We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location was a priority for me on this trip, and this is exactly what this hotel has to offer. Very central, close to transport. The trade off was a small room (but good enough for just me) and no view from the window, but I got exactly what I expected for the money (AUD120 or so). It was clean and new, the staff were very helpful and check in and out was a breeze.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    724
    356
    103
    93
See reviews for
282
484
225
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Victoria Hotel Melbourne (28th + 29th of September 2013). It was the AFL Grand Final weekend and we had booked well in advance to ensure a bed. Checking in was swift. Moreover, according to the reception staff, we received a room upgrade - possibly due to some renovations on the fifth floor at that time. Our room on the 6th floor (#639) was of good size, especially the bath. We' had paid AUD $320.00 which is, for a centrally located Melbourne hotel good value for money. We did hear some muffled construction noises on Sunday afternoon, and there was also some street noise during the night but this did not affect our sleep quality. Positives: we particularly liked the sauna, pool and spa, also located on our floor. Dislikes: extra charges for Internet use ($5 for 60 minutes, $12 for 24 hours); additional charges for breakfast and no complimentary newspapers. Because of these shortfalls, we only give the Victoria a 4 out of 5 star rating. In summary: we definitely consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill End, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Whenever my parents ever came to Melbourne, we would all stay at the Vic, and today my family continues the tradition...

The Vic is only a 3 star hotel and you wont find the company of the Westin or the breakfast of the Hilton, but for location and value for money it offers an excellent deal for the smart traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We found the Victoria Hotel perfectly positioned in the Melbourne CBD in Little Collins Street, close to cafés, restaurants, Chinatown and in easy reach of the great public transport Melbourne has to offer. While not lavishly appointed, it was clean and very comfortable, with recently renovated bathrooms and at very moderate rate. Reception staff were very polite and helpful. We would certainly stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Melbourne
ibis Melbourne
#70 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 8-story Hotel in the heart of the city, next to Town Hall, near Flinders St. train station, shops & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.