We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky floors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Au
1 review
“Squeaky floors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely old building, fantastic position, however the squeaky floorboards above our room frequently woke me throughout the night! They were really loud and ruined my night. Aside from that lovely room to hang out in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ms C…Monique,

Apologies for the noise from above – most unfortunate. We shall investigate.

Meanwhile please alert us to a 4th Floor (top floor) request next time you book so that we can ensure no wide eyed guests are ever walking (or jumping) around above you at midnight. Alternatively half the hotel has concrete floors so I am sure we can secure an extra quiet room / suite for you.

Until then, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    981
    365
    115
    54
See reviews for
397
1,742
215
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We recommend the Windsor Suites. Such gracious living and such a rare experience in hotels these days. The suites are spacious and beautiful with wonderful views. The team at the Windsor are wonderful too, making our stays so enjoyable.
Victoria, Christchurch

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ms S…Victoria,

Thank you. Your Windsor Suite recommendation is certainly endorsed by yours truly.

The team join me in saying how much we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Loved the high tea.
I think the hotel is living on it's former glory. Our window faced a brick wall. Couldn't turn the heating down, couldn't open a window. Hotel smells old and dusty.
Saving grace was the staff, great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review.

A revamp is planned – yet I should point out that Traditional Rooms are described as having internal views suitable for single travellers or overnight stays with 6 larger room and suite types available many offering extraordinary views.

We regret that this message clearly not communicated to you earlier causing such disappointment.

Hoping to welcome you and your friends back for afternoon tea and a stay again soon – perhaps in a 120 sqm Grand Victorian Suite offering 2 or 3 bedrooms and all overlooking Spring Street – often similarly priced to three Traditional Rooms.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

room service very good. Excellent location. Room temperature was incredibly warm - too warm for me and I turned off the heating and the temperature didnt go lower unfortunately. Some staff at front desk more courteous and friendly than others. But majority good and helpful. Room was clean and bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ms T…Susan,

Thank you for your evaluation of the hotel which allows us to address issues for improvement. Greatly appreciated.

Hoping to welcome you back soon to a room or suite with its own separate air conditioning / heater as well as windows that open.

Until then our thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My entire experience was wonderful, every service was lovely, polite and welcoming. Breakfast was also delicious! My only negative would be the price for the room size and facilities. Overall my experience was wonderful, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ms S…Madeleine,

Thank you for your kind words.

Next time I hope that you may choose a slightly quieter date when the price may be even more attractive!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This gracious hotel gives you that VIP feeling from the moment you are welcomed by the doorman and ushered into the foyer. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon to the gentle strains of a harp being played and were delighted with our spacious room on the fourth floor looking out over Spring Street to the Parliament buildings. The location is convenient and well serviced by trams and trains if you don't want to walk. The staff were helpful and obliging. the valet parking service was great. we have stayed here several times and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Madam…Dear Jane,

What a charming review. Thank you. The pleasure was ours.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have stayed at The Windsor many times over the past 15 years and each time, my stay has been extremely pleasant. The accommodation is truly amazing and clean, the staff are lovely and very helpful and our dining experiences have always been fulfilled. I highly recommend The Windsor and look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Ms T…Julie,

Cannot thank you enough for such a strong endorsement of The Windsor after 15 years of highly valued and appreciated patronage.

The pleasure is always ours.

With thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.