We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star and Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Getaway
Ranked #2 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Five Star and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed one night (without the children) and thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms are large and luxurious. Very clean. Very good quality linen. Turn down service a nice touch. We actually didn't leave the hotel precinct in 24 hours. Enjoyed a gold class movie, ate in a few of the fabulous restaurants...too many to choose from! The only slight disappointment was the pool and spa. My massage was average, apparently my husbands was good. But not up to standard I would expect. Spa was too cold and the steam room temporarily broke! Not ideal but certainly didn't impact negatively on my stay. The staff were all lovely and it was extremely busy, with one direction in town and spring carnival racing! We will definitely return, most likely with our kids as well. They would love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    212
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
181
483
62
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Got a fabulous rate on Wotif, under $300. The room was fabulous with a very comfy bed. Bathroom magnificent. Entire facility world class and very convenient location. Parking very easy and cost on a par with nearby hotels. Suited our purposes perfectly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel & everything was as expected from a 5 star hotel. We had booked one of the Suites specifically so that we could have afternoon tea in the lounge & breakfast before leaving the next day. Upon entering the Crystal Lounge I was told my Suite did not permit me entry into the lounge. It was going to be an extra $180. This was the sole reason we went for the Suite when choosing our room so I asked if I could downgrade to a standard room so that we could then pay for the access to the lounge & was refused.
The website is extremely ambiguous & under 'Executive Suite' it states that the Executive Club Suite has access to the Lounge by nowhere does it differentiate that this is additional or even different from an Executive Suite booking.

I was tossing up between the Intercontinental Suite & the Hilton Suites as they included the lounge access & am now wishing I have chosen one of them.

Thought this was going to be a relaxing stay that has now turned into heated discussions with Management that didnt really care that we have spent what is considered a massive amount on a hotel room that doesn't even include breakfast now.

Honestly I would have thought a breakfast voucher would have been offered & to tell the truth it would've prevented this bad review.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Shontelle83,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us at Crown Towers.

While I was glad to see that everything was as you were expecting of a 5 star hotel, your experience relating to breakfast was disappointing to read. Following on from your comments, I have investigated further and see that you have booked through Expedia. The Expedia website lists each room category and states “Executive Suite – max. occupancy 2 adults – breakfast not included”, then below, “Executive Club Suite – Crystal Club Access – max. occupancy 2 adults – Includes Continental Breakfast”. This is the wording for each heading and you then click on “Show room information” for further details, so it does not appear there is an opportunity to make this inclusion any clearer. Your booking was for the first of these two options.

I can appreciate that it is frustrating to arrive thinking you had booked with breakfast included only to find this was not the case and again, am sorry for any disappointment this may have caused you.

Should you decide to return to Crown Towers, I encourage you to book directly with our reservations team who can verbally clarify all inclusions and then send you written confirmation of what you can expect.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We used the Crown Towers as our home base for a few days while exploring Melbourne in 2012. It is a beautiful, large hotel with many amenities, casino, restaurants etc., so it feels more impersonal than many of the hotels we choose to stay at, but we enjoyed our experience, nonetheless. Though we chose to explore Melbourne for lunches and dinners, we enjoyed breakfast at Crown. We highly recommend the Crown Towers to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wow! I knew the Crown had an amazing reputation, but our stay far exceeded my expectations! Our arrival on check in was fast, friendly, professional......smooth as silk. A wonderful surprise was being upgraded to a suite overlooking the Yarra when I mentioned we were there for my Birthday. Thank you Crown, it really made my day so special! The suite was spacious, quiet and luxurious....a true 5 star luxury hotel. Yes it is expensive but it is worth every cent if you are looking for the best value for your money.

The Room Service meal was very generous and one of the nicest meals I've enjoyed as far as Room Service meals go. All the staff from Reception to Housekeeping to Room Service are exceptional.

Well Done Crown Towers! I will always stay here for our future trips to Melbourne!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a business dinner to attend on a Friday and so we decided to stay at Crown Towers. Check in was simple and as we have stayed there before we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost. The suite 1423 was fantastic with a massive lounge room, bathroom and bedroom. The bar was fully stocked and included Nespresso coffee and machine. The function was in the Palladium Ballroom and the service throughout the hotel was very good. The only let down was the breakfast in The Conservatory. The service was just able to cope with the Saturday morning crown and we found it pretty abrupt, the first coffee was warm and the second was scalding hot, the food there was average at best for the price.

Room Tip: The higher the better and go for a room upgrade if you have stayed there before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Crown Towers for our wedding night last week and it was perfect.
On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, the place was divine.
Very reasonably priced for a luxury hotel.

Room service- was fantastic, big meals, good value and excellent quality.

Reception- staff were so lovely, friendly and helpfull.

Breakfast was lovely- But more Gluten free/allergy options would have been nice!
Thank you so much

Room Tip: Experience package was lovely, suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.