We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Older Style Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Historic Older Style Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and daughter and I stayed overnight at this hotel last week after finding a 50% off special deal on the internet. Free WiFi was also included.

Our stay was pleasant, comfortable and quiet, the staff helpful and our 4th floor room at the end of the corridor was well furnished and had a nice bathroom and walk in robe. Our only complaint was the air conditioning didn’t function properly. We turned it up to maximum heat but were still cold during the night.

The hotel has obviously seen better days and with a guest list that has included numerous world leaders, film stars and top sportsmen one wonders if it would attract this level of guest these days.

The location is excellent though it is quite an expensive run by taxi from the airport (ours was $73 around 11am on a Thursday).

The front desk staff kindly arranged an early check-in for us at no charge after we advised them the previous day that we wanted to check-in at 1pm. They also extended our check-out to 11am which was excellent too.

We didn’t eat at the hotel but had a wonderful lunch a couple of hundred metres down the road at Frederico’s hotel. At night we had a delicious meal at The Spaghetti Tree restaurant, which is just a 5 minute walk away down Bourke Street. We’d recommend both.

Overall we were satisfied and enjoyed our visit to what was once one of Australia’s finest but we wouldn’t pay the rack rate for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words. Apologies for the challenges with heating. This should not have been the case and I would ask readers that if any service appears less than perfect to alert reception so we can address it immediately.

Our central location should not present additional challenges with taxi fares to city hotels.
Hoping that we can tempt you into our restaurant for dinner on your next visit. The food is seriously good.

Warmest regards to you and your family over in sunny Perth.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,965
    1,120
    424
    127
    57
See reviews for
469
2,011
249
538
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Windsor is well positioned, located within walking distance to many theatres, opposite Parliament, and Tram stop out front. (including the free hop on hop off red tourist loop tram). There are beautiful parks nearby, so going for a stroll is lovely. Take a walk through Fitzroy gardens, try the coffee at the café and sit on the lawn. Back at The Windsor Hotel, the building and rooms have character, the only complaint is that we didn't have opening windows, a shame, because Melbourne has lovely breezes and clean air. There is free WiFi, and the room service was good. Tried the high tea, which although nice, didn't actually serve the items listed on the menu. In Room breakfast menu was limited, there are lots of nearby cafe's to choose from if you prefer something like spinach and poached eggs (as I do). Parking is expensive ($45/day) but secure. There is a Pillow menu to choose whichever you prefer, but I'm afraid we still didn't sleep so well, not sure why - maybe too hot, as we couldn't control air conditioning. Would I stay there again? definitely yes, not only is the building special, the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask about opening windows. The fixed windows and limited air conditioning control can be annoying if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ms W…Teresa,

Thank you for your comments.

Next time you stay please mention your preference for fresh air as the vast majority of rooms and suites have windows that open – we simply need to un lock them.

To be honest I am at a loss as to why our afternoon tea menu was not accurate unless a dietary request had been made. Then again it was good to see that your enjoyed Free wi fi – a service that is not always included but can be found when booking on the link at the top of this page.

Glad to hear that we may look forward to the pleasure of your company when next you take off from Paris heading for Melbourne.

Until then, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was thrilled to be able to stay at such an elegant and fine older establishment for a night in Melbourne - modern hotels will never have the sense of place, and warmth of a hotel like this. I found the service immaculate, the dining very nice and the room lovely, comfortable and roomy, if in need of a bit of brightening. Everyone should stay in a hotel of this era for the experience I think!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Ms Leonie…Jann,

What can I say?

Thank you.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent a night at this Melbourne icon in August. She is certainly a very grand hotel, steeped in history, which the hotel rightly uses to its advantage.
Price-wise, I picked up a super-last minute deal for a great price on wotif.com.au.
The grandeur of the building is on display as soon as you walk in and is quite magnificent. A walk up the very regal internal staircase from the foyer is a must.
The rooms are where this hotel lets itself down somewhat. The bed was as comfortable as any five star hotel I have stayed at, but the rooms decor and bathroom just really aren't up to scratch at present. The hotel is teasing that renovations are forthcoming though, so hopefully once the old girl has had a makeover, she will be back to her best.
Location-wise there is no better position in Melbourne I don’t think that at the top of Bourke St!
We did not dine in the hotel, but we did enjoy a beer in the Cricketers bar. I'm not a huge cricket fan, but it is still a pleasant spot to enjoy a cold one.
Staff were very friendly and professional throughout our stay.
While the Windsor does need some work, it is definitely still worth a night or twos stay while you are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words.

Yes the restoration is due to commence in November next year and our bathrooms are not the most upto date.

The fact that you both believe that the hotel ‘is definitely still worth a night or two’ is appreciated. (And the best prices for readers information are always found when you book sometime in advance).

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,


David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I came to Melbourne for work and had always wanted to try out the Windsor - I was not disappointed. The location sets the scene with the carillon chimes and tram bells at the Paris end of Collins". It is right opposite Parliament House and next to the Princess Theatre. Check in was a breeze and the front of house staff were always warm and welcoming.
A request for fresh milk for my tea was immediately accommodated with no fuss.
The decor is not modern and flash, but that's not what I was looking for - it was gorgeous and old world.
I had the in room dining for dinner and breakfast and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had - simple eggs and bacon but so wonderfully done.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for something a little different with truly excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Ms Bennet….Eliza,

“Gorgeous” review. Thank you so much.

Eggs and bacon can be so mediocre or so good depending on how much effort you put in to source the best free range eggs and the best cold smoked, thick cut, back bacon. (I must admit that it’s 6 am as I write this and I am starting to feel hungry).

Glad to see the details being appreciated by our guests. Thank you again.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Always wanted to stay here and finally did!! Very old world and feels like being at Grandma's House. Comfortable and reminiscent of another time and way of living.loved the central location.Of course all the usual great Melbourne cafes and restaurants. Melbourne food is solo good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.

I hope that we do not have to wait too long to enjoy the pleasure of your company once more.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I came here as a last minute booking as I got tickets to the footy grand final so I paid top price. I was disappointed that I didn't get free wi if as I booked through wotif! What a piece of crock!

Anyway, I slept on the rollaway bed as we had 3 to a room. My bed was pretty uncomfortable, sunk in the middle and hard to roll over. I couldn't fault the bathroom facilities. And there was a walk in robe which was great!

I did try out the high tea for $79 on the Sunday at 3:30pm. I got 2 glasses of champagne. I'm glad I skipped lunch as I stuffed myself silly! Very enjoyable and I would recommend everyone does it especially if you've never experienced a high tea like me before. It was set old style which I liked, pity the guests were always texting and their phones ringing...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments and I am so sorry that your did not have a comfortable sleep.

I shall ask our Rooms Division Manager, Nick McLennan to contact you via Trip Advisor in the hope of learning the room/ suite number you occupied so that we can check that bed - as all mattresses were replaced last year.

Glad to hear that our famous Afternoon Teas were experienced and enjoyed bu all on the big Football Finals weekend - Fremantle will win next time!

With best wishes,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.