We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time- great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
New Lambton
1 review
“Great time- great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Visiting Melbourne with my daughter, though we'd treat ourselves and booked a junior suite. To our delight we had been upgraded to the Duke of Windsor Suite- wow! We felt and were treated like royalty by the staff and nothing was too much trouble. Right round the corner from tram stops and fabulous shopping, and within a comfortable walking distance from beautiful bars and restaurants, the Windsor is a top place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jan S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It is simply wonderful to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us and that you also were upgraded to our Windsor Suite.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    990
    367
    115
    54
See reviews for
401
1,756
218
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Bed was very comfortable however room was stuffy as air conditioner didn't work in first room. Staff very polite and accommodating and moved us to another room where air con was great Most disappointing was the Dining Room Service so rated Service as Average. My cousin arrived at 10am and we planned on having a late Breakfast together only to be told the kitchen was closed. My husband settled for toasted cheese sandwiches but these too were unavailable. We settled for Cappachinos and ate elsewhere. I am from Melbourne and would love to stay at the Windsor again but before doing so would check out extended Breakfast option and all day Lunch Snacks in the Dining Room as have family and friends who would be easy and enjoyable to catch up with there . There were plenty of staff around so don't understand why this is not offered and feel it would be a good business option.Wonderful position..on arrival information on nearby Tram destinations would be beneficial as excellent service. Wonderful ambience and spotlessly clean and very comfortable . By Jan May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Janis P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay however I can understand how problems with Room Service in the morning was a problem. I can honestly agree with you that what you experienced is not acceptable and unfortunately I was not aware of this. Breakfast should be available all morning along with all other menu items from our 24 hour kitchen. I would like to assure you that I will be addressing this in the coming week with our Executive Chef and the management team to ensure such a case does not occur again.

Thank you so very much for bringing this to my attention and I can assure you your comments have been seriously taken on board.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at hotel windsor very much. Could not fault anything apart from the price. The staff were extremely helpful and found and/or returned any lost items with pleasure. A warm environment and we especially loved the harp playing in the foyer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear 608Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may once again have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne.

Until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Loved every minute of my stay at The Hotel Windsor and would, without hesitation, choose the accommodation again. Beautifully located with access to shops, entertainment and transport, the historical aspect of the hotel and its traditional features just enhanced the whole experience of Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Carole S,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I can assure you that I will be sharing your kind words and five out of five review with the team here at the hotel and we hope that we may in the near future welcome you back once more.

Until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently whilst in Melbourne for the weekend. I chose The Hotel Windsor due to the location at the Parisian end of the city (and proximity to the MCG), and the great reviews. The hotel is excellent, we liked:
- 5 minutes walk to some of the best laneway hotspots (both cumulus and chinchin very close) on little collins st and flinders lane, and only 10 minutes to the Bourke St Mall
- Walking distance to the MCG and just above parliament station
- The staff were extremely helpful and friendly for our stay. Early check in was a breeze, we did upgrade to a King room for some extra space and a better view
- Gorgeous decor with historic elements shining through

It is an older style hotel though, so we found the queen room to be very small (more european hotel room size) so we upgraded to a larger room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Spring St, it has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear sydneygirl182,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is simply fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I can only guess the football on one night at the MCG.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Offered upgrade to King George V suite. Glad we took the offer. Fantastic accommodation. Hotel is located just on the edge of CBD, only a few blocks from the centre of city. Tram and train at the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.We did receive an upgrade which was totally unexpected and much appreciated.Even so I have no doubt that our experience would have been excellent regardless of the room provided.Staff at all levels were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jean R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were also upgraded to a larger room type.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.