We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel claremont melbourne.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #79 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“hotel claremont melbourne.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I found this hotel to be very clean, quiet and well located. Easy to explore Melbourne from here by train or tram. The wifi was a real boon. Also laundry facilities very useful. The staff were especially helpful with storing luggage and booking transport or trips. The breakfast was quite adequate and free tea and coffee all day. I would recommend to anyone wanting low cost accommodation with a good standard of cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: No lift so lower floor better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    105
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
7
77
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were mother and daughter travelling in Australia. We needed an inexpensive, clean and safe place in a location close to transportation. We found it all here at the Claremont Guest House. There was a really good (lots of choice) breakfast: pitchers of orange juice, large bowls of canned peaches and pears.cereals, toast and jam, tea/coffee, cocoa...all included in the price. Also tea, coffee and cocoa were available all day for free. We used the kitchen for making quick lunches and were able to use the Guest fridg for storing things like cheese and other perishables. The staff in general were good...we were very impressed that this one gentleman always remembered our room # whenever we went to pick our key and was so helpful and courteous in every way. The rooms were very small and could get a little warm, although the fan helped. Everything was very clean including the bathrooms, which are scrubbed clean big time in the evening and again in the morning. We never had to wait for a bathroom as there were enough of them at each end of the floors Nice white crisp clean sheets on the beds were a pleasure to see. Nice to have the free WiFy as well. Photos in ad are exactly what you will get...we were very pleasantly impressed. Located so close to the train station and lots of little restaurants.

The drawback would be having to lug our suitcases up the stairs to the third floor. They should install a lift. Also, it was noisy late at night when doors were shut with a loud thud.

Will defiitely recommend it to friends for the value we got.
- Travellers from Canada

Room Tip: we had to keep our curtains drawn (even in the heat) as we faced some kind of office building. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We only stayed here one night, as we waited to move into another hostel, but the Hotel Claremont was an absolute delight! Although we found it listed as a hostel, it really is a hotel, and feels very posh and grand! As we had been staying in some real dives for a while, this place was a very welcome break for us, and everything was superior to anywhere else we'd stayed.

The staff were wonderful, we received a very warm welcome, and they were happy to help in any way. The communal area was very nice, and offered free tea and coffee at all times, as well as a very good free continental breakfast. Our room was a little small, but very clean and comfy nonetheless. The bathrooms were communal, but were individual bathrooms, so you had it to yourself!

The hostel is easy to find, right next to a train station, and also in a lovely area with loads of trendy shops and bars!

Wish we could have stayed longer in the end, but this place offered a lovely break from the usual suspects travelers face. Not only was everything excellent, but all the small touches, like free coffee, or free soap, and lovely towels, or the safest bag storage we've had, was all very much appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I thought this place was great value compared to elsewhere I've stayed in Melbourne. It's a bit basic, but everyone was friendly, the place was very clean (including bathrooms), and for the price the breakfast was pretty good... Rooms are small, but the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is a little find for a city break. The hotel is in a perfect location, next door to a train station a 3min walk to all the bars, cafes and restaurants. We booked 2 couples 4 of us in total in to a larger room for the weekend which worked out perfect, ( if you are planning to do activites rather than be in a hotel) They have 24 hour check in which is great for arriving on a late friday night flight. The breakfast is just plain and simple cereal and toast, but a nice little start to the day. There is also free wifi that comes in very handy.

All in all if we are in Melbourne again we will defintely stay here, perfect location, nice and clean rooms and shower rooms all you could ever want - save your money for enjoying Melbourne!:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toytown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

It's cheap (for a city in Oz!), it's clean and it's next to a train stop. The Breakfast is good and the kitchen facilities are ok.

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had two rooms, both were extremely small - not big enough for two to move around in and not at all like the photos on the website.

Be warned that the doors slam loudly up and down the hallways here, very early in the morning and very late at night. I can appreciate the importance of having good solid fire doors that close, but they don't have to slam shut and shake the bedroom walls!

Half the staff were very friendly and helpful, but the rest were just plain rude. These people need to remember to respect polite paying guests.

In particular, one member of staff was very strict and stingy with the Wifi password tickets (each ticket allowing 100mb download over a 24hr period). The Wifi is advertised as 'free' but this chap was restricting guests to 2 password tickets a day. Not good.

I don't think we would stay here again. I would recommend paying just a tiny bit more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Location: Very good as it was just a 3 minute walk to the South Yarra train station and right by the 8 tram. Less than 15 minutes from CBD.

Room: Small, however it is a hostel so not surprising. Small TV with 3 channels. There is a fan so if you catch a hot day you may be uncomfortable. Two fresh towels with soaps were provided which was nice. Clean.

Bed: We were in a bunk bed room. I don't like bunk beds at all but this wasnt too bad. They were fairly wide, nice sheets and comforter. I just wish they were anchored so that you didn't need someone sitting on the bottom bed in order to climb up or down the top bunk.

Bathrooms: Shared however there were 6 on our floor and I only waited once for a few minutes. They are cleaned twice daily. They arent all consistent as one had bad water pressure and another had uneven temperature (would go from freezing to hot). There were always fresh packaged soaps for use, however for enviornmental purposes I always felt bad using a new soap each time I washed my hands. If they put in soap dispensers they'd save money and would be "going green". Not a downside but just an observation.

Breakfast: Included in your stay. Mon - Fri 6:30 - 9:30AM and on weekends until 10AM. There were pitchers of orange juices. Bottles of light and whole milk. Hot water. Tea packets and hot chocolate available all day long. Filtered water also available all day long. A big bowl of canned peaches and another of canned pears. Four different types of cereals. Plenty of seating although it does get crowded. I thought it was just fine for me. I most liked being able to drink water anytime.

Internet: Wifi is also included in your stay however it is only up until 100MB so it's really just a couple of hours of browsing at most. For Australia, some internet included is better than nothing.

Customer Service: Really great. All the individuals at the desk were pleasant and I can't say anything bad about them at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.