We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Overnight Stays Melbourne at The Hotel Windsor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #20 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Experience Overnight Stays Melbourne at The Hotel Windsor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here twice. The first one in March this year overnight for a friends wedding in Melbourne. Staff were friendly from the traditional concierge and the front office staff were pleasant. The room was clean, spacious and beds were comfortable. This is an iconic hotel in Melbourne, the hallways and lobby is classic and just across the road from the Parliament building so it's a perfect location for restaurants and cafe's as well. Our second stay was a month ago for a random night out and they must have picked up that we stayed here earlier in the year so we got a room upgrade and upon arrival we were greeted with a bottle of complimentary champagne. Thank you for your excellent customer service. See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

Your thanks to us is greatly appreciated but believe me when I say the pleasure was ours.

Until next time,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,397
    816
    292
    104
    45
See reviews for
324
1443
183
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed overnight. Upon arriving in our room, a card from staff and bottle of complimentary champagne awaited us. We loved the old world style of the decor which is the reason why we booked the room. Loved the staircases and old paintings.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

Congratulations once again.

Wishing you both a lifetime of happiness together and looking forward to seeing you for many Anniverasary stays in future. The pleasure shall be ours.

Warmest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great stay here. Perfect location...close to restaurants, shopping, and public transportation. Front desk staff just okay. Concierge staff exceptional. If you enjoy old, classy, and historical, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

So glad to hear that your trip to Melbourne from Texas was such a success and that The Windsor shone so brightly in your memories.

I was thinking 2 days ago that the exceptional knowledge of Melbourne possessed by our Concierge team needs to be shared more actively with our Front Desk professionals. That responsibility for training is mine and I shall be discussing this with the team immediately.

Hoping to welcome you both back to these fair shores soon.

With thanks for such a positive review.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night, as a surprise city-stay from my husband. He was very excited about it and when I realised where we were staying so was I!
I cannot fault the service of the concierge and the reception counter. Katy was lovely and cheerful. Service with a smile!
With baited breath we hurried up to our room and unlocked the door.
Unfortunately the out pouring of said breath was more like a "huh?".

Where do I begin? The room was smaller than expected, the bed itself didn't fit the bed head stuck to the wall. The furniture in the room looked like it could have been beautiful old hardwood, but instead was stained pine, chipped and broken in places. The leather chairs were cracked (and no its not because they're old).
Now the bathroom. The toilet half flush didn't work, the window frame was aluminium and underneath the basin was a curved piece of chipboard for decoration and broken tiles!

On calling reservations to see if we could pay for a bigger room, we were told to expect a call back. Waited and waited. After 30 minutes we called again. Oh sorry, I tried to call you back but the phone must not be working. Funny that!
The Duty Manager arrived after further prompting and he showed my husband another room we could move to. Slightly larger, furniture in slightly better condition and a brick wall out the window.
Curiously, he commented that the hotel was 130 years old... I can assure you, the furniture isn't though. Its rather cheap and nasty and reminded us of travels to south east Asia where you find lovely looking hotels, that just aren't quite right. Know what I mean? At least for the price you can accept that.

Resigned, we stayed put.

I will own, that the rest of the hotel is lovely. (Keep an eye out for the odd addition above the reception desk though, a neon sign, really? )

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The dining room is probably the best room in the house. The cooked breakfast is delicious, my compliments to their chefs. We suggest missing the continental buffet on offer.

If we were to ever stay again, we'll be booking in the Junior suite at the very least and hoping for a better decorated room that is fitting for a beautiful 130 year old building across the road from Parliament House and Treasury Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Your review was seen by our Rooms Division Manager before me and he has taken steps to contact you through Trip Advisor as soon as he saw this. I hope that we can make contact soon.

I am so sorry.

I appreciate your comments on service and the quality of the breakfasts but a room such as that described above is not good enough.

We shall be reviewing the situation with urgency. We shall then take appropriate action in the hope that you will consider a future visit which I appreciate from your comments you may kindly do.

For readers benefit, whilst broken tiles or furniture and toilets that do not semi flush are unacceptable I can say that room size varies throughout our 7 different room and suite types with many offering outstanding views over Spring Street. The booking link above at the top of this page describes all room types accurately.

Oh, the neon sign was part of an exhibition by post graduate students of the Victorian College of The Arts and is not a permanent fixture of the lobby. This should have been explained.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a lovely 4 night stay in this iconic Melbourne Hotel. All the staff that we had contact with were very pleasant and accommodating. We had a spacious superior Spring St facing room, which caught a lot of natural light. The bed and bed linen were quality and provided a comfortable nights rest. Bathroom storage space was limited and cluttered. The hotel however generally in our opinion was getting to the stage where some refurbishment was needed and although clean, some areas and furnishings were a tad jaded. This impacted on the overall ambience, it's a heritage building that needs optimal presentation. The Spring street location was great and means that most main Melbourne attractions are within walking distance or tram and rail access is nearby.
It was a birthday occasion and we really appreciated the personal touch of a cake and card.
We would recommend the hotel especially for special occasions.

Room Tip: Spring St facing rooms for natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your frank assessment. I am glad to hear that our team made you both feel most welcome. I shall try and respond with equal honesty.

For some time a restoration and refurbishment has been planned and permits are now in place for that work to commence at the end of next year.

For the next 12 months we are mindful, as you say, that facilities require restoration for ‘optimal presentation’ yet we are completely focused on making the next 12 months our best in our 130 years through service excellence to our guests and with innovation to service provision. We are also determined to present our historic property in the best way possible at all times.

We cannot promise ‘optimal’ presentation of facilities, and we do not, but there is no reason why we cannot be rated best for service and hospitality. We shall try hard.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and what an experience it was. We had an upgraded room facing Parliament house on the second floor.
The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The drapes, the carpets and the furniture belong to a time when hotels were more of an extravagance than a place to park your lugagge for a night. The bed was more than comfortable and best of all the pillows were actual down pillows.
The corridors were wide and sumptuously carpeted and the staircases well worth not taking the lift for. Just stunning. The lobby is expansive with an old English club feel and no doubt this hotel attracts people who admire all those things. You just feel like ordering port and ciagrs. If you like Raffles in Singapore or the E and O in Penang this is for you.
Some things do gripe. The windows cannot be opened without a key - it might be available - we did not ask. Wifi is not free at $6 an hour or $24 a day. That just should not happen in this day and age. A reading room too would add to the Club feel of the place.
Just the same you owe it to yourself to stay in a place just once in your life just for the ambience. Check wotif as we did for a really surprisingly good deal and not that much more than a modest regional motel.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a room with a view of Spring Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

So glad that you both enjoyed your Windsor experience.

Your comments will I am sure be especially helpful to readers. Hopefully they, like you, shall return again and again.

On that subject of assistance to readers I should point out that at the top of this page there is a complimentary Wi-Fi offer and I should also note that most windows can be unlocked with a call to Reception or to Reservations before arrival.

Until we have the pleasure of your company again, I remain

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an upgraded room on September 7. The size of the room was excellent and the old world furnishings very well presented. A dressing room and large bathroom were also well designed. We noticed that the windowsills were very dirty with dead bugs and dust all over them. While individual air conditioning controls are in each room, the temperature is centrally controlled. The room was hot and stuffy and because our room faced the busy, noisy street we certainly could not open the windows. The a/c unit was also noisy. We had a terrible nights sleep and our tiredness spoilt our next days activities. When we lodged our disappointment with the duty manager the next morning our issue was brushed aside. During our stay one lift was out of service so a lot more time was spent waiting for lifts. For a lot of money, that did not even include breakfast, this hotel was was a huge disappointment. Does not deserve its reputation at all. The doorman and concierge were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

A note as to your comments had been made by the Manager on Duty and I am so sorry if our response was seen as 'dismissive' in any way A disruptive night’s sleep is hardly what is expected at a 5 star hotel let alone The Windsor.

Should you ever consider staying with us again your request for individual air conditioning and quiet has already been noted.

You will find us fully focussed on leaving you with memories quiet at odds with your review above.

Hoping to have that opportunity.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;