We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music from night club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Getaway
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Music from night club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I'm staying her tonight and its 1.50am I can still hear the music beating away from the crystal club! I called the service desk and the guy couldn't believe me when I said I can hear it from my room as I'm located on level 27!!! Boom boom boom

Driving me crazy! Could have stayed at the Westin for a lot cheaper and no noise!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I was concerned to read of your experience here at Crown Towers, specifically relating to the noise after hours.

While there is a range of entertainment venues in the area, our Crystal Club actually closes after pre dinner drinks and does not have the facilities to play loud music so I suspect this may have been another venue that you heard. I appreciate this must have been very frustrating for you and understand that the duty manager relocated your room for you, which I trust solved the problem on the night.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    216
    60
    26
    13
See reviews for
185
490
65
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Expensive yes, but this can be one of the once in a lifetime experiences if you wish.
wonderful rooms.

Only downside, internet was a bit slow sometimes. and the warm water takes some time to get to the shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Crown Towers is a great place to stay when visiting Melbourne, even for a short break if you want a city weekend break. Always clean, good service, nice but inoffensive decor - ticks all the basic boxes you are looking for. I personally love that it has tea and coffee making facilities - I hate getting room service for a simple cup of tea! Yet it has all the fancy extras like remote control curtains and blinds, so you can get the exact amount of light and privacy you like, and a TV in the bathroom (if these things are important to you!) It's in a great location, walkable to many city highlights, and if you are lucky you may bump into a minor (or major) celebrity, as big names often stay here. Not the place to stay if you want a cosy, friendly vibe - this is grand, bling and comfortably anonymous. Also the parking can be a bit tricky to find your way in and out of. Overall a great city hotel, has never let us down - as a couple, for work and even with a young child.

Room Tip: Worth asking for an upgrade to a suite - the extra room is like having an inner city apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary and loved it.....staff are helpful and friendly, room was immaculate and great location for exploring the city.......the rooms are so modern with tv in the bathroom and gorgeous lighting and marble fixtures...we were sent a complimentary bottle of bubbles to help us celebrate......just loved everything about this hotel.....would highly recommend for that special night

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Crystal Club...well worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I was pleased to read of your recent experience at Crown Towers and thank you for your kind comments about both the service and the quality of the property itself.

We do pride ourselves on “the details” and the team work very hard to ensure our guest experience is exemplary in every way.

Thank you for recommending the hotel here on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service at the Crown Towers was 5 star. We had opted for the Crystal Club option so had access to a more private breakfast area and this was well worth the expense. As with other reviewers, I would recommend a room on a higher floor overlooking the Yarra river to fully benefit from the views! The lobby, as witth everything at this hotel is massive and has a wonderful staircase leading up to the first floor where there are a number of restaurants and shops. The bedroom was everything we could have asked for and provided an extremely comfortable stay. When we next stay in Melbourne, it will be difficult to look past this hotel!

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor overlooking the Yarra river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed for a night here while in Melbourne for a work conference. I arrived too early to be able to check in but they arranged for my bag to be put in my room during the day so it was there when I got to the room late that night. Room was very nice, especially the bathroom. Check out process was easy and I had no trouble getting a taxi to the airport. There are plenty of dining options in the complex and it was nice walking along the river at night. I felt safe all the time. I would recommend this hotel and be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stay here at least once a year and book a suite (huge ) it is nice to have the butler service they polish your shoes iron your clothes tc. The added advantage of the Crystal room is nice. You have access to complimentary drinks (alcohol included) nibbles and breakfast set in a relaxing room that is quite intimate.The staff fall all over you. My favourite room is the one that has a huge bathroom (would fit 20 people into this room) and it overlooks the city nice way to luxuriate in a spa bath.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify your view preference and that the suite you book is in the crystal club range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.