We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd bad n ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #88 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Godd bad n ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am staying at the Victoria hotel now and I am just amazed at it. It is not like the photos at all it is like a back packers when you first walk in not grand at all. The lifts are discusting, dirty ,old and feel unsafe. There are doors leading to doors leading to more doors and then lifts that don't go all the way down to ground or up to 8th floor. It is like a maze. The fitness centre area is lovely nice n clean. Vics bar is ok but only sells cheap wines (in my opinion ) we were put in a room very far away from lifts and had sent email saying wanted to be close to lifts as with 74 yr old mum. They changed us and closer to lift in a a box room but was originally in a shoe box size tight n small room but are clean with comfortable beds n nice linen.
House keeping had to be called back to change glasses n mugs n finish off serving room. Then left her cleaning cloths. If you pay under $110 a night ,that's ok but any more look elsewhere. In my mind while renovations are going on and very dirty rooms should be under $100 ... Ply am I room now and weird noices all night from up stairs.... Maybe pay a little more and feel like you are away , n special not like a back packer and paying so .much more. Not sure if I will be back...

Room Tip: Ask to be lose to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. It’s unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback, good or bad, is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your observations of the hotel, its facilities and the issues you have raised. The lifts, on the other hand, were upgraded just recently, so you or any guests have nothing to worry.

Once again thank you and we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    661
    326
    98
    84
See reviews for
240
441
206
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birregurra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night to attend the football at the MCG. It's about a 15 minute easy walk from the Hotel. Check in was efficient as was the checkout. The room was excellent for our needs. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was fresh and clean. The buffet breakfast at $17 head was excellent value. The only negative was very loud music from a nearby venue but I guess you have to expect that on a Saturday night in the CBD. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel and for giving us a good rating. Thank you also for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

For country people with appointments in Melbourne or for those attending a show it is easily accessible from both Railway stations. Close to major retail stores and also to boutique shops in Collins Street. Tram close by so easy transport to all areas once you have worked out how to get and use Myki

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel. We are glad that you were happy with the location and our services. We really appreciate the good rating that you have for us.

It is our hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spent Mothers Day weekend in Melbourne staying at The Vic. From a speedy check-in and easy parking, we were shown to our family room. Big room with twin beds partitioned off from our Queen bed which was perfect for my husband and I, and our two adult boys. T.Vs for both, warm and quiet room. Had a few drinks in the bar which was lovely. Comfortable and terrific service. Right in the CBD, walking to all shops and restaurants. Very quick checkout, no hassles, all for under $200. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, used the lifts, no problems .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you fro choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel and for the good rating that you gave us. We are pleased to receive all these praises coming from you and so glad that you were happy with your stay.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days to explore the CBD of Melbourne. It was functional, cost effective/reasonable and comfortable. Room service was great, prompt and uncomplicated. We were warned of renovations going on, but we had no noise at night or in the mornings whatsoever.
The location is fantastic!!!! Close to shops, cafés and public transport. Thanks guys

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel. We are pleased to receive comments such as yours and we are glad that you were delighted by our service despite the renovations.

We shall be looking forward to your next visit soon. Have a great day!

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel is in great location but let down by couple of things. First room allocated to us was on first floor a long way from lifts, down a small set of Stairs and past the staff quarters. Room was large but like a dungeon. We asked for a change of rooms and got one on the fifth floor which was much better.
Second thing is they charge to store bags. There is no concierge. $5 for 6 hours in a locker room,but you have to put it in the locker yourself. Liability if luggage is stolen is limited to $5 if stored in locker, not you usual innkeepers limit. I think this is bad for.
For an extra $20, you can get a comparable hotel that doesn't charge to store bags if you arrive early or have to check out before your flight.
Wouldn't stay here again unless it is ultra cheap as it's closer to a private room backpacker experience than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Victoria Hotel. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our locker facility. We will forward your feedback to the providers. It's a good thing you were saying how you feel because we get to know which part of our service dissatisfies our guests.

It is our hope that you will come back and give us a chance to serve you better. Should you need the locker service again in the future, please do not hesitate to ask one of our staff who will be more than happy to help you.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 8-story Hotel in the heart of the city, next to Town Hall, near Flinders St. train station, shops & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.