd best hotel in Melbourne. Staff are great and the rooms have reasonable sound proofing and the view is good, but apart from that I had one of the worse nights sleeps I've had in long time.
I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable and doona too hot which meant i up half the night trying to find the sweet spot to compensate with the rooms aircon. I may have been in a smoking room, not sure, there was a stale smell through the room and it was in the linen and they currently dont have hair dryers in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

everything is perfect, from room, location, amenities, setup,scenery. everything within reach. riverwalk just beside the hotel and connected the whole CBD by walking distance. we enjoy our 2 night stay and for sure will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had the best night ever in our Crown Towers room, we were on the 23rd floor and the views were just supreme, we ordered a Neill Perry Wagyu Beef Burger with chips, OMG it was so delicious we wanted to order more food, but we didn't as we were having a family dinner at The Conservatory as it was my son's 13th Birthday and mine the next day. The reception staff were just so friendly except for the miscommunication about mine and my sisters luggage and my parents luggage as they were staying in another room, so we got each others luggage, lol. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel, even at its high cost, its just so wonderful, the pool was great but a little too heated for my liking, especially in the summer, it felt like I was in a long, heated bath more so than a cool pool!!! I cannot wait to stay here again, but with the cost of the rooms, that won't be for a while yet. The only downside I can say about the hotel was the beds, yes they were comfy, the pillows were great, but the mattress's were kind of firm, unlike the beds at the Langham and Rydges Melbourne, where they are soft and luxurious IMO, the beds here at the Crown are just a little hard is all, but was the only downside of our whole experience. Thank you Crown Towers staff, you made our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: Try for a room from about the 16th floor, that's where you get the better views of the Yarra and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.