We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here prior to the British lions rugby and found it very central for everything we needed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Have stayed at the crown promenade a few years ago and just as good

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    723
    199
    52
    25
    13
See reviews for
150
434
59
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had an opportunity to stay in this hotel recently on one of my visits to Melbourne. I had a room on the 21st floor and I must say it was truly and experience. Awesome views of the city, great buffet breakfast and the entertainment was beyond compare. The Crystal Club Lounge was terrific place for breakfast, snacks, tea coffee or meetings with privacy. The evening Hour complimentary champagne, too good. Worth every single cent that you spend. What views of the city. Must experience the Club floors for sure if you can.

Room Tip: Opt for the corner Harbour Facing Suites or rooms if available. Visit the Crystal Club Lounge on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations. Our room was upgraded for a much less fee than if I'd booked that room beforehand. We were on the 27th floor with an amazing view.

The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was exquisite and was nice to have a changing room/walk in robe to keep the room uncluttered.

I loved the chaise by the window, the television in the bathroom and the lighting control panel. The pool and gym area were lovely as well though we didn't get to use them, next time!

The conservatory for breakfast was beautiful and staff were pleasant.

Only fault was that check in and out were quite slow but they were apologetic, the customer service was exceptional.

We look forward to returning for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First impressions entering through the main lobby were not welcoming. It felt more like a busy shopping mall.

We chose to stay in a 'Club' room and the room was spacious and comfortable and well furnished. The Crystal Lounge is well appointed and the staff there were friendly and helpful, but the snack food in the evenings was of a disappointing, erratic standard.

The average room rate for three nights was $900 per night, which was certainly not good value for what was offered.

Especially offensive was an extra charge of $25 per day for the use of the internet in the $900 room.

In spite of some good points, we found the hotel was largely impersonal and would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Garthri,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

It was nice to read your positive impression of the room and Crystal Club. Your comments about the evening snack food have been shared with the Lounge Chef for follow up.

We price ourselves very much with consideration of what our competitors are offering and with Melbourne’s luxury Hotels filling on most weekends of the year, room rates reflect this. I suspect you may have been with us over a weekend period.

While the majority of Hotels in Australia charge for the internet to cover the significant infrastructure required to provide and maintain this service, we are currently competitive with other properties in the city. That said, we are working on a change of pricing for the near future so hope to have this resolved for you should you return again.

I am sorry you found the lobby to be so busy. As one of the larger Hotels in Melbourne and being located beside Australia’s most visited entertainment complex, this does put us in the heart of the action and is why many guests choose to stay with us. Of course, this means we have to focus particularly on our service so I was glad to read that you found this both friendly and helpful.

Overall, while I was happy to read that you enjoyed the room, I regret that we were not able to provide you the experience you had been hoping for.

Yours truly,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights/4 days.

Customer Service was absolutely fantastic!!! Right from the very start with the professional looking doorman in red long jackets opening the taxi car doors, greeting us with a big friendly smile and taking our luggages into the foyer and directing us to the reception. The staff at reception were polite and friendly, and informed us that they will text me when our room was ready (we arrived very early that morning) and to his word we did get the text message. Our luggages were already waiting for us in our hotel room and located in the "dressing room" section. The concierge gave us a tourist map of the city and provided useful information about how to use the "City Circle" tram.

Our hotel room was on one of the high floors with a good view of the Melbourne CBD. It was very clean, tidy, the beds were firm & the linen were crisp white & comfortable. I loved the bathroom, especially the layout. You could relax in the bath while watching TV. There is also a switch for "do not disturb", which shows lit up right outside the door entry. This is a great idea instead of the old fashioned paper door hanger.

We ordered room service for our last night, and the food was delicious. There was a warmer section on the food trolley to keep my steak sandwhich warm. The staff member we ordered from was very friendly, informative and great at customer service. When we rang to inform that we had finished our dinner, the staff arrived within 10mins to collect the food tray! Now that is excellent & fast customer service, and adds to the impeccable cleanliness of the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Crown Towers, and will definately be returning there the next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned from our first stay at the Crown Towers. The location is great, close enough to the CBD, MCG, Rod Laver Arena ect. The gym and pool have recently been upgraded and are amazing. One of the best gyms I have been to in a hotel/resort. This trip was child free however I would have no reservations in returning with the children in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well it was that time of the year again. The Diamonds Cancer ball and this year the girls and I decided that we would stay at Crown Towers. From check in to check out the next day I could not fault it. Amazingly big rooms, ours was on the 23rd floor with a wonderful view. Beds soft and comfy. Bathroom Luxurious. Swimming pool fantastic. All the staff were friendly and obliging. I am affraid that we all loved it that much that this is going to have to be our place to stay every year now for the Ball. Will be back with my husband for a special occasion also.

Room Tip: I think the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.