We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Expensive Breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Expensive Breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a nice hotel. The staff are very friendly.

Parking out the front was difficult and we had to pay for valet parking. I believe they use a public car park located directly behind the hotel.

The bed was comfortable, but the room was very small. The bathroom felt very cramped. Water pressure was poor.

Breakfast was good, but rather expensive. Considering the quality food in Melbourne, we would have been better off having breakfast at a local cafe.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,183
    691
    259
    98
    41
See reviews for
272
1239
156
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Gorgeous, original Victorian heritage architecture and features. May not be everyone's cup of tea, but for those looking for old fashioned charm and service The Hotel Windsor is in a class of it's own. Far more character and history than any modern style hotel and impeccable service. If you are all about the slick mod cons, or looking for a spa/pool etc, this is not the place for you, but I'd definitely recommend it for someone looking for comfort and luxury with a different twist, for an Aussie hotel, anyway. The beds were comfy and it was very, very quiet. The staff are pleasant, helpful and friendly.

I had a girls' weekend away catching up with my mum and my sister, and we found the room rate great for a 5 star Grand Hotel. The breakfast is not very good value, however, for $30 I'd have like a great range to choose from. I've had better breakfast buffets at a much lower price.

The location couldn't be better, in the heart of Melbourne, directly opposite the tram and Parliament House, and only a couple of blocks away from Chinatown.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Arrived at check in at 2.10pm our booked suite was not available so we received a free upgrade to a Victorian Suite. Outstanding service from the time we got out of our car until we left. Gorgeous suite with a sumptuous king size bed with down & feather pillows and doona. Large, white and thick bathrobes and towels. The room was on a corner of the hotel with large windows and noise from the outside was minimal. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Having stayed at a B&B in St. Kilda last year, we wanted something in the city center this year. Using TripAdvisor, we checked a number of hotels in the range we wanted to spend. Some sounded pretty good, but then my wife found that the Hotel Windsor was offer a special package "deal". We stayed for six nights and it was delightful. It is an older hotel, but it really "looks" like a five star hotel. The staff are attired in understated elegance. Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to train them on how to really be helpful in all things. I nearly badgered the staff with questions and they were uniformly helpful.

The restuarant is a class act. Linen, silver, fine china. We didn't eat there (we're too cheap), but I had coffee and read the paper one morning. Very comfortable, silver coffee pot and attentative, even though they knew I was spending for a full meal.

The only down side is that the hotel needs (and I am told is getting) some re-furbishment. On some floors (where the less expensive rooms are) the carpets and hallways are a bit dark and need brightening up.

The room we had was extremely clean and well-maintained. The housekeeping staff were always smiling and greeting the guests.

More good news: It is right across the street from the Victoria State Parliament. They have a great (free) tour. A must see. Lots of eateries close by and a free (only up to 8:00PM) tram runs every 15 minutes in a square around the CBD. The Windsor is not a "glitzy" as the newer hotels, but it is a neat place to stay! The list of notables who've stayed there over the years is impressive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is a beautiful grand hotel which is perhaps the reason why the rooms are so noisy. Muffling of squeaky floorboards isn't perhaps a possibility due to heritage requirements? My suite was nicely furnished in keeping with the history of the hotel. It had lovely high windows overlooking Parliament House and despite being on a busy street there was no road noise, or from the busy downstairs bar. However every time someone upstairs walked from one end of their room to another the noise was intrusive. Likewise it would have been the same for anyone in the suite beneath me. The hotel was a bit stingy with personal amenities and refreshing of complimentary tea etc. however it was room service which was the show stopper - highly overpriced and poor quality, not in keeping with the Windsor's grand reputation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here 10 years ago on our honeymoon and decided to return. However, it doesn't seem that it's been updated since then. The least favorite part of our trip was our room - very small and not especially updated. The absolute best part, though, was our concierge, Ali. He was extremely helpful and made our stay that much better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

To be greeted with the words "welcome back" when we checked in to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary by revisiting our honeymoon hotel was delightful. The good wishes of staff and the card and champagne celebrating our anniversary were also wonderful surprises that heightened a memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.