We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Claremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #88 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I didn't arrive until after midnight. The man on reception was courteous, quick and helpful, even getting someone down from upstairs to carry my bags up the stairs.
A nice surprise was the free wifi throughout the hotel. When I'd booked the site had said you had to pay.
The location was ideal for train into city centre, and for eating out at night.
The only things I missed were curtains...but that just meant I woke earlier and went out and did more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    98
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
7
73
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

A little noisy for my liking with people coming and going at all hours, sleeping well was an issue. Rooms are very basic but clean. Hotel and rooms were immaculately clean right though out. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Location is fantastic being close to restaurants and shopping on chapel st plus close to train station and trams only 10mins train ride from the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had high hopes for the Claremont Guest House, having travelled for 4 months I've seen a lot of hostels to compare! The actual hotel is nice, good breakfast, good kitchen/lounge facilities and well located to the city, no complaints there!

I was in a 6 bed female dorm, on arrival the first thing that i noticed was the rubbish over spilling in the room. There was just stuff everywhere! Thankfully the bedding was all fresh and clean, no complaints there. On my 2nd day I asked at reception if they could empty the bins, which they did but just the bins not all the crap situated around the bins! Looking under the beds was interesting, looked like not been swept for weeks! I didn't understand it, they came in to change bed linen on a daily basis so how they couldn't see the rubbish everywhere I don't know, wouldn't take much to clean the rubbish away daily!

Then there was the heat! Now I've become used to the heat here but on the top bunk u got none of the air from the one ceiling fan (not above any bed) or the one standing fan which wouldn't swivel because it got stuck! I was literally lying in bed sweating, barely slept! Then I got a cold, I think from being so stuffy!

I don't usually write bad reviews but I don't think there is any reason not to clean when u obviously have a team of cleaners! Everywhere else in the place seemed clean so maybe it's just the dorm rooms that get forgotten as the majority of this place is double rooms. I was a bit disappointed with the room to be honest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It took a while to find this place while searching for somewhere to stay in Melbourne, but it was well worth it! If you're after no frills, and planning to be out most of the day, this is a great place to stay. The staff were super friendly, understanding and a balm after the rough time I had after driving down from Wagga Wagga, catching an unknown train and arriving sometime near midnight exhausted, near tears and lacking clean clothes. Even my mistake with booking didn't phase them much and it was sorted with ease.

Bathrooms are shared, but generally kept in neat order, cleaned regularly so finding them in disarray was rare! Rooms are small but warm and secure which is all you want sometimes.

I definitely plan on staying there again when I return to Melbourne.

The building is beautiful too! Just lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hotel Claremont is ideal for the person who doesn't like to waste their money on 'trimmings'. It was clean, staff friendly, the room was spacious and well appointed, with ceiling and bench fans provided (with 40 degrees outside, we kept comfortable). Breakfast was generous, and little extras like free chilled water, and hot chocolate any time was available in the dining room. The Hotel is a very short distance from the South Yarra train station, with beautiful shops and restaurants also at our doorstep. The Mexican restuarant on the way to the train was great. For low cost, budget accommodation, this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is fantastic - a stone's throw from South Yarra station and close to shops, restaurants, cafes, and short walk to Prahran. The breakfast which is included in the price is excellent - pretty much everything you want other than cooked breakfast but far better than most hostels. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful - and (what is often unusual for lots of hostels) happy too. The downside for me though was that the windows in the rooms are locked so that they only open about 3 inches which on a hot night doesn't let the air out and it was HOT!!! There is a ceiling fan which didn't reach my end of the room and the free standing fan didn't really do the job. Being an old building there was no air con. So ... a great place to stay in winter but avoid in the height of summer unless you like sleeping in a sweat box.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The Claremont is conveniently situated for bars, restaurants and public transport. It is really a good hostel rather than a guesthouse. The bathrooms are plentiful and kept very clean. The breakfast is excellent and free tea and coffee is available all day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.