We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Welcome back"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“"Welcome back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

To be greeted with the words "welcome back" when we checked in to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary by revisiting our honeymoon hotel was delightful. The good wishes of staff and the card and champagne celebrating our anniversary were also wonderful surprises that heightened a memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,379
    804
    291
    104
    45
See reviews for
320
1426
180
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Coming from a city where anything pre-1970 is torn down to make way for a high rise it was a joy to discover this grand old hotel. Everything from the building itself and the grand staircase with it’s original tiles through to wallpapered rooms with swag drapes a far cry from generic rooms of a typical hotel chain.

Check in time 3 but room ready by 12.30. It was away from the road, no noise from traffic, other rooms or people in the corridors. Front rooms overlook parliament house and gardens. Bed extremely comfortable.

Location ideal: 200 paces to tram – metro station out front – 6 min walk to Her Majesty’s theatre – 10 min walk to Bourke St mall – easy walking distance to museum and Federation Square.

Staff: extremely helpful, professional, housekeeping staff made conversation and doorman a real character. Concierge gave me detailed directions to the zoo and a discount voucher.

Cons:
A la carte breakfast: scrambled eggs little bit disappointing but tasty. Small hole in wall where picture had been removed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary and as we were married at The Windsor 23 years ago we wanted to return and find out how the Hotel has fared.

We were pleasantly surprised upon checking in that we had our honey- moon suite ! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was fantastic.

Room service was punctual, breakfast very good and we had a fantastic anniversary in no small way due to the commitment of the staff at the Windsor. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights only. The hotel fascinated me upon arrival with the deco which made me feel like entering the Elizabethan era which was lovely. I've certainly stayed in a lot of modern hotels and resorts but this was a first stay of this kind which was so different :)
The superior room was spacious even though it seemed a little tired. It had everything a standard room in other hotels would have. Love the location with easy access around the city.
Would recommend this to anyone visiting Melbourne and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have stayed here once before on our anniversary and as they were having a special deal i thought i would treat my husband as it was his birthday. As always we were made to feel welcome and my husband recieved a card, which was a nice touch. I did ask that as we had not prebooked for breakfast that if we made a booking now was there a special deal as we were booking it for the next day, and she just said no. Having remembered the breaky from last time we booked it anyway as it was lovely. the service and room service was excelent as always The next morning while breakfast was great i felt that the variety was not as great as it was before. The only choice of eggs was scrambled and as we were paying $ 35 a head i expected more variety of cooked eggs. But for top class service stay here you wont be disappointed.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

There's no denying the Windsor is a lovely hotel with many historical features. It's very close to the train station, trams and major shopping districts. It's also at the best end of town to take a nice walk around the city. Our 'superior' room was a bit tired, but it was very clean and comfortable. The view was terrible looking onto the back of an office building, but we could have spent more for a Spring Street view. I didn't find the reception staff to be very friendly, maybe because we had a special discount rate from a travel company, but it was nice to have a friendly hello and the doors opened for us by the doorman. The only real complaint was the squeaky floorboards which if the person upstairs was walking around, could be a little bit annoying. But then, it would be really pedantic if this was classed as a complaint. An enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at the hotel for 1 night only but it was lovely. We booked the hotel because of it's old charm and were not expecting it to be modern and even to be quite outdated, however it was just lovely. Of course it wasn't a modern hotel (that's what we loved about it) but it certainly wasn't really outdated. It's old heritage style isn't really ever going to outdate and I hope that management don't refurbish it too much so that it loses it's old world charms.

The bed was nice and comfy and room was quite spacious, although the one we got had no view at all (looked into a brick wall) but we didn't go for the view really. The room could have been cleaner as well. The bathroom and the bed were spotless but top of the wall, almost at the ceiling had old food splatter or something similar. Not very nice, eps when you looked at it laying in bed. Everything else was pretty much perfect and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.