We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money single room I could find in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #78 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best value for money single room I could find in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed in the Claremont for several weeks whilst searching for an apartment on arrival in the city. Apart from one night in a dorm, I spent my time in single rooms, indeed stayed in probably 5 or 6 different rooms as I battled the Melbourne rental market. All of the rooms were fine for the budget I was on, roughly $60 per week night and $80 per weekend night. This was as cheap a private room as I could find in Melbourne, even low cost, low quality budget hostels seemed to charge more.

The singularly most positive aspect of the Claremont are the delightful staff, who are to a man/woman friendly, charming, and very helpful. I really couldn't say enough to compliment them. In addition, it's quite a convenient location, only about 5 minutes on the train from the city centre, with South Yarra train station merely a couple of hundred yards away. For budget accommodation it's rather oddly juxtaposed in this highly monied area of South Yarra, playground of the uber image conscious and well-heeled of Melbourne. Nevertheless, vibrant Chapel Street is nearby, with endless cafes, restaurants, pubs, and shops, and if you bypass the seemingly endless convoy of Ferraris and Porsches on the South Yarra end of Chapel, and stroll 5 minutes or so towards Prahran, for example, you'll encounter lower budget eateries etc. and more down-to-earth locals.

My main gripe with the Claremont is the superficial cleaning that goes on. Whilst the building is well-maintained, you only need to reach behind your bed to plug in your phone, or behind a couch in the common area - I did both - to find months' worth of dirt and detritus. This really is a shame as the whole place is cleaned quite regularly, simply not cleaned well. This is probably a reflection on the contract cleaning company employed so if any of the management happen across this review I'd consider putting the contract out to tender again.

The only other downside to the place from my perspective, as mentioned in other reviews, is the lack of cooking facilities. If you can't make it in a microwave (two microwaves became one during my sojourn) or by adding boiling water, your dinner plans involve eating out. Again, this is a shame, as the kitchen is reasonably sized, and the dining/common area large enough for scores of people.

These criticisms aside, I would certainly recommend the Claremont to anyone looking for good value for money without compromising significantly with quality.

Room Tip: Toorak Road side of the building is noisiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    106
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
79
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Australian, formerly of Melbourne, had been living in countryside and stayed regulaly as work two days a week in Melbourne. Recommend to travellersfrom overseas and local e.g. visiting from "bush".

Good service, clean, secure (school approved), renovated, bathrooms almost immaculate, good breakfast and free wifi in public area, paid in rooms (unfortunatey most Australian establishments view wifi as a resource like gas which must be paid for.....5 years behind....).

Best is location next to South Yarra train station, 5 mins to city, lots of take away, cafe and restaurant food options, plus shopping and entertainment of Toorak Road, Chapel Street etc.

Only negative is doors can be a bit noisy, and stayed in single occupancy double bunk room, bit pokey and almost impossible to watch tv.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

First of all, it is cheap for what you get. Strategically located in South Yarra, just some steps from train station, complimentary breakfast and wi-fi, nice staff. Of course, this is a budget accomodation but, for what you pay, in an expensive city like Melbourne, you can't miss it. If I ever go back to Melbourne, this hotel would be my choice again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cepu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights here. The staffs were very nice, friendly & accomodating. I even could leave my big luggage there during my one week trip to Ayers Rock & Sydney for free. The security is good since it needs password to get in after 11pm. The shared bathrooms are all clean all the time. Free wifi is definetely a plus since afterthat I've never found any ho(s)tels with free internet during my Aussie trip. The location was strategic because it only takes 2 minutes to South Yarra Station and the tram!
The only downside was the twin private room was too small for 2 adults with 2 big luggages. But since I only need a clean decent place to sleep with tight budget, I guess it worth every penny. Definetely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have stayed in this guesthouse for 1 week in Feb 2011 and for 3 weeks in April 2011. Staff are very friendly and are always willing to help. Free breakfast and wifi is a bonus, as these extra costs do add up if you are travelling on a budget.
I have stayed in both the double private room, and the budget twin room (bunk beds). If your budget allows, the double rooms are much more comfortable, as they are a lot bigger. The budget rooms are perfect if you are out for most of the day and just looking for a place to sleep.All rooms also have tv's.
The cleanliness of the hotel cannot be faulted. Cleaning staff can be seen at all times of the day. The shared bathrooms are also very well maintained, and are cleaned several times a day. If you are looking for somewhere clean, and on a budget, I would recommend this place 100%. The budget twin room is cheaper than the price of two people in a dorm in most hostels. The average price we paid was $55 a night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Arriving at the Claremont hotel you are instantly greeted with a warm and soothing ambiance, the staff are friendly and very efficient, you are given internet cards if you have an iphone or a laptop and told that breakfast will be served every morning free and to help yourself to the complimentary tea and coffee.

I had originally booked a dorm room, which i was told was not ready in time, i was gracious and explained i would wait, but the staff decided they would give me a private room instead, wooden floored clean bedding and fresh towels, a television and a fridge all provided

no noise, no lairy backpackers, just a few metres walk to melbournes main strip of chapel street and a connecting train station South Yarra

perfect for travelling on a budget, perfect for a city break, for couples, solo travellers wanting some peace and quiet, a guest house more over than a hotel or a hostel, i really enjoyed my stay at the claremount.

highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I only stayed at Claremont one night but it was a good experience. Friendly staff, clean room, clean bathrooms and good breakfast and free internet. The thing that lets it down though is that the only thing to cook with in the kitchen is the microwave. This was fine for one night but any longer, and it would have been extremely limiting. The location of the hostel is in South Yarra so it is a little out of the city although the tram connection into central Melbourne is excellent. I would stay here again if I needed a place for one night but any longer and I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.