We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you can get a deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wyndham Vale, AU
1 review
“Good if you can get a deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Got a cheap rate through online deal. Would have been disappointed if I had paid full rate for superior room.
Room was very large, but floor in room was not level, room service breakfast was average.
Staff were great, location is terrific,
An older hotel in need of some TLC, but worth a visit if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Kylie B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of such a great offer and visit both our hotel and Melbourne.

I have forwarded your comments onto our CEO, David Perry for his attention as it is important to us that our room and suite rates are reflective of our product. This is always constantly being evaluated and I thank you for your feedback.

I hope that we may again have the pleasure of your company in the future and as always if required I am at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,271
    734
    270
    100
    42
See reviews for
299
1316
165
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarinda, AU
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The friendly ,smiling, courteous and helpful staff, charming surroundings good location. Piano playing in the foyer, wide corridors,the history of the building on display .Comfortable bed with lots of pillows to choose from, the good quality curtains which made the room dark during the day perfect for a little nana nap. All of the above made my stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Gail P,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our hotel.

It really is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the little pieces came together to make it such a memorable one.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company once more and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, AU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The old-fashioned charm of the Windsor is still evident: a beautiful building, with quirky features, and very well situated in town. Extremely professional and courteous staff. I've stayed in several rooms, each of which has its charm, though this visit I was upgraded to a Windsor Suite which was extraordinary. Sometimes the front desk and the restaurant for breakfast get busy and service is a little slower, but it hardly matters because this hotel recalls a different era; charm, courtesy and quality are the reasons you'd stay here rather than an impersonal and corporate chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Anna J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy the additional space with an upgrade to our Windsor Suite and that our service teams looked after you oh so well.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company once more and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We chose the Windsor as it was close to our son's apartment, who we were visiting from NZ. The location and charm of the Hotel was a great surprise - felt like we had been transported into another world. Having been delayed en route for 26 hours, the extremely comfortable bed was very welcome, as was the laundry service, and being able to walk to our various destinations. Loved the history display . And the slow roasted whole tomatoes for breakfast were tops.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Sue A,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company once more.

Rest assured I will be sharing your kind words with our service and kitchen teams.

With our warmest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinglake, AU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a fantastic experience staying at the Windsor.
We were first greeted by the valet service and these gentlemen were welcoming and courteous. This set a standard for the rest of our short stay. All staff were well presented and polite. We enjoyed lunch and a beverage in the cricketers bar and later dined in the gorgeous restaurant.
Perfectly located with public transport, theatres, shows, shopping, cafes and restaurants all within walking distance of the front door.
We drove to the hotel and used the valet service and this was fantastic. We didn't need our car in the city and we didn't need to worry about finding long term parking.
We well recommend this experience to anyone wanting to explore or enjoy Melbourne

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to what that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Melbourne. The pleasure of course was all ours.

Until next time we remain as always at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, AU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location, old world charm, personal treatment and a genuine interest in us having an enjoyable stay - what more could you want.
And if the valet service and advice on where to eat (in-house as well as in the neighbourhood) didn't make you feel welcome ... the effervescent Katie on the front desk as the Windsor's 'director of first impressions' can't help but make you feel welcome and valued as guests.
Thank you Team Windsor for a delightful 11th anniversary experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Bruce A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your Anniversary stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

It really a credit to the service team here at the hotel and in particular Katie who I can assure you that I will receive your kind words and thanks.

I hope that we may be able to have the pleasure of your company for your 12th Anniversary and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

When one books a landmark hotel, one understands that the room will be small. In the 1800’s they did not have large rooms like are standard in a 5 star hotel that was built today. My complaints are not based on the size of the room, but the quality and condition of it. We stayed in room 438, sold as a “traditional room”. The bed was of such poor quality (It was a Sealy, but was so thin and so used, that it offered no back support at all). The carpet between the bedroom and bathroom was lifted up in one corner…and filthy. We were always concerned when we used the bathroom during the night that one of us would trip over it. Not only was it an eyesore, it was a danger. The bathroom was tiny (once again, to be expected) however, it had a chipped vanity, a rusted sink drain and an air vent that was full of lint and mold. The filthy carpet as you exited the elevator made one think they were in a Hollywood house of ill repute, and the flooring was uneven. The walls are paper thin, so every noise in the hall and in adjacent rooms are heard. Although they have “free internet”, it is only available at the sole computer terminal in the “Business Center” that sits in the middle of the Lobby. Now, you may ask why I did not make a complaint to the Front Desk during my stay? That is simple, the staff was so arrogant (CiCi was almost non-approachable with a sour demeanor) that I knew I would get nowhere if I did. There was an error on the website I used for booking and I was misinformed about the hotel having self-service laundry facilities. When I asked CiCi about this, she turned up her nose and said that the Hotel Windsor was not an apartment hotel. Well, we stayed at some very luxurious TRUE 5 star hotels in Australia that DID have self-service laundries, so the question was not out of line. The only person who gave a warm greeting was the older gentleman who may have been the doorman. He wore a hat and was on duty January 4 & 5, but not when we left on the 6th. I wish I had caught his name because he had a pleasing greeting, not just for us, but for everyone. Someone in upper management should give him a pat on the back. Other than him, the staff was condescending and arrogant like no other.
In fairness, I will say that the in-room coffee service and the daily replenishment of the coffee was appreciated and we tipped accordingly.
Maybe there are people who would be happy here, but it definitely was not us. We would not recommend this hotel, nor do we agree that it is a 5 star...we are posting photos so you can decide for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear justmyopinion1957,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, but more importantly thank you for reviewing your stay with such a considered review.

There are a number of important items which is clear we need to address, in particular the quality and condition of your room 438. Since receiving your review I have spent time with our Executive Housekeeper investigating your points raised. In regards to your room's bedding I must apologise for the uncomfortable sleep. All of our 180 rooms and suites had brand new bedding installed just on twelve months ago so to hear this is of quite a concern to us.

In regards to the carpet condition in your room I was not able to find the damaged area which you noted so I will be following this up with our maintenance team as this may have already been reported by Housekeeping and repaired. The condition of your bathroom has also been addressed and I can confirm that the three whips in the bath are to be repaired in the coming days along with refurbishment of the basin.

The hotel has a complimentary internet computer located in the lobby for its guests. We do have wifi available throughout the hotel at a charge of $15.00 per day alternatively this may be included in your room rate dependent on how you booked.

I will also be addressing the service level at Reception as this is of concern to me but also just as importantly I will be thanking Russell our Doorman for his excellent service. He really is a credit to the hotel.

Both myself and David Perry our CEO will await your photos in the post so that we can address your concerns as thoroughly as possible.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to get in contact and we will be in contact again once your photos are received.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.