We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the budget conscious traveller.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Hotel Claremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast and Wi-Fi
Ranked #79 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect for the budget conscious traveller.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have stayed in this guesthouse for 1 week in Feb 2011 and for 3 weeks in April 2011. Staff are very friendly and are always willing to help. Free breakfast and wifi is a bonus, as these extra costs do add up if you are travelling on a budget.
I have stayed in both the double private room, and the budget twin room (bunk beds). If your budget allows, the double rooms are much more comfortable, as they are a lot bigger. The budget rooms are perfect if you are out for most of the day and just looking for a place to sleep.All rooms also have tv's.
The cleanliness of the hotel cannot be faulted. Cleaning staff can be seen at all times of the day. The shared bathrooms are also very well maintained, and are cleaned several times a day. If you are looking for somewhere clean, and on a budget, I would recommend this place 100%. The budget twin room is cheaper than the price of two people in a dorm in most hostels. The average price we paid was $55 a night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    118
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
11
86
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Arriving at the Claremont hotel you are instantly greeted with a warm and soothing ambiance, the staff are friendly and very efficient, you are given internet cards if you have an iphone or a laptop and told that breakfast will be served every morning free and to help yourself to the complimentary tea and coffee.

I had originally booked a dorm room, which i was told was not ready in time, i was gracious and explained i would wait, but the staff decided they would give me a private room instead, wooden floored clean bedding and fresh towels, a television and a fridge all provided

no noise, no lairy backpackers, just a few metres walk to melbournes main strip of chapel street and a connecting train station South Yarra

perfect for travelling on a budget, perfect for a city break, for couples, solo travellers wanting some peace and quiet, a guest house more over than a hotel or a hostel, i really enjoyed my stay at the claremount.

highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I only stayed at Claremont one night but it was a good experience. Friendly staff, clean room, clean bathrooms and good breakfast and free internet. The thing that lets it down though is that the only thing to cook with in the kitchen is the microwave. This was fine for one night but any longer, and it would have been extremely limiting. The location of the hostel is in South Yarra so it is a little out of the city although the tram connection into central Melbourne is excellent. I would stay here again if I needed a place for one night but any longer and I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Bearing in mind that for most of our trip we booked the cheapest we could, this wasn't a bad place! It's an old building, and a bit shabby looking. But the rooms were clean and bright. We were fine with the fan on the ceiling.
Its in a good location, with trams easily accessible. Some go right past, and others go from a junction further down the street. This can be a bit noisy at night though.
The staff are helpful, and the free breakfast, while simple, was a good added bonus. Shared toilet facilities are very clean, and look like they were done up much more recently than the rest of the hostel.
If all you are looking for is a cheap bed, then look no further.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My sister and I booked one night here since we had never been to Melbourne and were not sure if we would want to stay in this part of town or not. We ended up booking for the entire rest of our stay! They are located one and a half blocks from the train (downtown is just a couple train stops away). The area was an upper scale area and we felt VERY safe, being 2 girls by ourselves. The hotel was a quaint old building but VERY clean and well kept. The bathrooms are shared but they are not shared stalls (each individual bathroom has it's own toilet, sink and shower). I saw them cleaning the bathrooms multiple times a day. They are also a quick walk from Chapel Street which has shopping and restaurants. Chapel Street nightlife age range early to mid twenties. If you are looking for a slightly more mature crowd, I would head downtown for nightlife. For the price, it was an AWESOME value!! I would DEFINITELY stay there again!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We were in Melbourne for the Grand Prix last weekend and all the Hotels bump up their prices considerably. We were lucky to get this place which is in the heart of the shopping / restaurant precinct and a moderate walk to the race track. Cheap accommodation for Melbourne. It's really an upmarket hostel / backpackers but clean and providing all the basic facilities. Friendly staff , basic breakfast ( included in room rate ) but adequate. Close to train and tram transport, but would be a nice walk into the city if you are young and fit enough. Has old building charm but can be very noisy depending on your time of stay and location of room. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The bunk bed room is tiny so pay a bit extra and get a bigger room ( OK if you're a single traveler ) Shared bathrooms are kept clean. Good value and we would stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Hotel Claremont has all the appearances of a hotel, but is much more like a quieter backpackers hostel with dorms and small private rooms. Our double bed almost took up the entire room and the TV didn't work but the bed was comfortable and the location is very good. Breakfast is more than adequate. This is a good cheap hotel if you're travelling, but not if you're looking for something luxurious. It was quieter than I expected, the main noise being the sound of the Australian Grand Prix, taking place at the time (and which you could hear all over Melbourne!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.