We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy to city heart beat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #84 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“handy to city heart beat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Found this hotel great for walking around town, traveling on own I felt safe walking around. The hotel was under some kind make over so it looked abit messy in the hallways. The down side was to much chloride in the spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    597
    288
    90
    81
See reviews for
222
393
191
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

I stay in the Victoria regularly when I'm in Melbourne on business. The location is great as its on one of the quieter CBD streets and is only a 5 minute walk to Flinders Street station.
I've never stayed in one of the older smoking rooms but the non-smoking rooms are always clean and everything works.
Some of the hotel corridors are looking a little threadbare, but if you want everything to be top-notch, you'll probably pay a lot more.
In summary, if you're not looking for a swanky place to stay, the Victoria is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is being renovated. The section I stayed had already been renovated with modern finishes but with a heritage ambience. The hotel is located just off Swanston Street and is very conveinient to many attractions around the CBD. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a above average hotel at a reasonable price. Nice and stylish.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The location in the CBD is excellent. Although Melbourne has a really good tram system, we hardly used trams this trip because we could walk to most places of interest in the city (eg South Bank, Federation Square, Arts Centre, theatres, restaurants).

The refurbished 'heritage' rooms were OK (we stayed in two different rooms) and the rates were not bad for Melbourne, which is an expensive city for Europeans because of the current exchange rate. Even though newly refurbished, there was some fraying of carpets and the owners may regret not spending more on better quality, more durable furnishings and carpets. Staff were variable - some excellent, some rather clueless, but no real problems. Some interesting art deco features in public areas.

Room Tip: Always go for the refurbished 'heritage' rooms. Central location means can be noisy so ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Victoria is great value for money, right in Melbourne CBD. We stayed in the new Heritage Room and were upgraded when we arrived, from twin beds to a double and single. Much better than the cheaper rooms and had very large bathroom, which was a bonus. Only complaint was finding our room, which involved getting one lift then winding down a long corridor to get another lift to go up another 2 floors.
Also, to store baggage you have to pay for a locker - this used to be complimentary.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Heritage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in Victoria Hotel with a friend during Jan 27 2011 - Dec 3 2012. Hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne CBD, but being on the Lt Bourke St it is, in a way, hidden from all the noise and crowds. It takes 5 min to walk to Fed Square and approx. 25 min to Queen Victoria Markets; Bourke St Mall is across the road, as are bus and tram stops. So if you are there to evolve in a 'big city life' and explore all that Melbourne CBD has to offer, or for a festive season (which was our case) than it's a perfect location.
Unfortunately, 'perfect' and 'great' about the place ends here. We booked a twin room, and the one we got was in a separate wing, so we had to walk through the whole flour and a dodgy connecting bridge to get to it. And that whole wing was really old, I doubt it has ever been renovated properly. Room/bathroom were tiny and not new either. Limited storage space; all regular facilities were there (kettle, iron board etc.). Internet was not free, and to our surprise we also had to pay for a storage cabin for our luggage (we had few hours between check out and our flight). Another weird thing was milk which they've given us at reception... Though I should acknowledge that our room was ready on arrival, which was few hours earlier that the official check-in time. Room service was Ok.
With respect to the NYE celebrations, there were none at the hotel, and there was no roof access to watch the fireworks (we new that in advance though, and spent the night elsewhere).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 8-story Hotel in the heart of the city, next to Town Hall, near Flinders St. train station, shops & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.