We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, friendly staff ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views, friendly staff ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at crown towers on our wedding night in November 2012.
We were upgraded to a corner suite when we checked in and I can honestly say, I've never seen any hotel room so stunning! What a beautiful place to stay on such a special occasion. Staff were lovely and helpful and the room had amazing views of the city.
Will stay again one day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    662
    185
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
137
401
52
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited Crown Towers again for Christmas and were upgraded to a Villa - majestic surrounds, great views and décor. Unfortunately there were a couple of things that let it down like not being able to get some of the tech toys working for anytime during the entire stay. Otherwise, the room was magnificent.
The club facilities were again at their usual high standard but the staff were, on the whole, not up to the superlative standards that we're used to - a major disappointment since the Crown usually gets this most important aspect right!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This place has gone to pits and just not worth it, i booked a studio room price, $409 check in charged $409 and $200 bond so $609 in total. Was advised on phone $100 bond but its $200 if you use a debit card. This is ridiculous ive never come across a $200 bond anywhere not even at crown promenade or the hyatt its normally $50-100 so $200 is a bit steep and besides you have to wait 7 days to get it refunded, terrible. Room was tiny looked the same size as a normal room. Furniture is getting old and tacky, bed was comfy i give them that. Noisy rooms i guess most hotel rooms are noisy if they are small and close together. People yelling and talking loud in corridors at 11pm could hear everything. A knock on the door at 9 pm by housekeeping asking if i need more towles like hello 9 pm at night?? I had checked in that day hadnt used a towel yet very upset about that bit of a privacy issue. 9 pm? Dont they do that in the day....woken up at 7 am doors slamming people leaving checking out. Doors are loud and slam shut. Was also suprised no espresso coffee machine you think for what you pay they would provide one not cheap nescafe coffee... Even the park hyatt has them in all rooms and have bigger nucer rooms at way cheaper prices better quality to. I usually stay there but thought id try crown. Next $28 for a toasted sandwich are they kidding. It was tiny 3 small cut up bits wouldnt fill you up absoloute joke I laughed when i saw it even other hotels deliver better. Reception staff not friendly. No how was your stay or anything. 10 mins to check out. Long ques. If you are rich and dont mind wasting money then stay here. I wont return i can do better at the park hyatt. My advice is look elsewhere try the park hyatt. I wont be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a hotel for guests with an above-average taste for comfortable stay. Walking in to the hotel lobby sets the expectation for the standard that the guests can expect; True to expectation, the room fittings and luxury sheets warrant the premium price the guests had to pay for the stay. The one-button guest services function on the phone reduces the need by the guests to decide which channel to call.

A very trivial gripe about the hotel, the housekeeping standards can be a tad inconsistent. We had a plush bathroom mat at the sinks for day 1 and 2, but it was replaced with two thin bath mats on day 3 before the plush mat returned on day 4. I find that a bid bizarre, but really no big issue to quality of stay. Another gripe is that the complimentary WIFI is slow, very slow. No chance of an online video chat unless you fork out a fortune for the premium Wifi.

One point to note, this hotel as comfortable as it may be, is not exactly close to the city centre. It takes about a 45-minute walk to Bourke Street and across the river. So for tourists who may visit the city centre, this may not be the hotel for you. If your prime purpose is to utilise the entertainment facilities within the Crown complex, then this is no doubt the place for you.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the river. The kids may be interested to observe helicopters landing on a float...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

There are two great things on this hotel: the room (very spacious and fantastic bathroom) and the wealth of restaurants in the complex.

Of course that's a personal opinion, as many people might want to stay there for the casino. I am not much into gambling, and I only learned about the cassino once I arrived. But the hotel is so well structured that it will not disturb you a bit. You can spend your whole stay without even passing through it if you want.

The hotel is on the other side of the river, so you need to walk a bit (not much) to go into downtown, or rely on taxis. It is a true 5* experience staying there, and I really reccomend. Also do not miss some of its great restaurants. We had a great dinner at the Rockpool one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My daughter & I stayed at Crown Towers for a special night out. Unfortunately the web site I booked through (HotelTravel) had a problem & my booking was messed up. I contacted Reception immediately and they took care of the problem. They were so professional and understanding. From check in to check out we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had a premier twin room and it was perfect very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for a conference over 3 days and never actually walked out of the hotel until I went back to the airport! Has all amenities there, great restaurants and shops and a very well serviced convention centre. Convenient location, and excellent buffet too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.