We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The first thing to remember is that this is a 3 1/2 star hotel, 125 years old and undergoing continual upgrades to keep up with technology and customer needs. We were very happy with our room, it was clean, warm and we slept well. We didn't have a good view but this didn't bother us as we were out and about for most of the time. There is a gym, small pool and a spa which was a lovely way to start the day. 'Vics Bar' in the hotel is perfect for footy lovers, lots of footy decorations and two t.v's showing the games, as well as an eight ball table. It's within walking distance to the shops and many cafes and with the help of Siri on my iPhone we found places we had never heard of in the alleys. Locker hire in the foyer is $5 for 6 hours giving you somewhere to stash your bags after checkout. Take your towel up to the pool- we thought there might be some up there but there wasn't and had to do the bikini sneak through the hallways to our room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    532
    267
    81
    75
See reviews for
199
359
170
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Location was good. The reception was helpful and letting me move rooms when I complained about the noisy neighbor's children. Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. Shower had a stainless steel floor. The internet login page has grammatical errors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in April. Our heritage room on level 5 was comfortable and clean.Beds very comfotable although the pillows were too soft for me. Bathroom was small but fresh and new. Loved the big TV. Hotel is going through some renovations and I wouldnt want to stay in the old section. Some reception staff were friendly, some were not.The Alice Restaurant which is part of the hotel for lunch, dinner and breakfast has a great reasonably priced takeaway menu which we used nearly every night as we like to dine in our room.

Room Tip: Twin heritage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our room was beautifully comfortable, clean and spacious. The location was ideal, very close to everything we needed. Recent renopvations have obviously made our room modern and comfortable. Ongoing renovations in the motel did not cause any major disruption although we are sure they affected the cleanliness, particularly in the corridor area around the lifts. The lifts were particularly old and dirty, and on some occasions were very slow. The service for breakfasts and our evening meal were inconsistent, as was the pricing for breakfast, although that was corrected immediately that we commented on the difference. We had thought of going for a swim but the pool smelt very heavily chlorinated, and the floor around the pool was very dirty- wet and muddy looking with rubbish left on the floor. That was a shame as it looked attractive enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

At first was a bit nervous of having to walk through the older section that smelt of its history- old smokey pub. Had read reviews about old rooms. But happy to discover we had a newer room that was fresh and clean. Large shower, safe, little bar fridge and big TV. Gym had 2 treadmills and 2 exercise bikes and 2 multi use gym weights machines, a sauna and very small pool and reasonable sized new spa. Overall good value and location

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel again (last time many years ago) on my anzac trip to melbourne this year. I stayed 2 nights, at a rate of $140 a night which included a hot breakfast.

CHECK-IN: Efficient.
ROOM: Heritage Queen Room on level 4. A bit of a maze to get to it - up in central lifts to level 1, then along a hall way to another building, then into another set of lifts up to level 2-8. Room was large, quite adequate for one-two people (even with suitcases), renovated, flat screen tv, queen size bed, self-regulated aircon/heating, large and renovated bathroom with shower/toilet, plenty of cupboard space, safe and fridge (inside cupboard). The room was a little stuffy when i first arrived, but quickly remedied. One down side was the window - looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while - it was very smudgy and couldn't get a clear view of the outside.

BREAKFAST: Included in the room rate. Located in building across the lane. Normally full hot breakfast is around $16.90. Cereals, toast, coffee/tea/chocolate, good selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices and pastries. Hot food included the usual bacon, scrambled and poached eggs (the poached egg tasted plastic...yuk), baked beans,hash browns, sausages and grilled tomatoes.

LOCATION: This is the highlight! One of the best locations in Melbourne. Located in Little Collins Street, a minute's walk from Swanston street - shops, trams, restaurants etc.

Would I stay here again? Yes, however probably wouldn't bother with the breakfast inclusion next time and maybe if at a slightly lower rate. Need to allow an extra 1/2 hour to travel time to allow arriving from the airport by skybus and then the skybus minibus drop off to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Were in Melbourne for a weekend away and chose this hotel based on its location. The hotel room was small but sufficient. However, there was quite a lot of noise at night which made sleeping quite difficult. Not a fan of the locker system.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 8-story Hotel in the heart of the city, next to Town Hall, near Flinders St. train station, shops & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.