We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Eden Valley SA
1 review
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My partner and I recently travelled to Melbourne and stayed at the Windsor for the first time. It is a truly magnificient and elegant hotel. The staff are courteous and efficient - and nothing is too much trouble. I will definitely stay there any time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: We stayed in 425 and it was quiet, extremely comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Ms H....Leonie,

Delighted that your Windsor stay was so memorable for all the right reasons.

For readers benefit Room 425 is a superior room facing Bourke Street near the corner of Spring Street.

Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    507
    199
    84
    33
See reviews for
203
907
127
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel Windsor still holds all the charm of an old classic but with updated stylish rooms. It's in a great location in Melbourne CBD and lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The renovated rooms are tasteful, good size and beds and pillows as good as you would expect. the bar is also an old favourite and still fun for catching up with friends. If you don't want to stay in a hotel that just feels like a chain, stay here for tradition, service and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the street rather than internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your flattering review. The charm and individuality of The Windsor is what the team here try to enhance and deliver each day. Having the opportunity to operate as an independent hotel is a rarity these days and one for which we are most grateful.

I would agree that the rooms have certainly been updated many times over the past 130 years yet it would be remiss of me not to comment that a rejuvenation is required soon to bring bathrooms etc up to 21st century luxury standards. Your comments of approval however are most thankfully received.

Until next time my best wishes to you both,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a night at the Windsor on 7th August. It has been on our bucket list for some time. We could not fault any aspect of our stay. The only shortcoming was a result of our lack of foresight. One night in not enough! Next time we will stay 2-3 days at least.
The welcome, the elegant, beautifully appointed room, the excellent service by all throughout our stay, the fantastic meal in the restaurant, the warm ambiance of the establishment all contributed to a very special 24 hours. We were fortunate to be there mid-week, when it was not too busy and we were given an upgrade and a late check out. The Windsor must also be congratulated on providing a venue for an excellent art exhibition. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you appreciate superb quality furnishings and lovely genteel surroundings make sure you get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Wonderful Review!

Thank you.

Hoping to welcome you both back soon for a 3 night stay.

Perhaps that can be added a few times to your bucket list. The pleasure would be ours.

Warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I went down to the Hotel Windsor for High Tea. It was amazing and the cakes and scones were out of this world. We were served by Ali (I think that was his name) and he was professional and nothing was too much trouble. After High Tea, I informed my Girlfriend that I had booked a suite. So we checked in and went up to our room (118) when we walked i we were amazed. It was so royal and was just pure luxury.
We were greeted with a bottle of champagne as it was our anniversary.

The reason why I wont forget the windsor ( a place shes always wanted to stay at) was because that afternoon sipping champagne in our room I proposed and she said YES.!!!!!!

So that's our little story.

I recommend the windsor to anyone wanting to experience luxury and a touch of old fashioned royalty

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a view of the parliment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr G…Chris,

CONGRATULATIONS to you both. Your review will no doubt make its way into The Windsor’s rich 130 year documented history when the next book is written.

Please be sure to stay in touch so we may learn of your Anniversary stays!

Wishing you both Every Happiness for the future.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
PS That’s a Big Story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stay in a Victorian suite every year on, or around, our wedding anniversary. The accommodation is always up to the mark and the staff friendly and efficient.
I hope that the modern extension at the back will not spoil the ambience of this historic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mr D….Sean,

So glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your return visit in order to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary again. Congratulations once more.

Your comments on our service and the hotels style and ambiance are greatly appreciated. (Your Review headline is especially encouraging).

I can assure you that the owners of the Windsor will not be wanting to spoil this great historic hotel that predates so may iconic grand hotels of the world. Rather they mean, as do we all, to sensitively rejuvenate the ‘Duchess of Spring Street’ so she can once again set the highest standards and reign supreme in the 21st century, as she did throughout the 19th and 20th centuries in the 130 years gone by.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon. Until then, our thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We Managed To Stay At The Windsor By Accepting A Deal On/Line.
The Location Was Great As Well As For Convenience. I Just Feel That The Hotel Lacked A Real Atmosphere And It Felt Cold And Stark. I Could Appreciate The History Of The Building And The Decor But I Just Was Not Enticed To Want To Go Back Again. The Staff Were Extremely Professional And Accommodating. I Was Surprised To See Some Wear And Tear On The Doors And Furniture In Our Room. It Was Not What I Would Have Expected For The Windsor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your sharing your thoughts. The hotel is in need of rejuvenation and that is planned to commence in November next year. Apologies for the disappointment caused.

We endeavour to be as honest as possible in the description of all 7 room and suite types on our web site and most guests really do see The Windsor’s charm shine though.

To hear that service was extremely professional is a credit to the team and thanks are extended on their behalf.

Wishing you both every happiness and looking forward to welcoming you back post refurbishment.

With kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel Windsor is a landmark in Melbourne. It is at the top end of the city with great shops restaurants coffee shops and gardens within easy walking distance. The High tea is worth an experience as it is served in the old dining room which has been renovated but kept in its original form. The staff are professional and friendly and are willing to help on all levels. the rooms are a bit tired but very clean. They suit if you are looking for a clean comfortable bed with good service after a day out on the town.

Room Tip: Take a suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and helpful reader advice.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.