We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in luxurious Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Retreat
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb stay in luxurious Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been wanting to stay at Crown's premier hotel for some time and was able to experience a Premier Suite. Crown cannot be faulted for it's service, location, quality and attention to detail.
The room was nothing short of breathtaking with incredible views over the Yarra and the CBD. Nothing was spared in the bathroom with beautiful lighting, quality bath products and luxurious fittings. The bed was incredible - the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
It is perfectly located in the heart of Melbourne and Crown has so much to offer you barely need to leave it. It was difficult to even leave the suite with its daybeds offering the view of Melbourne and the window seats in the bedroom.
If you want to splash out and indulge in everything Crown has to offer then definitely book in a luxury stay at Crown Towers. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    263
    71
    30
    17
See reviews for
241
591
71
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I treated my Mum to a night at The Crown for her Birthday. What a treat it was!

I have stayed in alot of hotels over the years and there really in none better than The Crown!
I booked a Premier Suit with Crystal Club access.
Upon arrival my Mum was wished a Happy Birthday and we were escorted to The Crystal Club to check in at 11.40am! My room request was a city view room and smoking room and none were avaliable, so we were offered an upgrade to a Villa at a very reasonable cost!

WOW..The Villas are amazing! Just superb.You also have private lift access and Butler service.
Check out is at 12pm in the Villa, lovely.
The staff are all friendly and helpful everywher you go.

The Crystal Club afternnon Tea and Pre diner drinks with canapes are fantastic! I think I had 5 Expresso Martini's. YUM! Our glasses were never empty for long. What a lovely Birthday My Mum had- one she will never forget!
Thank you Crown.

Room Tip: Book The Crystal Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Crown Towers for one night over the Melbourne Cup long weekend.

We found a good deal through the Entertainment Book for a Sunday night stay.

The room was very spacious, clean and our view of Flinders St Station and the Yarra River was amazing.

The bathroom was to die for. Very classy and spacious.

The king bed was comfortable and the linen was fresh and of great quality.

The gym and pool area was fantastic. The gym has state of the art equipment.

As much and I loved the stay and that I would love to stay there again, I don't think the usual $600 - $800 price tag is worth it for a Saturday night?

As for breakfast - we did't have breakfast at the hotel however there are plenty of cafes/restaurants to grab a bite and coffee at.

All in all, great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed one night (without the children) and thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms are large and luxurious. Very clean. Very good quality linen. Turn down service a nice touch. We actually didn't leave the hotel precinct in 24 hours. Enjoyed a gold class movie, ate in a few of the fabulous restaurants...too many to choose from! The only slight disappointment was the pool and spa. My massage was average, apparently my husbands was good. But not up to standard I would expect. Spa was too cold and the steam room temporarily broke! Not ideal but certainly didn't impact negatively on my stay. The staff were all lovely and it was extremely busy, with one direction in town and spring carnival racing! We will definitely return, most likely with our kids as well. They would love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Got a fabulous rate on Wotif, under $300. The room was fabulous with a very comfy bed. Bathroom magnificent. Entire facility world class and very convenient location. Parking very easy and cost on a par with nearby hotels. Suited our purposes perfectly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel & everything was as expected from a 5 star hotel. We had booked one of the Suites specifically so that we could have afternoon tea in the lounge & breakfast before leaving the next day. Upon entering the Crystal Lounge I was told my Suite did not permit me entry into the lounge. It was going to be an extra $180. This was the sole reason we went for the Suite when choosing our room so I asked if I could downgrade to a standard room so that we could then pay for the access to the lounge & was refused.
The website is extremely ambiguous & under 'Executive Suite' it states that the Executive Club Suite has access to the Lounge by nowhere does it differentiate that this is additional or even different from an Executive Suite booking.

I was tossing up between the Intercontinental Suite & the Hilton Suites as they included the lounge access & am now wishing I have chosen one of them.

Thought this was going to be a relaxing stay that has now turned into heated discussions with Management that didnt really care that we have spent what is considered a massive amount on a hotel room that doesn't even include breakfast now.

Honestly I would have thought a breakfast voucher would have been offered & to tell the truth it would've prevented this bad review.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Shontelle83,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us at Crown Towers.

While I was glad to see that everything was as you were expecting of a 5 star hotel, your experience relating to breakfast was disappointing to read. Following on from your comments, I have investigated further and see that you have booked through Expedia. The Expedia website lists each room category and states “Executive Suite – max. occupancy 2 adults – breakfast not included”, then below, “Executive Club Suite – Crystal Club Access – max. occupancy 2 adults – Includes Continental Breakfast”. This is the wording for each heading and you then click on “Show room information” for further details, so it does not appear there is an opportunity to make this inclusion any clearer. Your booking was for the first of these two options.

I can appreciate that it is frustrating to arrive thinking you had booked with breakfast included only to find this was not the case and again, am sorry for any disappointment this may have caused you.

Should you decide to return to Crown Towers, I encourage you to book directly with our reservations team who can verbally clarify all inclusions and then send you written confirmation of what you can expect.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We used the Crown Towers as our home base for a few days while exploring Melbourne in 2012. It is a beautiful, large hotel with many amenities, casino, restaurants etc., so it feels more impersonal than many of the hotels we choose to stay at, but we enjoyed our experience, nonetheless. Though we chose to explore Melbourne for lunches and dinners, we enjoyed breakfast at Crown. We highly recommend the Crown Towers to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.