We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Munda, Solomon Islands
1 review
“Victorian treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The building and public spaces are quite special, a reminder of times gone by. High-ceilinged room, comfortable enough furnishings, delightful front-desk and concierge staff, and a very competitive rate. Oh, and silver service at breakfast: it left me wishing I was wearing a linen suit to do it all justice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Graeme S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at The Windsor.

Built in 1883 upon entering you really do become transported back to a bygone era. Luckily not too many linen suite get seen at The Windsor in 2014 however the Victorian experience is one of which we are very proud to uphold and be apart of.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next visiting Melbourne and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    990
    367
    115
    54
See reviews for
401
1,756
218
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our room was very spacious and clean. We were surprised that the hotel did not have their own carpark however valet parking was available for $45.
The Windsor is a Grand Old Dame and we are glad to to have experienced her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Paradise55,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

It is truly fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that in the near future we may have the pleasure of your company once more.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a 4 night stay, short break. The Windsor has the elegance of any old world hotel. It keeps the charm and history of its 1883 build date but with enough modern amenities to ensure a very comfortable stay. Wide passageways and high ceilings mean noise levels are low. Large rooms are quiet and again the high ceilings give a certain openness. Having stayed here several times, their basic rooms can be very small, so we always opt for the next level superior room for space and comfort. Well worth the small extra cost. Good facilities within rooms. We had free wifi as part of our package (standard cost $25 per day is excessive) and worked well. Overall high standard of cleanliness and good wardrobe space with sufficient hangars. Not all rooms have in room safe which is strange for such a quality place. Furnishings in keeping with the hotels style. Artwork, pictures and historical notes throughout hotel provide interesting aspects to the hotel's history. Location is superb with easy walk to shops, theatres and restaurants with tram and train connections at entrance. Negatives were squeaky floorboards in room, but also part of its character, windows were painted out so could not see outside, ridiculous, and were difficult to open plus needed book to keep up, toilet paper metal cover is too heavy for toilet paper provided - minor but not good enough (get rid of the metal cover),

Room Tip: basic rooms can be very small, opt for next level up, Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Emanpee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and found most importantly our service and cleanliness of our hotel to your satisfaction.

As you mentioned we do have a number of room and suite types available starting with our Traditional Queen Room which is ideal for overnight stays to our Victorian Suites at the other end of the spectrum with two of three bedroom and lounge room options.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel Windsor is now our first preference for any future stays in Melbourne. Great value for money with a clean, quiet, dark room complete with a super comfortable bed. Classy furnishings and lovely bed linen adding to the feel of luxury without the crazy rates.
Service staff were professional and accommodating of every request maintaining a warm demeanour. Congratulations Nick & team. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is simply wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable, clean and most importantly quiet whist staying with us.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our whole experience at The Windsor was most pleasant. The airport bus dropped us at the front door, the concierge prompt to collect our luggage on arrival & deliver to our room. We upgraded to 1 of the larger rooms that was located on Spring Street. We were concerned that it would be noisy, however the double glazing took care of that & there was no noise disturbance. The Circle Tram was nearly right outside the front door and there were some great eateries close by i.e. beautiful gelato shop down Spring St a little, the hidden gem The Supper Club right near the Gelati Shop. You need to keep a keen eye out for the entrance to The Supper Club as it is literally A door. Up at the Supper Club, you are on a terrace with great views of the Parliament. The check-out was handled very professionally too. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Rob C,

It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Concierge service was second to none.

I must agree we are perfectly located at the Paris end of the C.B.D. with so many cafes, restaurants and of course gelati at your finger tips.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarmutha
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Doorman was lovely and friendly, very efficient service. Room was spacious and clean yet had a slightly mouldy smell. Only annoying thing was bathroom fan didn't turn off at night and shower went hot and cold. Overall a nice stay and the grand staircase is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Caitlin O,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our Doorman Russell looked after you so well. In particular I must thank you for bringing to my attention the odor and fan which ran continually during your stay so I can address with with our Housekeeping team and ensure this is rectified for our future guests.

Once again thank you and until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are presently using the Windsor while doing business in Melb and have bought vouchers that greatly reduce the cost of a room. Using these vouchers it is great value for money but do not believe the rooms we have stayed in are worth the full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Liz D,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us.

We did hold a large promotion to celebrate our 130th anniversary last year so it is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of this offer.

We do have a number of room and suite types available however depending on your travel plans they range from our Traditional Queen Rooms through to our enormous Victorian Suites for that special occasion.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.