We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but no real wow factor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Crown Towers Experience
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but no real wow factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel. But it really does not have any wow factor. Room is nice and big and swimming pool is very nice. Breakfast is so so, not many choices. For 40 dollar breakfast, they can definitely do better. Service is ok, by 8:30am, I still have not got my daily newspaper...will I come again, maybe not....

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BrosisSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in 2009.
I can't fault the place everything was perfect.
I loved the rain shower. Room service at midnight was super fast with food in my belly less than 20mins after calling order through.
Casino was fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the friendly and attentive staff at check in, to the exquisite rooms where nothing has been forgotten, we couldnt fault our entire stay here. From doormen who see you coming a mile away and rush to get the door for you, to them offering to transfer our luggage between their different complexes with no hassle - this is my number 1 hotel in Australia, and I wish I lived in Melbourne so I could travel here more often. It shines over its fellow complexes - metropol and promenade. Pay the extra and stay at Towers

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view - the nightly fire show is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnotts4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my friends during June, loved it! We were on level 14, it was quiet, good service and very nice! (especially the bathroom hehe). Even if it wasn't complimentary, I'll definitely pay and stay there again! It's THAT worth it =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniex208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Towers for three nights in August for my husbands birthday and it was pure luxury. Upon arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to an executive suite for an extra $100 per night and we decided to upgrade. The room had a separate lounge room with beautiful views of Southbank and the river, a stunning bathroom with a television over the bath. We had complimentary newspapers delivered to our room each day and also chocolates and ice each afternoon. The bathrobes were the cosiest I've ever worn so much that I wanted to take it home with me. We dined in a few places within th Casino but found we received better service and food at the various restaurants along Southbank. If you are planning on staying at the Towers make sure to take your bathers, the pool is amazing and warm. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked another stay in September.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is probably the blingiest jazzyest most over the top place I`ve ever stayed in. Part of the Packer empire I gather and boy, he didn`t spare the horses on this one. But the good news is that it works, not just well, but really well. The rooms are large, well appointed and laid out and eveything is maintained to a very high standard. The bathroom and shower work very well and the bathrobes are suitably luxurious. I normally never notice the quality of the bedding but this was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The hotel is actually part of a massive conference facility and shopping mall with many of the high end labels represented and among them are a number of restaurants and bars catering for every taste and budget. The hotel is situated overlooking the river and has a great view of the CBD just to add the icing on the cake. All in all it was a hugely enjoyable stay and I know I can recommend it because it`s the sort of place you know will mainain its standards.

Room Tip: Don`t worry. There are no bad rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've spent a lot of time at this hotel, my criticisms are nit picky at best:

*When I arrived via cab I was no assisted with my bags, the porters attended to a more mature looking couple but this could have been an oversight
*SBS1 was streaming on both the SBS1 and SBS2 channel
*Gym is only open until 10pm - a keyswipe system after-hours rather than staff could be implemented easily.

Otherwise it's a great hotel. It's always very busy and at a high capacity, yet their service levels don't suffer. The staff are all very friendly, personal and engaging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,841 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,617 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing