We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windsor exudes Style! Tip: the more expensive rooms are better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
929 helpful votes 929 helpful votes
“The Windsor exudes Style! Tip: the more expensive rooms are better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is the Grand Hotel of Melbourne.

I know some people have given poor reviews- I suspect they have stayed in the lowest priced rooms.

If you intend staying here, stay in a "better" room- "Superior" level or above.

Avoid the temptation to stay in a cheaper "Traditional" room- it's a recipe for disappointment.

It's a lovely, gracious hotel, with wonderful staff, who remember your name, and greet you on your return.

The ambience is that of a grand hotel of the past. To some extent, this is dated, but that is part of the charm.

Certainly, the standard of the better rooms is acceptable, and their pricing is quite aggessive and attractive, in terms of offering you realistic value for money.

The high tea is an expensive indulgence- enjoy it once for a splurge.

The 111 Spring Street Restaurant is a beautiful dining room. The service is friendly and professional.

You don't see too many hotels like the Windsor these days- it's an experience worth having! A good place for a romantic weekend, or a special occasion- the theater district is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,694
    989
    365
    115
    54
See reviews for
399
1,750
216
491
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sth Aust.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Great Location, Service exceptional, amenities more than adequate for a short stay - (5 days from interstate for tennis).

The Entrance and Foyer is classic and stylish, history and tradition - esp opulent Australian - ooze from the solid walls and skirting, chandeliers, high ceilings and ornate cornices and rosettes, original paintings, colour scheme, prints, Cricketer's Bar, and the classic staircase is a wonderful surprise and pleasure - the tessellated tile floors, wide hallways..., the list goes on. Not to forget the Great views to Parliament and adjacent park that can be had if fortunate, closeness to theatre district, restaurants, parks, sporting facilities, art galleries, easy tram transport and did we mention the attentive and sincere service.

Sure there isn't the feel of modernity in comparison with the chrome, steel and formica of some of the larger and impersonal chain hotels, but in a hotel that has been the epitome of status and prestige for 125 years, as well presented as this, who cares about the odd minor shortcoming - everything one could reasonably require is there.

We are a family of three - the single bed provided in addition to the king-sized bed was as comfortable as we could want, and we had no cause for complaint whatsoever over 5 days - to the contrary, and at the risk of bumping up demand / prices, I am looking forward to my next trip to Melbourne, knowing where I will be staying, and happily recommending the hotel to those who share my values of personal service, tradition and style.
( For the record, we have travelled far and wide, staying in the chains mentioned, staying also in unexpectedly sub-standard apartments. With some presumption in view of the hotel's past glory and history, and in view of the trepidation created by some of the, I believe unrepresentative, reviews, I can say the stay at the Windsor Hotel was a very pleasant surprise

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Firstly, we enjoy staying in colonial style grand hotels, and this was no exception. However, I feel it will not be to everyone's liking. Despite being constantly reminded of the upgrades and money poured into this establishment, there's still a tired and dated look about the corridors and bedrooms in particular, and the room rates should command a little better quality. But the service was very good, and Phil, the concierge, was excellent. The location is also a big plus, with the free tram running right outside the front door, and lots of restaurants nearby, and we indulged ourselves with the afternoon tea, which was delightful and one of the highlights of our stay.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ze world
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Contrary to a lot of other reviews about this hotel, I really quite enjoyed it. The staff were VERY professional and courteous even though I came in with the reddest eyes imaginable and shivering from the cold as I hadn't dressed right for Melbourne weather and my friend who was supposed to pick me up in the early morning never did. They arranged for an earlier check in.
The rooms were outdated and I didn't like that, and the bathroom was horribly small. But the location was incredible - smack bang in the middle of the city, and the hotel had a charm to it. Our beds were great and the mattress was comfy. Also had breakfast delivered early in the morning and it was delicious.
I actually really recommend this hotel, although I wondered whether it really did pull off the five stars simply because the rooms were so small and outdated.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherfarm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Superb hotel. Very clean and stylish. Food exceptional and restaurant staff really good. The Concierge, especially Phil was most helpfull. We needed help to find cricket grounds as much as 40 km away, using public transport and his advice was brilliant, nothing too much trouble.Many thanks. David and Alison Redfern

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontvieille, Monaco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

stayed at the Hotel Windsor in February 2009 for 6 days.
It had clearly seen better days, i pre paid online hotel booking service for a premium room - BIG MISTAKE.

On arrival, the room was a joke - "antique" is not quite the picture, poor quality carpets, furniture, small, just a dirty grubby hotel that you would find in a east european backpackers hostel.
In discussion with the concierge, i was advised that the hotel was undergoing a renovation...... and was a "classic"...... well, many may view it as a hotel to stay in,
but the restaurant, rooms, and general feel of the place is more reminiscent of the Rocky Horror Picture Show than any clean efficient professional hotel.

Unless your in your mid 90's and have no teeth, AVOID.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I booked a special to attend a conference. The staff are snooty to say the least. There was not drinking water in the room and not tea or coffee making facilities. I broke my shoe and asked for a repairer. I was offered a reel of sticky tape and told that there was a 7 eleven nearby.

My deal included a ''hot plate breakfast". When I checked out I noticed additions to the bill for orange juice and tea with breakfast. When I questioned this I was referred to the precise wording of the deal. What a ripoff!

It also has a railway line and a 6 lane highway on either side. I would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.