We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Hotel Claremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best of this hotel are :
- Location. It is only 50m from South Yarra Railway Station, where you can go very easy to Flinder St and Southern Cross Stations and the greater Melbourne area.
- Location (again). The Tram in front of the hotel is going directly to Flinder St Station.
- Location (again) The Toorak Road where the hotel is located, is a business centre with row of different type of cuisine, Mexican, Chinese, Thai, Indian, Steak house, Cafe etc. open until late.
- Location (again). Close to the famous Chapel St for branded clothing shops.

The breakfast is included with plenty supply of toast, cereal, milk, tea and coffee.
The shared bathrooms were clean.
Each room has a flat TV screen on the wall.

The negatives are minor :
- the room is rather small, with fan only, but there is plenty of spaces in the dining room and reading room to spent the relax time before sleep with WI-FI facility for computer
- Unless you have the front rooms which affected by road noises and night people on the road, the rear room are better with less noise penetration from outside/road

Room Tip: The rear room away from the road are better for light sleeper, less noise affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    136
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
16
99
65
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this guesthouse/hostel. The rooms are good. Bathrooms and shower rooms cleaned every half hour. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a good location near chapel street where there are many bars and restaurants. It's also right next to south Yarra train station. Train takes about 10 minutes to the city. Will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013.

Affordable accommodation in or close to Melbourne is not easy to get at the best of times, and even less so on Auusie Open finals / Australia Day weekend!

It is NOT a hotel and I would say that 'guest house' is also stretching it a bit!

My room was small and spartan with one double bed and very little room for anything else! I was alone, but two people in one of these rooms would have felt very cramped.

The room did have a wall-mounted TV with numerous, mostly Australian, digital channels. Internet access is complimentary, but coverage and reliability is patchy.

Rooms do not have air-conditioning, but rely on the window being opened and rather ineffective fans in the ceiling. I was lucky that it was relatively cool in Melbourne while I was there, yet it still felt very warm.

Because the bathrooms are shared, there is a lot of noise of people coming and going. They were obviously cleaned regularly though.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful, and tea, coffee and water could also be taken at any time of the day.

The property is situated in South Yarra, a thriving area and very close indeed to South Yarra station, providing quick access by train to and from Melbourne with very regular trains running.

Melbourne itself is a lovely city with numerous attractions and just a nice atmosphere, lots to pack into 3-4 days. It IS generally expensive, the now powerful Aussie Dollar making this situation worse!

I'd happily go back to Melbourne again, if I save-up, but would be very unlikely to stay in the Claremont again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any facing north (in summer anyway - that's where the sun is).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing- S. England.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My overall opinion of the Claremount is a good One.It was an enjoyable stay if only for the 1 night .The Breakfast was by far the Best I had in my stay in Australia.The staff were very helpful,& patient with the many questions I asked.The Location was good with a large variety available of Restaurants.not quite sure how one review said this was untrue.If you want Melbourne then take a hotel in the City.Centre.I agree with the criticism that the rooms were too small however.And I AGREE THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE BETTER ventilation to manage the Hot weather one experiances in the hotter months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was over for a night to see the Australian Open, and stayed at this place. It's not really a hotel as such, more like a nice hostel.

My room was basic, but had everything I needed. The hotel itself was air conditioned, but the rooms weren't. Cooling was reliant on a ceiling fan and windows, maybe something to consider in the height of summer!! The bathrooms were clean and tidy. Since it was on a main road, there was a bit of noise from traffic, but it wasn't too noticeable.

The location was convenient. Only a short walk to the South Yarra train station, then one stop to Richmond Station. This allows for easy access to the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and AMI Park. The surrounding area has plenty of eating options and general shops too.

It's not flash, but certainly very functional and a nice convenient location. The prices are quite reasonable too!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building lots of character.Rooms small ..Cleanliness ok could be better..had 6 schools staying at the time we stayed very noisey and reception didnt seem to bothered but regardless breakfast was included and it was great selection..most of the staff were lovely.Good spot to stay too for trams to St Kilda and beaches!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is just great. booked for a week while house hunting in the area, checked out after 4 days as we found a place to live, and got a refund for the nights not used!
Super clean and tidy, free breakfast, ample bathrooms, and helpful staff. rooms were a little small, but at that price i won't be complaining. wouldn't hesitate to use it in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
2.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#122 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#126 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.