We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel we always wanted to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“The hotel we always wanted to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We travel to Melbourne quite often and every time we walked or drove pass The Hotel Windsor, we were always attracted to this beautiful heritage building and we have always wanted to stay here and finally we did manage to book a room through Wotif's secrete hotel and the room we got was probably the Superior Room with a King Bed.

We were amazed by the grand Victorian style interior decoration in the Lobby (and the bar) and the old style elevator. It felt like we have travelled back in time. The room is beautifully decorated with Victorian style furnitures and curtains. The room is reasonably sized but the bathroom is on the smaller side, which doesn't really matter (probably the old days, the bathrooms were small anyway). Although the bathroom vanity feels cheap and may require a bit of upgrade. Having stayed in quite a number of 5 star hotels, we were surprised not to find the standard slippers and good quality in-room coffee (there were cheap instant coffee and tea and bath robes). We were very pleased with the king size bed and the pillows. We both had one of the best sleeps (probably one the of most comfortable beds we've every slept).

The reception staff was friendly and courteous. But when we rang for room service to deliver dental kits, it took 1 minute for the phone call to be answered. Though the delivery was efficient.

Overall it was a pleasant say but with just slight disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are so glad to hear that you both had such an enjoyable stay and appreciate your constructive feedback.

Slippers are available in all Deluxe rooms and suites and are delivered on request to other rooms – as we did with the dental kit.

Let us know next time so that we can pre arrange.

Complimentary coffee in the room is instant and we are hoping to change our in room tea to Madam Flavour’s range in coming weeks.

Meanwhile thank you for the advice on time taken to answer the phone. We shall check manning levels.

Hopefully next time the stay will be pleasant without any slight disappointments.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,275
    739
    270
    100
    43
See reviews for
300
1320
165
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We returned to the Windsor exactly 5 years after our wedding day. To our surprise we had a free room upgrade to the Windsor suite and also a really pleasant bottle of chilled champagne addressed to both my wife and myself. A card was also generously addressed and signed by the staff. Really, really nice gesture. As always the stay was pleasant, uneventful (in a good way) and we left the next day (late checkout!) Looking forward to our next return to the Windsor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Michele M,

Thank you for your lovely review and of course once again welcome back on your fifth wedding anniversary.

It was an absolute pleasure to arrange a complimentary upgrade to our Windsor Suite for your return visit.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Purchased a single room. An upgraded room might have been nicer but our room was small and the furniture was old and almost threadbare. However, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom also looked bland and tired. Fridge in cupboard was a bit awkward and filled with hotel goodies, leaving little room for anything else. Only 4 free to air channels on the TV... apart from sport, anything else had to be paid for, as did wifi. In today's times, when wifi is readily available for free even in Maccas and shopping malls, charging for wifi, (FREE in almost every simple hotel, café or B&B in Europe) is a bit rough. Get with the times and provide this simple service to equal most public places now. No view from the window except a roof and the next building but not too surprising for the location.
On the plus side the staff were very pleasant and attentive. The public areas and amenities were charming and very grand, reminiscent of a grander time and place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear jena1210,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Windsor.

It is fantastic to hear firstly that the service team were both pleasant and attentive whilst your room and the hotel in general was cleaned to a high standard. This is a focus for us as we believe this is the most important aspect of any stay.

In addition thank you for your comments relating to the available TV options which seems to be far fewer than normal, I will be investigating this further with our Maintenance team to see if there is a reason for this which I am not aware of. We are also constantly reviewing our pricing options and wifi is something of contention throughout Australia. All guests who book direct with the hotel automatically receive complimentary wifi whilst guests who choose to book through third party sites have the option of $15.00 for a 24 hour period which is at present the most competitive internet rate in the C.B.D among five star hotels.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next visiting Melbourne and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

fabulous location and venue all food and room standard excellent can highly recommend and will stay here again .all staff knowledgeable helpful and polite
Although a short stay it was very very relaxing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Windsor.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel as I am sure they will be most appreciative.

It is truly a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munda, Solomon Islands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The building and public spaces are quite special, a reminder of times gone by. High-ceilinged room, comfortable enough furnishings, delightful front-desk and concierge staff, and a very competitive rate. Oh, and silver service at breakfast: it left me wishing I was wearing a linen suit to do it all justice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Graeme S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at The Windsor.

Built in 1883 upon entering you really do become transported back to a bygone era. Luckily not too many linen suite get seen at The Windsor in 2014 however the Victorian experience is one of which we are very proud to uphold and be apart of.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next visiting Melbourne and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our room was very spacious and clean. We were surprised that the hotel did not have their own carpark however valet parking was available for $45.
The Windsor is a Grand Old Dame and we are glad to to have experienced her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Paradise55,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

It is truly fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that in the near future we may have the pleasure of your company once more.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a 4 night stay, short break. The Windsor has the elegance of any old world hotel. It keeps the charm and history of its 1883 build date but with enough modern amenities to ensure a very comfortable stay. Wide passageways and high ceilings mean noise levels are low. Large rooms are quiet and again the high ceilings give a certain openness. Having stayed here several times, their basic rooms can be very small, so we always opt for the next level superior room for space and comfort. Well worth the small extra cost. Good facilities within rooms. We had free wifi as part of our package (standard cost $25 per day is excessive) and worked well. Overall high standard of cleanliness and good wardrobe space with sufficient hangars. Not all rooms have in room safe which is strange for such a quality place. Furnishings in keeping with the hotels style. Artwork, pictures and historical notes throughout hotel provide interesting aspects to the hotel's history. Location is superb with easy walk to shops, theatres and restaurants with tram and train connections at entrance. Negatives were squeaky floorboards in room, but also part of its character, windows were painted out so could not see outside, ridiculous, and were difficult to open plus needed book to keep up, toilet paper metal cover is too heavy for toilet paper provided - minor but not good enough (get rid of the metal cover),

Room Tip: basic rooms can be very small, opt for next level up, Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Emanpee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and found most importantly our service and cleanliness of our hotel to your satisfaction.

As you mentioned we do have a number of room and suite types available starting with our Traditional Queen Room which is ideal for overnight stays to our Victorian Suites at the other end of the spectrum with two of three bedroom and lounge room options.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.