We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady in Waiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Old Lady in Waiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I decided to take up the 'Merry Christmas from the Windsor' special on Wotif.com which was $199 AUD a night with free WiFi and upgrade to a Superior Room.

We arrived just on 1400 to check in and were warmly welcomed by a lovely female receptionist who apologised about us having to wait in line. We were only waiting for less than a minute but this apology made us feel like we were not forgotten and acknowledged. She confirmed the package we had booked and also explained how to use the WiFi and the times for breakfast in the dining room. Very professional and charming, no complaints here.

We were allocated room 114 which is Spring Street facing with views to Parliament House. The corridors to the rooms are wide and ceilings tall - just as you would expect from a hotel dating back to 1883.

Knowing that a renovation is in the works for late 2014, we weren't expecting to be wowed however we found the room to be mostly clean, spacious and airy due to the large window which let in a lot of natural light. The radio was on and was softly playing a classical station which was a nice touch upon entering the room.

There was dust on the tops of the pictures, tabletops had glass stains and one of the bedside tables had a glass top missing. It was starting to show signs of age. The teaspoons were dirty and we telephoned for new ones. The service recovery was quick and an apology was offered.

The bathroom was also in a similar state to that of the bedroom with cracked marble vanity, toilet flush that was loose and fell off, ageing taps with gold plating that had worn off and it had an overall musty smell which was off-putting. However, despite all this the bathroom was adequately cleaned and well stocked with amenities from The White Company of London.

The king bed I felt was very comfortable and managed to get an undisturbed good nights rest. The pillows were feather-down and were most adequate. If not there is a pillow menu available which should satisfy the most exacting of guests. The sheets were clean and well pressed.

We had dinner with two guests at 111 Spring Street utilising the $39 AUD Pre-Theatre Dinner. Excellent value as this included an entree, main and a glass of wine. Whilst the quality of the dinner was excellent it was somewhat spoilt by the service we received. I am perhaps overly-fastidious in this area as I have a background in hospitality and have exacting standards. The table was incorrectly set with water and wine glasses in the wrong locations, cutlery was not as clean as it should have been, serving and clearing happened from the wrong sides and one main was cleared from the table whilst one of our guests was still eating. However the staff were hospitable, good-natured and efficient. This could easily be rectified by some training and would result in a near perfect dining experience that one would expect at a 5 star establishment.

We checked out at 1030 the following morning and we were greeted by an efficient yet impersonal male receptionist who was more akin to a 'business hotel' than a 5 star one which is steeped in history. He didn't ask us whether we had enjoyed our stay which I found very odd but did kindly ask if we needed our bags held for the afternoon which was thoughtful.

Having worked in 5 star hotels perhaps my eye is more tuned to these smaller details and I am somewhat more fastidious in my expectations in service. However, most of these issues can be solved with appropriate training.

The rich and nostalgic history the hotel exudes certainly can be carried well into the 21st century by the refit that is planned to take place late 2014 and by the continued top quality service you come to expect naturally at such establishments.

I wish the Windsor and it's staff all the very best for the future and we will be back once the renovations are complete. It's lovely to know such a historically significant hotel here in Melbourne can still be in operation and creating lasting memories for all those that enter it's doors.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Travis M,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff, service and facilities met your expectations. Our team strives to offer the highest standard of hospitality to our guests and it is very rewarding for everyone when we achieve this objective.

Personally I must really thank you for your considered review of our hotel and our service team which is both fantastic and helpful so we can work on improving our service in certain areas.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service. All the best to you and your family for 2014.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,251
    725
    268
    100
    41
See reviews for
297
1292
163
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunolly, AU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at the Windsor, and found a wonderful last-minute deal. My daughter, best friend and I enjoyed a magical night in an utterly stunningly, elegant room. The marble finish in the bathroom was sensational, and Room Service was a delight. The magnificent foyer and sweeping staircase added to the charm of our stay. The only downside was that it came to an end. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Kathleen R,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

It is simply fantastic to hear that both you and your daughter and best friend were able to enjoy an evening with us. I hope that this will not be your only stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff, service and facilities met your expectations. Our team strives to offer the highest standard of hospitality to our guests and it is very rewarding for everyone when we achieve this objective.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, AU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The best point about the Windsor is the service. We love the Windsor as it has an old world elegance that surpasses any other hotel in the city. Three generations of my family have stayed in your hotel and we will continue that tradition.
The room upgrade was great but not 5 star. We didn't stay there for that reason. The Windsor has an ambience that no other hotel in Melbourne has.
i would regret it if the hotel lost its character. We will continue to stay here when we are staying in Melbourne. We come once a year for our wedding anniversary. We were delighted that reception and the restaurant noted our anniversary with a card and special little cakes.
Many thanks. Love the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff, service and facilities met your expectations. Our team strives to offer the highest standard of hospitality to our guests and it is very rewarding for everyone when we achieve this objective.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood East, AU
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, great character and historical information was really interesting to read in the old elevators. Great location for Melbourne museum visit the next morning. Breakfast staff could have been a little more informative of the procedures for ordering/serving etc. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. Corina and Warren.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Corina B,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our location close by to the museum just a short walk through the Carlton Gardens.

I have today passed on your comments relating to breakfast service to our Director of Food & Beverage so he and the team can work on improving this.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We loved the 'old style' of the Windsor. The room felt very homely. We had dinner at the restaurant on our final night which was the highlight of our 4 day stay. Great shops nearby and restaurants. My wife and I are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Donald M,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff, service and facilities met your expectations. Our team strives to offer the highest standard of hospitality to our guests and it is very rewarding for everyone when we achieve this objective.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, AU
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

had an enjoyable stay would stay again
Was close to the MCG so made getting to the cricket easy
had an enjoyable evening in the cricketers at the end of the day
All in all found the Windsor friendly and easy to get to
Public transport was easily accessible for venturing out after dark.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

I hope that you enjoyed your time at the MCG close by for the cricket and drinks in our appropriately names Cricketer's Bar. Great to also heat that our service team looked after you so well also.

Hoping that you get the chance to see some more cricket in Melbourne this summer and we look forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do, always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, AU
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I decided to book the the Windsor Hotel as I wanted a beautiful hotel to propose to my partner in on Christmas Eve. Based on this, I splurged out with the Romance Package for 2 nights and had the privilege of staying in the Duke of Windsor Room.

The room was amazing. The decor and feel of the room was wonderful and of the highest quality. A very comfortable experience.

Unfortunately we were let down on several occasions with very poor service.

Firstly, we arrived in the room 1 hour after check in to find that our bags had not been delivered to the room. Also, our arrival Champagne was not waiting for us in our room.

A phone call to guest services resulted in a quick turnaround of both luggage and Champagne.

We ordered in room dining for our first night's dinner which was delivered promptly and tasted great.

As our package included breakfast, we decided to have breakfast in our room and enjoy the comforts of the hotel room. Our breakfast arrived 30 minutes late (again a call to guest services had to be made). Not only was our breakfast late, but it was cold and there were several items missing off our order. Again, another call had to be made to guest services to have this rectified.

We spent Christmas day walking around Melbourne. Upon return to the hotel from Christmas lunch at Southbank, we were both eager to relax over a cold beverage at the Cricketers Bar only to find it was closed. What a disappointment! Obviously due it being Christmas day.

We went to concierge to ask for assistance to find somewhere nearby for a early evening drink. I believe we spoke to one of the doorman behind the concierge desk (rather than a concierge) as the advice we received was poor and extremely unhelpful. He didn't know why the Cricketers Bar was closed and could not offer an alternative option nearby. When asked if there was room service for dinner that evening the response was "I don't know......I think so", we decided to leave and find somewhere else to drink.

Breakfast in our room was delivered correctly and on time on our final morning, but still cold and overcooked eggs. We were charged for "included" breakfast at check out and had to wait 30 minutes in the foyer for our car to be returned from Valet.

Overall, I was disappointed in the service. I felt that due to Christmas we got the short straw and expected so much more from a 5 star hotel @ $850 per night....regardless of the time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Simon B,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne this Christmas.

I would like to mention that we do take our reviews very seriously here at the hotel so I really must thank you for detaining both what was positive but importantly what we could have done far better during your stay. It is clear that a number of errors by our front of house team greatly affected your stay. Although all queries were dealt with quickly I must concede that the phone calls by yourself to Reception should not have needed to be.

Please rest assured that I am addressing this with our service team as a matter of urgency as I know we can improve on this.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the future and if so may I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel so I can personally assist in your reservation.

Until then we do as always remain at your service, and again thank you for your time and considered review.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.