We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insist On Non-Smoking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Insist On Non-Smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a reservation at the Crown Metropol which is excellent however I was offered an 'upgrade' to the Towers so I took it. I have to say I much prefer the more contemporary feel of the Metropol. I also prefer the check-in at the Metropol (hotel) over the Towers which is part of the casino. The room itself was typical five star conservative 'luxury' which lots of people obviously love. My biggest shock however was being given a smoking room complete with ashtray and matches. I'd thought smoking in hotel rooms was outlawed in Australia but apparently not. The hotel moved me to a non-smoking room without any fuss but I have to say I would've found staying in the room very difficult as it was obvious the previous guest was a smoker. If youre a non-smoker insist on a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    205
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
165
456
60
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the first time my girlfriend had experianced crown towers. The place is a world of its own. Very luxurious, but its to be expected for the price you pay. Breakfast was wonderful in the conservertory with it being refuribished. Perfect view from your room and we were only on the 17th floor.

Only critic would be the price of valet parking. $50 i thought was a bit rich for 24hours but they can demand that for the position they are in.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the yarra city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Rooms were lovely, TVs over bathtub and great facilities with the casino shops and south bank prom right there. It's a 15 min walk to town centre and 5 mins to flinders station so pretty easy to get around - and the Lindt bunnies left for Easter a lovely touch. So quiet considering the casino and road traffic below - pleasant staff - we'd go back again happily. The buffet breakfast has a great spread and with chocolate fountains for the pancakes it has to be a bonus!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Oh my - the beds here are amazing! Not only is the mattress perfect (for me) but the bedding is exquisite. All the staff we encountered seemed genuinely happy to help, whether it was with directions or recommend where to dine.

The bathroom was lovely, and am happy to say cleaned to a very high standard (something I always look out for).

The view from my room was incredible. I'll definitely be back (provided the client foots the tab again haha)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was a great experience to stay in the best property of Melbourne on my Honeymoon. Me and my Husband loved the hotel. The property is so beautiful. The view from our room was amazing and hotel is located in the best location of Melbourne. Would like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Towers for week and it was great. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely and clean with the most comfortable beds. We tried a lot of the restaurants which were all yummy and spent a bit of time in the casino which was fun. This place is great you don't have to leave if you don't want to, it is an entertainment hub so much to do and so little time we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try the Chinese restaurant just inside the casino entrance hotel end, they do the best Chinese food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Crown Towers a few times for special occasions such as our anniversary! We are always greeted with friendliness and helpfulness. This time we were even upgraded free of charge to a studio room (without even requesting it). We asked for a late checkout and were instantly offered a 12pm checkout at no extra charge! The room was lovely, well equipped and clean! The only suggestion I have is for Crown Towers to improve the quality of their shampoo etc. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels and their shampoos etc have been much nicer! Thanx again for a lovely stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.