We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred Hotel in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Towers to your Saves list
Crown Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Retreat
Ranked #3 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Preferred Hotel in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My preferred hotel in Melbourne:
- great rooms (especially if you stay often enough to get into the suites / villas)
- great restaurants in the Crown complex (Rockpool, Nobu, Spice Temple etc.)
- good service (large hotel so sometimes a bit overworked)
- good gym, tennis courts, pool and great location for a run around botanical

Whilst I am a fan of Crown, probably you don't want to book it under these scenarios:
- If you can't stand pomp & glitter... It is on top of a casino with pomp & glitter everywhere...
- if you want a mid-city location: Crown is in Southbank and therefore a little walk away from some areas of the CBD
- if you prefer individual, personal service: given the size of Crown, it has good service but it isn't perfect and clearly not personal... For example, don't expect anyone to recall your name, open the doors for you every time, or go out of their way to service your requests...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    250
    66
    28
    16
See reviews for
225
549
68
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Crown is in a great location for Melbourne's restaurants, shops, entertainment and sporting facilities. The service, which is polite and usually competent, without being excellent, suffers due to the sheer size of the hotel and the constant buzz and huge crowds associated with the attached Crown entertainment complex.

We waited over 20 minutes to retrieve a car from valet as they were busy and people very often wait for access to rooms despite 2pm check-in. Staff were always polite in explaining the wait.

Rooms and bathrooms are good and clean, and quite modern - with some excellent views from higher floors. On our last stay we shared a room with our 5 and 7 year olds which was comfortable enough although we've had adjoining rooms at other times.

Our kids love the pool, which is huge and well heated, but full of children and not for couples looking for a quiet lounge. The buffet breakfast is a reasonable standard for such an expensive hotel without being first class (make sure that is included in your rate as it typically exorbitant otherwise).

Friends of ours had access to the executive lounge on the 3rd floor (near the pool area) and they said it was excellent and worth the extra, (although that extra amount seems to vary enormously depending on your package).

The restaurants in the crown complex vary but are usually good, if pricey, and there are plenty to chose from. There are also cinemas, entertainment and bowling in the complex which are all great for kids.

For a calmer experience try the Park Hyatt but if you prefer being in the heart of the action Crown hits the spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent visit/s to the Crown Towers.

Your perspective as both a couple and as you mention with your previous visit, a couple with children, gives I think a good overview of what our guest can expect when visiting the property. We are fortunate to be able to offer such a wide variety of activities, dining outlets and entertainment options and I am glad to read that you were able to enjoy so much of this.

With regards to the delay for your vehicle, I apologise to you for this. This rarely happens however at peak times during our busier weekend check in and out periods, we often find many people all at once requesting vehicles as I find is common in most city hotels. That said, I have shared your experience with the relevant managers for follow up.

As a large property with so much to offer, I can appreciate finding an intimate space can be a little overwhelming. Between our premier Crown Spa, the 25m indoor pool, our luxurious Crystal Club and over 40 food and beverage choices, we are generally able to find something for everyone. And for many, the generous size of our rooms and the fabulous views are often the perfect hideaway from the surrounding excitement.

Again, thank you for your comments. My team and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Having never stayed here before we decided to splurge and have one night at Crown.So glad we did! From the moment you arrive, the service begins. The valet parking attendant is there to greet you as soon as you pull into their driveway. Bags are whisked away and you are directed to reception to check in. I arrived at 3.30pm on a Friday and walked straight up to check in, no waiting.The only suggestion I have would be that at check in they direct you to the lifts because they are hidden from view when you stand at check in due to the huge pillars in front of them. We were given a room on the 17th floor which had wonderful views of the Yarra River and beyond. The king size bed is super comfy and as previous reviewers have mentioned the bath and the tv in bathroom is special. I made sure I had a bath just to experience it! The day bed is a nice touch too - sit back,relax,have a drink and watch the world pass by.Special mention to the bell boy, sorry can't remember his name but he did arrange for a big bucket of ice to be brought to the room for my drinks. Fantastic service. Check out was fairly simple too. You can opt for the express checkout if you wish. All you need to do is fill out a form and place it in the bin provided. Too easy! Thank you Crown for wonderful relaxing stay.We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
What a pleasure to read your kind review. Thank you for sharing this and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with three friends in a studio room during the Australian Open. The room came with two queen sized beds and a single bed was also set up in the corner. We were thoroughly impressed with the rooms - plenty of towels of various sizes, many pillows, walk in wardrobe, bathrobes, extremely spacious bathroom with a built in tv in the bath and big tv. The beds were absolutely luxurious.. you would sink into it and have a fantastic sleep. The facilities were also fantastic - huge indoor pool, well equipped gym, several tennis courts. The only thing I would complain about is that there is no separate sauna or steam room for men/women. The service was great - they always made up our rooms and everything was placed so precisely. The location is fantastic - there are many restaurants in the complex and enough to keep you occupied for a few days. Access to trams is easy and within walking distance to the main part of town. Would I stay here again? Definitely! We felt extremely special after staying here for 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay here at the Crown Towers Hotel.

In relation to your comment about separate steam and sauna facilities for men and women, I am pleased to advise that we are currently upgrading and extending our spa and gym facilities to incorporate these facilities and expect to have this work completed in the coming months. My apologies to you that this did not meet your expectations of us, on this visit.

Overall, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We wanted to try the best after having stayed at the Promenade and Metropol (all owed by Crown) so we lashed out and we were very happy we did, from the minute we arrived we new we had found luxury at it's best right here in Melbourne. We requested a room high up with a view and we were given a beautiful room on the 28th floor with views spanning the Yarra river and city, the room was spotless with nothing left to the imagination, the bath had a T.V. at the end so you could lay back and watch your favorite show and when we returned at the end of the evening there was a bottle bubble and chocolates waiting for us. The next morning we had a marvelous banquet breakfast before heading off. the staff were great, helpfull and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I extended our honeymoon by staying one night in our own neck of the woods - in the Crown Casino, Melbourne. If you're new to the area, make sure you ask the taxi/driver to take you to the hotel entrance. If you have your own vehicle, the cheapest parking was $10 for 24 hours (multi-level car parking), but you will have to walk the whole length of the huge building to find the hotel section (just follow the signs to Crown Towers once you're in the building, not to Metropol coz that's different accommodation). We booked ourselves in and found our way to the room. The lobby is huge and so pretty, with fresh flowers in the centre of the lobby under a giant chandelier and more fresh flowers at the elevators. The whole feel of the walk to the rooms leaves you feeling like you're in luxury - even the hallways have a warm feel about them! The city views were also very well positioned throughout the building. We got to our room and it took us quite a while to work out the lighting system and freaked out a little bit because the TV was left on and thought we walked into someone's room! But don't worry, it is deliberately left on the hotel's info channel. We got the King Deluxe room and it was so spacious! There are two chandeliers in the bathroom and a double glass door to get in there! Oh it was nice!
The one downside was that while sitting in the bath, I could hear every word that a guest was saying on his mobile phone right outside our door. Freaky! I'll add, however, that when walking down the hall toward our room, we heard that there was a party going on in the room next door, but we couldn't hear anything once we were in our room. Thank goodness!
We also went down to the cocktail lounge in the lobby and that was fabulous. Jazz playing softly in the background and a delicious and exotic cocktail menu. My hubby ordered a beer and declared it to be his favourite. I felt like a martini but they didn't have the classic cocktails on the menu so I tried one that was similar, only it had orange in it instead of orange. It was very tasty and I'm glad I had the opportunity to try something new. Staff was great there too. Ooh! And I nearly forgot - housekeeping visited our room while we were at the cocktail lounge (called the Waiting Room) and we got little chocolates. They were so tasty!
It did surprise us that the TV was back on though?!?!
In all, for one night, it was a lovely ending to our honeymoon :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed for one night the week before Christmas, received a great deal with room and crystal club access, well worth the money. We enjoyed our time sitting in the outdoor area of crystal club in the sunshine. The service is would you would expect in a 5 star hotel, courteous, polite and willing to help. The location is great with so many top restaurants and bars to choose from. It was especially nice with the choir singing Christmas carols in atrium.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia.Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence.- Winner of the 2011 Hotel Management Awards for the ‘Best Luxury Hotel’ title.- Winner of the 2010 Australian Gourmet Traveller Travel Awards for Nesspresso’s ‘Best Large Luxury Hotel’.- Winner of the 2009 Hotel Club annual awards for both the Best Luxury Hotel and Best Service Hotel in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.