We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful room, excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful room, excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a King deluxe and were not disappointed. Huge bed, amazing views, a luxurious bathroom with TV over bath, and all in all we couldn't fault it for comfort or excellence. WOuld highly recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    205
    58
    25
    13
See reviews for
165
456
60
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well done to the staff at this lovely hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again. The location and atmosphere make it a fantastic option for a visit to Melbourne. Extremely comfortable bed, with pillow options and huge bathroom. You won't regret a stay with Crown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I bought my Mum here for a mother-daughter weekend after booking a great deal on Wotif a few months earlier.

Pros:
Twin rooms have 2 large queen beds that are very comfortable
Big rooms, walk in change room and wardrobe, TV in the bathroom
Robes
Toiletries
The pool area

Cons:
Customer service wasn't amazing. Upon check in we were left to our own devices to take our luggage up, find the lifts etc. Not great for a 5 star hotel when you can see staff standing around.
Parking was expensive so we parked at the casino multi storey which was quite a walk away
Limited TV channels

Overall for the price it was great, would recommend for a couple with some money to spend for an anniversary or wedding night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Andie,
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I was flattered to read that you chose Crown Towers for a special mother-daughter weekend away and enjoyed the room, the bathroom and the pool.

Your comments about the limited assistance on arrival have been shared with the team and I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I regret this disappointment for you as we certainly pride ourselves upon our service.

Our valet parking is priced in line with our competitors however we are fortunate to have several self-parking options also, should a guest choose to park their own car.

Comments about the range of TV channels are rare as we have over sixty, plus pay per view movies, etc. That said, I have shared your observation with our team.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We won a night at Crown in a Premier Suite, and added a night ourselves to make the most of the stay. The room was beautiful, happy with the bed, bedding and bathroom. Love the comfortable bath with the tv. Breakfast in the Conservatory was lovely, great surrounds, great view and endless brekky options. Only issue for hotel of this calibre was the spa being part of the main pool, which another reviewer has commented on. Crown management responded that there are separate areas which have their own spas, but these incur an extra cost as it sounds like they are part of the Aqua Retreat part of the Crown Spa. Poor form!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your stay at Crown Towers.

It was nice to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast at Conservatory.

We do have the spa and steam facilities on the main pool deck and these are included for all guests of the hotel. In addition, the extensive treatment rooms and Aqua Retreat facilities that include communal spas in both the male and female areas, along with steam rooms and private spas in many of the treatment rooms, are included for guests of Crown Spa, be they hotel guests or not. My apologies if the previous comment caused confusion.

Your comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is my first time to stay in Crown, I have to say, this is my best experience ever in any hotel. From the service to the comfort, everything is excellent. Whenever I go to Melbourne, I will never stay at other hotel again other than this hotel.
All entertainment is under the roof and everything is so near.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If your in Melbourne for a good time and a nice hotel, then you cant go past Crown Towers.
If you dont plan on going to to casino then sure I wouldnt stay here. Because you are paying a penalty to stay here because its in the Casino.

I upgraded on a quite night to a huge suit for around $400. Was good value. But only for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Crown Towers.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and consider us the property of choice in Melbourne.

We are fortunate to be located adjacent to the wider Crown complex with the many restaurant and leisure options that provides, from night clubs, shows such as “Empire”, movies, bowling and yes, the casino as you mention. We are also located in the heart of Southbank and alongside the river, overlooking the magnificent city landscape of Melbourne. Our pricing is competitive within the five star hotel market locally and today for instance, we are one of 9 hotels in the city all selling rooms within about 10% of each other.

I am glad you chose to enjoy a room upgrade as this always makes any stay a special occasion.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Perfect luxurious accommodation. We didn't need to leave the hotel, the views of the river and the impeccable service made our stay enjoyable. Extremely comfortable bed, giant modern bathroom with TV and nespresso coffee machine with coffee capsules.

Loved the nearby restaurants and shopping. At the end of our stay at Crown Towers we were completely relaxed, rejuvenated and ready to get back to work. A must stay and we look forward to our next trip there soon.

Room Tip: I recommend you upgrade to an executive suite (on a higher floor) – with views of Port Philip Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.