We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments on the Victoria Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #81 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide
2 reviews
“Comments on the Victoria Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Victoria Hotel is an old 'historic' hotel which is undergoing a long needed revamp to bring it up to modern standards. As such it has parts that look fine and other parts that are pretty dire. It is unfortunate that the way in which the upgrade is being done means that one has to walk the long corridors to get to the modernised rooms. And its a bit of a warren so finding your way takes a couple of goes (improved signposting would help). Having said this, the room, though small was very comfortable, clean and modern with a good bathroom; the only complaint again would relate to the age of the place - the outlook into a dank inner unrefurbished courtyard was unappealing.
The Car Parking arrangements were again reminicent of its past (it is in the bowels of the Hotel and accessible only via the concierge), but at least convenient.
Staff were friendly and the large aquarium forming a backdrop to Reception is a welcoming site.
Overall, the pricing of this Hotel reflects its current situation and if you can cast your mind beyond this, it presents great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I just wanted to touch on the renovations and your comments regarding the corridors. As I am sure you can appreciate the building is 131 year old and in the 1880's not much thought was put into the distance of travel between rooms and of course in later years the placement of the lifts. To avoid major disruption to our valed guests we are renovating the hotel wing by wing to ensure no one is having to listen to the sound of renovations whilst enjoying their time in Melbourne. Our car park is only accessible by the Porters and Car Park Attendants here at the hotel for the safety and security of the vehicles parked in the car park. As it is a small car park and difficult to move around in we do not allow guests to move cars to prevent any possible damage to any of the cars parked. I am sure you understand the reasoning behind this. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    552
    272
    82
    77
See reviews for
204
368
174
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Hotel is pretty good value with a location that cannot be beat in terms of central to the cbd.

Hotel has a bar which serves good value drinks and snacks. No room service but there is an on-site restaurant which i didn't eat at.

Twice now I have paid for a Bellerive Room and entered what looks like their Heritage rooms, even down to the colour layout (when compared to their websites photos)..

The room however is quite nice with a big screen plasma hanging on the wall opposite the bed. The bathrooms are also quite modern and clean.

The one thing that will stop me from coming back is the quality of the pillows.. both times i've stayed here the pillows have been flat or lumpy with feathers coming out of the seams..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. You are correct in saying that the furnishings in the Bellerive and Heritage rooms are alike but the major difference between the two rooms is the size of the room and also the size of the bathroom making them a superior room type. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the pillows and I will pass this on to the Housekeeping Department. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

fantastic location. great if you want a room and no extra's. very clean, only one set of lifts would be good to use lifts close to room. BAR Ok, staff friendly although not often seen.
very disappointing that luggage cannot be left in locked room but rather similar to airport lockers and not card operated only coins. a hotel with bare necessities although could easily be a 4 star in scotland.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. As I am sure you can appreciate with the building being 131 years old it is quite difficult to make huge changes to the hotel such as installing new lifts. The luggage lockers are part of a huge redevelopment of the hotel, and are meant to give our customers a safe and secure place to store their luggage when seeing the sights. The hotel has maintained and will continue (to maintain) a policy of value for money accommodation, despite being in one of the prime sites in the CBD of Melbourne. The previous luggage area was dingy dark and had to make way for the new foyer development, which I am sure you will agree greatly enhances the look and experience of staying at the hotel, as well as provide the secure system so many clients had asked for. We thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is an old, no-frills, hotel in the city centre, being systematicaly re-furbished. The facilities in the 'heritage' rooms are good with modern bathroom fittings and adequate furniture & space. But you can't hide the 'old' feeling and view into the rear of adjacent buildings. This is an observation - the ambience -, not a negative, as it need not impact your comfort or sleep !

The adjacent restaurant , Alice's" serves your normal 3 star breakfast and a pleasing range of other well priced Thai meals for lunch and dinner.

Fast Internet access is available at a reasonable cost. Reception staff are helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be so centrally located. I will ensure your comments are past on the both Front Office and Restaurant staff as it is always nice to receive positive feedback. We thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Victoria Melbourne is a fantastic Hotel, the moment you walk in it is divine. Rooms where exellent and the service was friendly. Highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to receive such postive feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Melbourne. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Hotel needs updating and better cleaning. Beds are old and mattress protector is dirty and old. Bed bugs everywhere, could not sleep and spoiled our holiday. Mangement is in denial about their problem It is not a once in a while incident, talked to other people on the lift and found they had also found blood stains on their sheets due to squashed bed bugs. yuk. Would not recommend it to anyone else. Paying less should not mean you have to put up with this problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We would like to address your complaint by firstly stating that bed bugs are an Australia wide problem and all hotels have policies and procedures in place to address the problem. Isn't it better the incident (albeit isolated) is handled in a professional and caring manner. We can assure you this matter was professionally assessed here at the hotel also. I will also pass your comments on to Housekeeping to follow this up with our professional Laundry service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 8-story Hotel in the heart of the city, next to Town Hall, near Flinders St. train station, shops & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.