We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night With My New Partner In Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Metung, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Night With My New Partner In Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We Managed To Stay At The Windsor By Accepting A Deal On/Line.
The Location Was Great As Well As For Convenience. I Just Feel That The Hotel Lacked A Real Atmosphere And It Felt Cold And Stark. I Could Appreciate The History Of The Building And The Decor But I Just Was Not Enticed To Want To Go Back Again. The Staff Were Extremely Professional And Accommodating. I Was Surprised To See Some Wear And Tear On The Doors And Furniture In Our Room. It Was Not What I Would Have Expected For The Windsor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your sharing your thoughts. The hotel is in need of rejuvenation and that is planned to commence in November next year. Apologies for the disappointment caused.

We endeavour to be as honest as possible in the description of all 7 room and suite types on our web site and most guests really do see The Windsor’s charm shine though.

To hear that service was extremely professional is a credit to the team and thanks are extended on their behalf.

Wishing you both every happiness and looking forward to welcoming you back post refurbishment.

With kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,251
    723
    268
    100
    41
See reviews for
297
1291
163
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel Windsor is a landmark in Melbourne. It is at the top end of the city with great shops restaurants coffee shops and gardens within easy walking distance. The High tea is worth an experience as it is served in the old dining room which has been renovated but kept in its original form. The staff are professional and friendly and are willing to help on all levels. the rooms are a bit tired but very clean. They suit if you are looking for a clean comfortable bed with good service after a day out on the town.

Room Tip: Take a suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and helpful reader advice.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The booking advised that we would receive a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival. What they didn't ask for was our eta. We arrived at approx. 10pm thanks to flight and work schedules, and not surprisingly, the ice in the bucket was completely melted, and the wine warming! The room, while comfortable, and having a separate wardrobe/dressing room which was very convenient, the bathroom left some to be desired. It was obvious that it was a conversion and attempt at fitting the mod cons into an old space, but it was cramped. To be frank, to sit on the loo was a mission, having to wedge oneself under the wash basin! We didn't dine there, but did have a drink in the Cricketers Bar, which was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, with a tram stop just metres from the front door, and walking in this beautiful city is a pleasure. Also close to China Town. A beautiful hotel, but wasn't overawed by it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry for the lack of attention with the replacement of ice when we could see that you had not arrived.

Should we have the pleasure of your company again please let us know of your bathroom concerns on this visit.

With thanks and kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

No in room safe, seriously in 2013. Lock goods up at the desk which is a pain. The hotel is OLD school, which is a different experience. It needs something vibrant onsite to gather more people. No fee wifi anywhere which is disappointing as well for the price u pay. Clean, comfy beds, great housekeeping. Old work experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Aspects of the hotel are a little dated even though the gorgeous heritage beauty of the building remains. An extensive rejuvenation programme is scheduled to commence in November 2014. Meanwhile service standards are not restrained by the decor and the team strives to give the best. Free wifi is available using the booking link at the top of this page.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is like a dream, you are taken back in time to old world charm and get a feel of what life would have been like many moon ago. We took a trip at Easter and I chose this hotel as it was a historic hotel and I love the character of these buildings - this did not fail to disappoint! We had a beautiful suite,which was huge, comfortable bed, and 2nd bedroom and a huge couch in the lounge and dining table. As a treat we went downstairs for the afternoon tea which was out of this world, my only regret was that I had lunch that day so could not sample everything.
The free tram stops right out side, and everything is clean and simply devine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review. For readers benefit you obviously stayed in one of our seven Victorian Suites which all overlook Spring Street.

Afternoon tea remains as popular as ever with Saturday 7 September seeing the start of our renaissance for the éclair.

Hoping that you both may return soon to try.

Until then I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were upgraded to a Deluxe Twin Room decorated in beautiful antique furniture with the room being very spacious.The bathroom was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to perfection- even the egg! the staff were very professional & friendly willing to help in any way. Would definately return.

Room Tip: if you want a view choose spring street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms B….Angela,

Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Windsor soon.

With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice, loved the idea of old world hospitality, first visit staff were attentive, second time no attention at all. Would not stay here again.great location but lots of beautiful places close by that have great service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry to hear of your experience in December 2012.

Hoping to have the opportunity of demonstrating that the standards of service experienced on your first stay are the norm here at the Windsor.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should such an opportunity for the hotel arise. My email is dperry@thw.com.au

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,443 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#6 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#17 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#12 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.