We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most luxurious hotel we have stayed at in Aus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most luxurious hotel we have stayed at in Aus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wow, from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, it was 5 star all the way. The staff at reception greeted us warmly and were very helpful. Our room was decorated beautifully with 2 double beds, a luxurious bathroom with walk in shower and bath (with a tv) and had amazing views of Melbourne from the 17th floor. It was cleaned spotlessly every day and had a nightly turn down service too. We are a family of four and we had plenty of space in the room.
The hotel amenities are 5 star too with plenty of restaurants to choose from and a great indoor pool, which the kids loved as they put up an inflatable slide while we were there. It is also located in a very central and buzzing position, next to the river. The fire balls which go off at night on the hour are well worth being around for.
I would definitely stay here the next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    204
    54
    25
    13
See reviews for
155
447
61
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

From the moment we walked into the Hotel we were very impressed by the grandeur and sheer size of the facility.
Our room was a deluxe king - very spacious and extremely well appointed. The marble Bathroom was stunning and the separate toilet and shower cubicles are a fantastic idea.
Would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

There is a lot of opulence at Crown. We stayed in a studio room, lovely bathroom with soaking bath and tv, gorgeous walk in robe, large room, plush carpet, Mini bar well stocked. The room we were in didn't have a great view (round the back of crown, as apposed to looking over the river), so I was a little disappointed, as this is one of the more expensive regular rooms. We weren't treated as 'special', something that other hotels manage quite easily (Langham, Windsor, Stamford). We stayed to see a concert, so had a late night, the next morning we had full intention of sleeping until 10.30! (No kids in tow). Unfortunately, as someone else has mentioned, before 9am, our door bell was rang, and housekeeping walked straight in! I called out that we are still TRYING to sleep. No apology, nothing! We had to be checked out at 11am, why is there not a better manifest of housekeeping, so as not to disturb guests? I haven't had these interruptions in other hotels, so we were a bit annoyed at this one. So make sure to put the do not disturb light on!
We had a nice stay, but not the amazing experience we were hoping for from Crown Towers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Given I am not a gambler and have never really thought of the casino as a place to take a mini break, we were really very surprised by just how good a time we had. We travelled with or two young children and never struggled to find things to do both in and around the crown complex.

The inflatable water slide in the pool in the afternoons, the Galactica Circus (games room), the aquarium over the road, the flames on display every hour from 9:00pm, the kids were facinated by the experience. Not too mention being able to watch tv in the bath !!!!

The staff are every bit what you would expect from a 5 star hotel - nothing is too much trouble, the place is spotless and has a real touch of class. We had adjoining rooms, 1 x King and 2x Queen bed configuration and could not have been happier with the cleanliness and servicing of our room. Turndown chocloates were always a bit winner with both the kids and adults :)

Even without gambling, this was truely an entertaining place to stay with more choices for food and entertainment in the one place that we've ever experienced before. Las Vegas right here in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is truly an amazing luxury hotel. We stayed in a suite with access to the Crystal Club for a romantic getaway and to celebrate my wife's birthday. The suite was very luxurious, but to be honest, we didn't spend nearly as much time there as we expected to because the Crystal Club was so fantastic. It has spoilt us for all other hotel executive lounges, because none of them has lived up to the same standard as the Crystal Club at Crown Towers. Don't hope to get upgraded to Club access, just pay for you it, it is worth it. The pool is massive and the gym is very good too. Luxury on every level. You just have to ignore the casino underneath (while being grateful it pays for all the detail in the decor at this hotel)!

Room Tip: Pay for Crystal Club access. It is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

absolutely loved staying here. This was a nice and central location with plenty of action. The fireworks every hour on the hour were brilliant. coming from perth I had never seen this before and made my first trip to Melbourne so successful. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Once again, we stayed at Crown Towers when visiting Melbourne on business. The hotel was, as always, very comfortable with all staff providing excellent service. However, we will never stay there again during holidays times. There were simply too many people who most likely rarely stay in a hotel of this quality. They did not observe hotel etiquette of being quiet late at night. Lots of loud conversations and doors banging shut did not help our sleep. Their bags being loaded with cheap booze and potato chips was a dead giveaway. We will return when everyone is back at work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.