We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Southbank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Crown Towers Experience
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best of Southbank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel on the Southbank in Melbourne then this is the best. The best rooms in terms of size and comfort, the best breakfasts and the best gym. Crown Metropol is trendier but not as comfortable. Be warned though, very popular with Asian gamblers and the lobby has a real Asian feel. Avoid Silks restaurant. It has a good reputation but has definitely gone downhill. Still very expensive and food is only average with very poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid Silks restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latebloomerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubbo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What can I say about Crown Towers? It is gorgeous, every small detail is looked after, the team members showed outstanding customer service skills and I honestly could not fault any aspect of our stay. Loved the breakfast at The Conservatory. By far the best I have had. It was such an experience. We had a wonderful stay for our Wedding Anniversary and topped it off with dinner to celebrate at Rockpool. A truly exceptional stay in Melboyrne and one I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed with my husband on business - this is a stunning hotel - great service and we were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a suite - stunning.
Disappointed only buffet breakfast - we like to have A la Carte - other wise all good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmithfield83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the service we received was exceptional! We booked a deluxe king and we were blown away. The decor, facilities, cleanliness and bed all exceeded expectations and loved the fluffy gowns and slippers provided for that extra added comfort! Location for Melbourne itself was great and the in-room service couldn't be faulted. There are many high quality restaurants that did not disappoint and we would highly recommend staying here for both business and pleasure.
The staff here could not be more helpful and made our stay a delight!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed on the seventh floor in a deluxe twin room with a city view. A very comfortable and luxurious stay was had by all. Huge bathroom and living space. I liked the separate wardrobe area. We tried the scrumptious buffet breakfast in The Conservatory and swam in the hotel pool. Very impressed overall. Great location and entertainment options galore.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a city view as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NemaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Crown for one night and recieved the most amazing service, The room was impecibly clean with attention to detail down to the lovely shampoo and conditioner in the pool bathroom. All in all we had a fantastic stay. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Okay having stayed at crown towers many times previosuly i though this time as it was a very special ocassion we stay at the Villa.

yes you get to use teh private lift and you do get a butler, used the lift but didnt feel comfy using the butler :)

the room was amazing i must say having stayed in over 100 plus hotels this room would be number 1 for me in terms of size and view.

The let down was that the carpet behind the table was actually burnt so for a room at a rate of $1500 a night that shouldnt be there.

The other negative was that the welcome card from teh manager for a very famous guest staying there the night before was still on teh desk, not really a good idea so that should have been looked at.


Finally 2 days later came time to check out and we had to go downstairs and wait in line for 15 minutes to check out, they should have offered a express check out or a a check out in teh Crystal club after all i did spend well over 4k there.

Great room great stay but room for improvement in terms of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sam,
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at Crown Towers.

It was nice to read that you had decided to spoil yourselves after so many visits and try the Villas and that you consider the room the best for size and view, for someone who is obviously well travelled.

I was sorry to read of your experience relating to the carpet condition and the handling of your welcome amenity. These comments have been shared with the relevant managers for investigation.

A busy check out is unfortunately common on weekends around 11:00am as the majority of guests wait til then to depart, as is common throughout the city. While we do staff with this in mind, I am sorry that there was any delay for you and that you were not aware of the Express Checkout option which is available beside the front desk daily. You are quite right that the Crystal Club is a great way to avoid any delays and I encourage you to book this in the future, should you wish to take advantage of the many benefits it offers.

Overall, I am glad you had a good visit and thought the room great and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,848 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,628 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing